We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good as it gets in Bakersfield” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #12 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Good as it gets in Bakersfield”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Great vibe, central location, extremely clean and very friendly staff. I was traveling with the entire crew from work and we all loved the place. Everyone from the front desk staff, the bar staff and the house made the visit enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EyesWideOpen2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_BFL, General Manager at Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thanks for staying with us and continuing to post your fabulous comments. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations so I am happy to learn our mission was accomplished. I will be sure to share your nice comments about our staff with our team and will certainly share your kind remarks with the front desk and bar staff. We can’t wait for you and your crew to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    130
    61
    20
    21
See reviews for
61
66
19
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean and amenities comfortable. The staff was wonderful: friendly and attentive.

Now the not so good. My room on the 6th floor was drafty. I turned the heater to 78 degrees to keep from being cold (in California!). I don't watch a lot of tv which it turns out is good as the low definition TV set in the room could not handle the high definition TV signal coming from the satellite feed!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dontwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_BFL, General Manager at Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and for letting us know about your stay, I am happy you found our staff helpful and accommodating. I was terribly sorry to learn that you experienced problems with the AC unit and TV in your room. I will most certainly have our engineering team investigate the room and check for necessary repairs, I hope you will plan to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here because I was working at the convention. The commute to the convention center was obviously ideal however parking was terrible. Hotel restaurant is not worth the wait, and by wait I mean hour long wait on Friday nights. Also do not get the "buffet" it's just a tiny salad bar. Talk about taking liberties in using the word "buffet". If you are going to be at the convention center, for work, I would recommend staying here otherwise don't.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jcarraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_BFL, General Manager at Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and your post. We are truly fortunate to be so conveniently located adjacent to the Convention Center. I am truly sorry for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay, we typically attempt to block parking for everyone staying with us as well as attending conference held at our hotel. I will make sure to observe further and make adjustments immediately. We definitely do not want our guests to wait for a good meal. We take great pride in providing a high level of service. I hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your confidence by staying with us again in a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka,CA.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

First the staff a he front desk were friendly and very helpful, the hotel was comfortable and clean , it may be just a little dated but still had a wonderful time and stay, the business center could use a little update and or more computers, the restaurant down stairs had good service and the food was good but the cost per meal was a little high.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoasttraveler707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_BFL, General Manager at Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
I enjoy learning when we have provided top notch customer service to our visitors. Thank you for letting me know as we always strive to provide our guests with an exceptional experience. I will be sure to share your nice comments about our food with our team, as we prepare to replace several of our dated and worn furniture items within the next 6 months. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

There aren't a lot of safe, decent places to stay in Bakersfield; however, this Marriott does not deserve a solid review simply because there are no other acceptable places in the area, as it does not live up to the Marriott reputation.

The entire place seems old and falling apart (much like the rest of Bakersfield). I was expecting at least the Marriott to be better than the surrounding area. The elevators are slow and the buttons don't always light up, so you're not sure if you're even going to the right floor. You have to put your room key into the elevator before hitting the floor, but that didn't always work before the elevator started moving, so you often miss your floor. The walls are paper thin. I should have taken pictures of the carpet in our room, as it had obvious mold stains. The carpet was deteriorating and dark, and was molding in many spots. The bed was a rock and, for someone who rarely complains about the bed (I can pretty much sleep anywhere), I had a terrible time falling asleep here. The internet took forever, and there was no fridge or microwave in the room. When I called the front desk to ask if there was a microwave in the lobby or restaurant area that a guest could use to heat something up, she rudely told me there were no microwaves in the building for guest use. Umm...it's a Marriott and it's 2014. I've stayed at sleazy motels where there is a microwave set up for guest use, if there is not one provided in the hotel room. If there is no microwave at all, at least let me heat it up in the restaurant microwave! So there went my dinner. Later in our stay, the bartender on Sunday night was completely rude and ignored us for 14 minutes before even acknowledging we were seated in front of him. He slowly made his way around the bar, didn't even glance at us as we sat down, and then headed out of the bar to check on customers in the restaurant area. I understand he was probably stressed, but he shouldn't have taken that out on his customers. Everyone at the bar was grumbling. The only laundry facility for a 9-story building was in a room straight from a Law & Order episode, with only two washers. Overall, I expected WAY more from a Marriott.

The only pro would be its location, as it is adjacent to the Convention Center. Stay somewhere outside of Bakersfield and drive to the Convention Center. You're paying for parking at the Center regardless, and you'll have a much better experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
308 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is my second stay at this property in 6 months and this time I was upgraded to a suite. The person who checked me in, Sara, was the only positive experience I had while staying at the property. When I walked into the suite, I felt like I walked back in time. All the furniture, except the TV's, were from the 60's and 70's. No desk for a business traveler, only a round dining room table with 4 chairs. The chairs were definitely dated and very uncomfortable. The finish on the dining room table was peeling, yuck!

As a Platinum Elite member, I has access to the Concierge Lounge. They served Sushi and Fried Won Tons. I cannot comment on the Sushi, since I am allergic to seafood. In regards to the Fried Won Ton, they were cold, hard and tasteless. They had carrots and celery on a separate plate and it looked like they were just thrown onto the plate, no presentation. In my opinion, it looked like the bare minimum was provided in the Lounge.

In addition, I had an issue with one of the TV's in the room. Just before going to bed, I turned on the TV in the bedroom (I had the one in the living room on to watch the Monday night football game on ESPN). The TV in the bedroom was directly behind the TV in the living room, only separated by a wall. The TV in the bedroom didn't get ESPN and the picture quality on other stations was poor. I called around 8:45 PM and requested service. The operator said he would be right up. 30 minutes later, no one had showed up and I called the operator again. Again, she said he would be right up and then I asked if she could check with him. She did and she stated that he was with a guest and would come up after he finished with the guest. I thanked her for checking with him and then told her that if he wasn't at my room by 9:30 PM, not to bother that I would be going to bed because I had an early appointment in the morning.

At 9:30 PM, I put the DO NOT DISTURB sign on my door. At 9:35 PM, there was a knock on my door. I was in bed and did not answer the door. A minute later, again there was a knock on the door. Another minute passed and another knock on the door. I was now very upset that whoever was at my door ignored the DO NOT DISTURB sign. I opened the door and it was the technician. He is holding television repair parts in his hands and I asked him very nicely, "Can you read?" There is a DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door, what does that mean to you? I told him that I was not interested in getting the TV fixed now and closed the door.

This is a really big deal to me because the technician did not respect my request for privacy. Now this could have been handled differently by the technician or by training by the hotel. When the technician arrived at the door and saw the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door, he should have called the operator who dispatched him. The operator would have told him that I specifically asked not to be disturbed after 9:30 or asked if she call my room. The operator could have told me the technician is outside my door and did I still require service? I might have said yes if it was handled that way. Unfortunately, the technician kept knocking at my door until I had to get out of bed and tell him no.

Since I was up, I decided to write a not too nice email to Marriott corporate. They responded with an apology and said a manager would contact me in the morning. In the morning, a front desk clerk called me with an apology, not a manager. That did not go over very well with me. A manager, the General Manager of the property, did contact me via email the following afternoon.

The General Manager did state that they will be going through a renovation next year. If a traveler wants to stay here, you may want to wait until the renovation is complete. This property should retire worn out furniture NOW, instead of waiting until next year.

As you can see, not a very good experience. I will be returning to Bakersfield later this month. I can assure you that I will be staying at a different hotel. Stay tuned for that review.

Room Tip: In my opinion, stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This complex is 9 stories high with a restaurant downstairs. Upon first arrival you entrance is the back door, parking and check-in is located on the other side which is just a couple steps away. Our reservation was screwed up and the front desk girl wasn't able to help us in a rude condensing way. We did have a room for one night as oppose to what our confirmation e-mail says for 2 nights. Hotel rooms were clean, but furniture and bed was hard and uncomfortable to sit or sleep. Bathroom is typical of these hotels, bathtub is if are not careful you can slip in it while taking a shower. Still see grime in the shower which makes me take a hot shower even though it hot outside. Room Service was probably the best thing about this hotel.

Room Tip: No pets allowed. Located next to convention, courthouse, downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BorenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.6 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#2 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hill House
Best Western Plus Hill House
#10 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Property: Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
Address: 801 Truxtun Ave., Bakersfield, CA 93301
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Bakersfield. Unique amongst hotels in Bakersfield, we are a full-service Bakersfield convention center hotel that is connected to the Rabobank Arena, Theatre & Convention Center complex. Featuring eight meeting rooms and 9,136 sq ft of total meeting space, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is ideal for meetings, training, and conferences. Enjoy our hotel's high-tech guest rooms and suites featuring 32" HD TVs, high-speed wireless internet access, luxurious bedding package and luxurious amenities. Concierge level rooms and suites offer an added level of sophistication unrivaled by other Bakersfield hotels. After work, guests can enjoy the endless options for shopping, dining, or simply enjoy an evening at our hotel's restaurant - The Nines, featuring fresh, American cuisine in a contemporary, upscale setting. Stay in the heart of it all at the luxuriously appointed Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakersfield Marriott At The Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Marriott At Hotel
Holiday Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing