We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Bakersfield
Ranked #44 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not very clean”
Reviewed 12 March 2009

Passing thru town and need some place to over night. Have had good experience with other econolodge motels, but not this one. This is an old run down motel and location is not that great. Front desk at check in was OK. Room had musty smell and carpet was stained and dirty. Thin walls and could hear everything in next room. Even though rate was low at $50 I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidm67, Manager at Motel 6 Bakersfield, responded to this review, 28 February 2010
We have remodeled our Econolodge here in Bakersfield CA just recently. We have had our carpet just very recently shampooed which we continue to do every few months. We also have new staff which is very friendly. We insure you 100% satisfaction for your next stay. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    8
    11
    6
    20
See reviews for
9
14
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2008

Stopped here on our way to Vegas as it was cheap and close to the freeway. As night fell though, it became clear that the area was less than savoury, and by around midnight the whole place felt very unsafe. After returning from dinner, we found that the window could not be fastened closed. Alerted the manager, who was only interested in telling us how we should have notified him as soon as we got into the room (what are we, housekeeping??!?). Nevertheless we were moved to a room on the far side of the hotel overlooking an empty parking lot. Inside, the rooms are smelly, shabbily decorated and in bad need of renovation - peeling paintwork, mold and chipped/cracked fixtures are the norm.

We left as early as possible after a poor night's sleep on a very uncomfortable bed. During a 3-week roadtrip and countless motels, this was by far the worst we experienced.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidm67, Manager at Motel 6 Bakersfield, responded to this review, 28 February 2010
Here at our Econolodge in Bakersfield CA, we have not encountered any mishaps. We ensure you will have a safe stay here we have also remodeled all of our rooms. We also have new staff members that are very friendly. We look forward to seeing you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bakersfield hotels

Santa Clara, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2008

I’ve stayed at a lot of EconoLodges but this was the worst. Our room was really old and shabby. The drawer in the nightstand was broken, the furniture very cheap, the linens sad. Two lightbulbs didn’t work, nor did the advertised wireless Internet. We were not alone; our neighbor was wandering around outside with his laptop trying to find a signal. I didn’t feel safe there, either, with people hanging around outside watching our every move. I didn’t even want to leave our luggage there when we went to dinner. We demanded a refund from the night manager and got it. Moved on to a nicer place.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank erlindae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cudahy Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2007

Good experience. Had a coupon that the clerk had no trouble honoring. Rooms very clean. Had a good time in the pool. The dinner @ the Mexican food next door was awesome. Stayed at the one in Albequerque a few weeks before and had the same experience. I am planing to stay here in Bakersfield again in the next few days.

  • Liked — Value for the price.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moooommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2006

I believe this is the worst hotel that I have ever stayed in! The night clerk ignored me, leaving me standing at the late check-in window in the dark driveway at 12:30 a.m. We had to ask for a remote control to our television. The rooms were very small and the mattress was falling toward the ground on one side. The drinking water from the sink was off color and cloudy. The swimming pool is located in the front of the hotel, right off of a busy road. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants the next step up from a tent and doesn't mind staying in a bad part of town.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mpsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater Ok
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2006

I have stayed at this property several times in the last three years. The other times were _much_ more pleasant. This time, the staff seemed to go out of its way to irritate me. The only person I spoke to during this stay that was at all friendly was the clerk that took the reservation over the telephone. The others were mostly rude and unhelpful. I will seriously consider staying somewhere else when I need to visit the area again. The room was OK - clean and quiet; the staff made the rating what it is....

  • Liked — Location - handy to what I needed.
  • Disliked — The staff - they were most unhelpful.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mc_in_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2005

This motel has good sound insulation between rooms. The bedspread and carpet looked new (it's the same as in the photos). Lots of cable channels on TV. The night desk clerk was kind of weird, although it could have been because the reservation was in my name but my partner filled out the room card with his name. At 7 in the morning the toilet backed up when we used it. I called the front desk and was told maintenance would arrive in 1/2 hour. I called an hour later and was told maintenance was on its way. He showed up 5 minutes later, fixed the toilet, cleaned the floor and gave us fresh towels. Overall, we were satisfied.

Helpful?
Thank Loisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
0.5 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Bakersfield Fairgrounds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hill House
Best Western Plus Hill House
#10 of 63 in Bakersfield
760 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Bakersfield
Residence Inn Bakersfield
#13 of 63 in Bakersfield
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Bakersfield

Property: Motel 6 Bakersfield
Address: 350 Oak St, Bakersfield, CA 93304-1731 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Bakersfield 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Bakersfield
Bakersfield Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing