We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #14 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here on a Thanksgiving weekend while visiting family in town. Not really expecting much, but we were pleasantly surprised. Great friendly service, really modern and clean rooms, beds were great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    133
    61
    20
    22
See reviews for
61
66
19
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were on transit from san francisco to las vegas at this bakersfield
The hotel is average
The city I was felt is not too safe city
We were in the parking area of the shops some local approached us and asked for money
We were told by the hotel reception not to go to certain area in the city as a bit danger

Is good for transit

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonthedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
312 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed here one night when in town on a business trip. I can't say there is anything special about it, but it was clean, comfortable, and served my purposes. Pretty much a standard, basic Marriott. I think there were some other similar hotels near the interstate, but this seemed to be the best option if you want to be in downtown Bakersfield near the convention center, etc. The staff was friendly, parking was free, and I didn't have any problems staying here. The dining options seemed pretty limited in the area (I had to drive back to the interstate area because everything the immediate area downtown was closed), but that wasn't a big deal. If I needed to be in downtown Bakersfield, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wedgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_BFL, General Manager at Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate your feedback on our hotel and staff service. Our team here strives to provide consistent and excellent service to our valued guests, and I am happy to hear that is exactly what you experienced! Thank you so much for taking the time to tell everyone about your experience at the Bakersfield Marriott! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Business trip to Bakersfield CA with a two night stay at this hotel. Pleasant surprise with the lobby, guuest area and restaurant.

Rooms were price about right and were clean and large but has a very small bathroom. Connection to the internet was free and speedy. Went to the 9th floor for drinks and a quick bite but should have just stayed in the lobby. A little cheesy...no pun intended.

People were VERY nice and informative of the local restaurants.

The hotel restaurant was good...not a five start but good. Had the Halibut which was very tasty and cooked to perfection. WIne I ordered was out so they gave me a better wine for the same price. Breakfast buffet was...well...a breakfast buffet...like all the rest. Good food and service.

Room Tip: There is a rail yard on the back side of the hotel about 1/4 mile away. There is a little noise so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soddycreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Excellent choice .... The Beds are very Comfortable, The Rooms were Very Clean, Bathrooms clean, Staff very Helpful and Friendly, And the Location was Excellent !My Opinion is that You Can't ask for anything Better !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFN-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

What, you say? Briefly, I was scheduled to stay in the Marriott near the Greenville/Spartenburg Airport (SC) and forgot to cancel in time in order not to be charged (very long story). In answering their post stay (of which I didn't) survey, I noted my oops and told them I look forward to staying with them next time I visit the Palmetto State. I did not ask for a refund because the mistake was mine. Within 24 hours, I received a very professional note from the local manager informing me that my charges were cancelled and that they look forward to me coming there in the future. It is very nice to know that someone understands basic business development.

I sought to repay this type of professional hospitality by staying at the Bakersfield Marriott while in town on business. Simply put, most other establishments could take a lesson on how to treat and attend to their guests from the Bakersfiled Marriott. Without a doubt, this was one of the most professional and attentive staff that I have experienced. It actually appeared as if they really enjoyed coming to work and interacting with their guests. This is particularly notable when most the guests are staying for business reasons and are not looking for a resort experience - they just don't want one more thing to worry about. And the Bakersfield Marriott delivers.

The hotel was comfortable and very well located. The room, including the bathroom, was very clean and spacious. I ordered room service and was rewarded with a very good meal and prompt service. My only concern was that the air conditioning fan was quite loud and I had to play with the control to find that temperature sweet spot so as not to engage the fan too often. Other than that, a very good place to stay - which I will the next time business calls me to Bakersfield.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelpFighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The staff here was exceptionally friendly. Always professional and courteous. The room i had was dated and showed heavy use. It was also a bit dirty. There was a wad of hair inside the toilet when I checked in, and hair in the tub. A coworker staying in a lower floor had a large bug in her room and was promptly moved by the accommodating staff. The water temperature in the shower was extreme hot or cold, possibly cause by a loose fixture? There was an issue with points posting to Marriott rewards account, I called when I returned home and they assured me it would be taken care of, two weeks later I'm still waiting. Overall the service didn't do enough to make up for the subpar rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobbes_and_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_BFL, General Manager at Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your post and candid feedback. While I am happy to learn our staff was courteous and went the extra mile to be helpful, I am sorry you experienced challenges with the cleanliness of the room. You can be certain that I will have our Housekeeping and engineering team take a look to ensure they are in proper working order. As well, I have already asked that our engineering and housekeeping teams conduct room inspections to insure the state of the furniture is up to Marriott standards as we prepare to replace any damaged or worn furniture. Thank you for letting us know. It is through your valuable feedback that we can continue to improve. I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to change the impression you have of the Bakersfield Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.6 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#2 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hill House
Best Western Plus Hill House
#10 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Property: Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
Address: 801 Truxtun Ave., Bakersfield, CA 93301
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Bakersfield. Unique amongst hotels in Bakersfield, we are a full-service Bakersfield convention center hotel that is connected to the Rabobank Arena, Theatre & Convention Center complex. Featuring eight meeting rooms and 9,136 sq ft of total meeting space, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is ideal for meetings, training, and conferences. Enjoy our hotel's high-tech guest rooms and suites featuring 32" HD TVs, high-speed wireless internet access, luxurious bedding package and luxurious amenities. Concierge level rooms and suites offer an added level of sophistication unrivaled by other Bakersfield hotels. After work, guests can enjoy the endless options for shopping, dining, or simply enjoy an evening at our hotel's restaurant - The Nines, featuring fresh, American cuisine in a contemporary, upscale setting. Stay in the heart of it all at the luxuriously appointed Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakersfield Marriott At The Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Marriott At Hotel
Holiday Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing