We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North
Ranked #49 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Noisy and dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

We really didn't enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Even though we didn't have great expectations, it was much worse than we thought! When we open the door of our room the air was so hot that we couldn't breath . So we turned on the air conditioning, but it was very noisy and so close to the bed that it was "windy"!! The carpet was very dirty and worn. Furthermore the shower leaked (a lot!) and the noise from the hwy was incredible! I used ear plugs, but it was useless. We slept no more than 2-3 hours in total. At 5 in the morning a trash truck woke us up, and I was so nervous that I decided to check out. It was one of the worst night ever.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarisse79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagabondinnsouth, owner at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North, responded to this review, 11 December 2009
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our location; furthermore, we would like to apologize if your stay was less than satisfactory. At the Vagabond Inn North, we work tediously to meet the various needs and requests of our guests in a professional and timely manner. Since your stay with us, we have invested in a large amount of improvements and renovations for our rooms, and we sincerely hope that you will return to enjoy our more recent upgrades, such as advanced carpet shampooing and steam cleaning, as well as new and rebuilt air conditioning/heating units. If you have any further inquiries regarding your stay, or suggestions for our location, please feel free to contact us. We hope you will return in the future and we look forward to hearing from you, thank you once again, and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    28
    23
    20
    24
See reviews for
13
31
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

The first room we received had a broken toilet and the AC did not work either. Being that it was 110F outside, it seemed reasonable to try and get these issues resolved. The room was also dirty with stains on walls and in the bathrooms. We called the front desk and they did send maintenance to investigate in a reasonable amount of time. The maintenance guy was quite nice, but suggested that they would give us a new room. The next room had a working AC and toilet, but smelled horrible. We eventually tracked down the fridge as being the culprit and had to sterilize it with cleaning alcohol in an attempt to cover over the horrble smell. At this point we guessed that playing the "switch the room" lottery would not yield any better outcome a third time around. During breakfast, we overheard another complaint about AC come in to the front desk. After management hung up, they complaint to each other about how "When it is 108F outside, there is only so much an AC can do". It was pretty apparent that they don't actually care to fix their ACs and just continue to put people in the rooms in hopes that they won't complain. I highly recommend you try other options or skip Bakersfield altogether if you have a choice.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagabondinnsouth, owner at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North, responded to this review, 11 December 2009
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our location; furthermore, we would like to apologize if your stay was less than satisfactory. At the Vagabond Inn North, we work tediously to meet the various needs and requests of our guests in a professional and timely manner. Since your stay with us, we have invested in a large amount of improvements and renovations for our rooms, and we sincerely hope that you will return to enjoy our more recent upgrades, such as advanced carpet shampooing and steam cleaning, as well as new and rebuilt air conditioning/heating units. Additionally, we would like to apologize for any misunderstandings and communication errors on our part. If you have any further inquiries regarding your stay, or suggestions for our location, please feel free to contact us. We hope you will return in the future and we look forward to hearing from you, thank you once again, and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
128 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

Bargain travelers must be tolerant of economy lodging like this. It's near a busy freeway, with lots of room for truckers to park their rig. There are also many itinerant tradesman who stay at lodging like this because it's cheap and near their work. These are usually decent, respectful people but they are very hard on the rooms and the property and the thin profit margins don't allow for much in the redecorating budget. The operators try to keep up but it's a constant battle.

Don't stay here if you don't understand the clientele...you will be disappointed. If you can adapt your expectations and go with the flow, you'll be fine. My night was fairly quiet and the bed and bedding were good enough. The bathroom was sub par, but I got in and out fast. Unless you like donuts, skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank curtismapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAM, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2008

We booked this hotel only the day before arrival as we had to change ours plans because of the wild fires in California. When we arrived early for checkin the motel was already pretty full. We'd booked two rooms and one was ok. the other had burns in the comforter, the curtain hanging from the rail and was really small in comparisson to the other. when we queried the differences it was explained that the room was smaller because it had a bathroom fitted for disabled access - our advice is don't visit if you're disabled unless you want to be treated as inferior. After alot of debating with the front desk staff another room was found at an increased cost of about $20 but it was much nicer.
the pool was ok although the towels are in short supply and we had to ask 2-3 times before more were available and the tree close by drops lots of leaves into the pool so it does look a bit dirty. the breakfast is served from 2am (because they have a lot of truckers staying) but we didn't hear any noise from people leaving early which was good. there is internet in the lobby and the breakfast is served there too although we didn't partake as it didn't appear very appetising. we have stayed in other Vagabond Inns and this wouldn't put us off trying others in the chain but we wouldn't stay at this one again.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TANYA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2008

We checked in went to our room and immediately asked for our money back. The room was small and dirty. The door looked like it had been broken into. It smelled. AND you can hear the noisey freeway! I
t looked as if quite a few people live there. It was pretty bad. The manager did give us our money back and we went to the EconoLodge. It was much better and at least quiet.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ennaejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merriam, Kansas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2008

We needed a place to crash while trying to drive home. After trying to find a room at one of the several hotels in the area that we normally stay at, we tried the Vagabond Inn, North.

Staff was friendly, and price was right. Check in was quick. We were exhausted and needed to sleep.

If you need a place to sleep and shower and move on, then this is the place. If you need 5 star ratings and new everything then this is not the place for you.

It worked fine for us, and I would stay there again.

  • Liked — It was available
  • Disliked — Thin walls.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TC6012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
756 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2007

My wife and me stayed here in July. We were on a Road Trip crossing USA.
We've seen a lot of Motels on the way and this was a good one!

Price came cheap...paid 38$ incl. Tax (we had a coupon). For this money we got a good deal. The rooms were clean and non-smoking. There were some food options very close to the motel (a buffet place, Milt's coffee shop, Starbucks...and some more).

Room came with TV, microwave and a fridge. The whole setup of the motel was nice...even the pool area looked good. But was too full, so we didn't jump in. Service at the Front desk was not extremely extra-friendly, but basic and ok. That's all I need.

The area felt safe, close to the Highway, but not noisy. Of course, there were a lot of people in the Motel; it was pretty much booked out that night. So it was busy, but nobody looked suspicious. We had a good sleep here and felt very safe.

For this price it's a great value. If you have to stay a night or two, this place is great to spend the night.

  • Liked — good priced, clean, nice setting
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bandit-One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn And Suites
#36 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
8.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
#35 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Bakersfield Downtowner
3.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#20 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North

Property: Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North
Address: 6100 Knudsen Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308-2905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North hotel is perfectly located near Highway 99, Highway 58 and I-5 making it a perfect rest stop for anyone passing through Bakersfield. Our newly renovated rooms feature a 32" LCD TV's, mini refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot. Complimentary high speed wi-fi allow you to stay connected online and check email for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Bakersfield North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing