We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
14
25
19
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
25
19
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger shack parking garage waffles breakfast area comfortable bed stay there again mini fridge bedding elevator motel checkin desk starbucks
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

The hotel is not more than alright. During my trip i stayed in hotels that most of them were rated as 2 stars (just like this one) but they all were better in many ways. The room was clean, the AC worked well. The bathroom was tiny so were the towels. It really is a hotel to crash for 1 night just to sleep and move on. Nothing more.
1. The hotel claimed to have complimentary parking for the guests. When we arrived they were "sold out" and had no place on the parking even though we booked our room a month ago...so they told us to park somewhere on the street. Luckily we found a place right in front of the hotel.
2. The wi-fi worked but the signal didn't reach our room. So it was useless
3. The complimentary breakfast was very poor - cereal with milk, terrible coffee and waffles. That's it.
P.S when we arrived we had a free "show" of a police helicopter and bunch of police cars with sirens on were searching for something right next to us. After that was kinda scary to leave the car outside hehe))

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sveta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Bakersfield Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that you were not entirely pleased with your stay with us, and that perhaps our hotel was not suitable for your needs. We aim to provide clean, comfortable accommodation for all of our guests, and we are sorry that you had some issues outside of this. Unfortunate incidents occur from time to time throughout the town, and we are sorry that you were in this area at the time that the police were required. It is a shame that you did not enjoy your stay with us more, but we appreciate your business on this occasion. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Let’s be honest, there’s not a huge amount to draw anyone to Bakersfield, but if you ever find yourself here, this is a good option. After a disappointing few nights elsewhere, this place was a breath of fresh air. Attentive, friendly and helpful staff on checkin, newly renovated rooms that are well maintained, basic but satisfactory breakfast, and only a short stroll to downtown (or a shorter drive if you really can’t be parted from your car). Only negative? No soap shelf in the shower.
If I ever find myself back in Bakersfield, I’ll be back.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank DarreninHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Bakersfield Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

It's great to hear that you got such a pleasant surprise during your stay with us! We are always happy to hear that our guests intend to stay with us again, we hope to see you soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had a pleasant experience here. The location downtown was perfect for us. Nice parking garage, VERY friendly staff, clean and quiet room, nice bathroom,WiFi, tv, free breakfast, VERY affordable. We weren’t looking for luxury, nor were we expecting it. We were very pleased here and wo7ld stay again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Bakersfield Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

We appreciate your positive feedback, thank you very much. It is wonderful to know that we made your stay here so positive. We are always happy to hear that our guests intend to stay with us again, we can't wait to welcome you back! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

This is an older hotel that has been nicely remodeled. The employees were so helpful. They have a parking garage, and we didn't know if our conversion van would fit. Two people from the staff went out with us to be sure. Then we were worried about our bike on the back of the van, and they said if we parked it near the lobby, they would keep an eye on it all night. The room was spacious, decorated nicely but simply, and had a comfortable bed. Breakfast was lighter than most, but the rate was also low. It is not mid-range in price, but rather low range. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casa304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Bakersfield Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to go into so much detail to demonstrate how happy you were. You had the experience that we want to provide for each and every one of our guests! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property very soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

Couldn’t believe the number of customers that our next door neighbour entertained in one night!
She must be a millionaireess!
Fortunately her male “customers” didn’t have much staying power hence the quantity. Couldn’t wait to check out!

Room Tip: Stay away it’s a knocking shop!
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Blenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Bakersfield Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We will be investigating the circumstances of the situation that you describe, and we will be taking any necessary action that is appropriate. We hope that you might enjoy a better stay with us in the future. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews