We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice resort”
Review of Blue Bay Divers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangka Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Bay Divers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed for nights at this nice resort on Sahaung Island. The resort is situated in a small bay protected from the rough weather.
The resort staff is very nice and attentive. The food is really good and in large quantities. The bungalow is well maintained and tidy. You have the beach just in front of your bungalow. It is really quiet so it is perfect to relax.
The dive gears were in good conditions. The dive guides knew the dive site really well.
It is the perfect place for relaxing holidays!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

The resort is set on a small island with a lovely white sandy beach. There are 8 bungalows with lazy beds and hammocks. Ibrahim, the gardener brings you a fresh coconut that he cuts from the tree for you, who dares to climb after him? The owners, German Anke and Indonesian Salman are great hosts and they have truly built a well run, inmate and rustic resort. Most of the quests are German.
Thediving is great and very diverse although we did not see any big animals like sharks there (but we did in Bunaken!). It is made up with beautiful corals, many beautiful nudi's and a dugon in the bay. What else do you want.
The bungalows do not have airco (but for us the fan was fine) and no shower but an indonesian bath fromwhich you can scope water over yourself. The food was OK, not spectacular, and life music by the staf (very professional) every evening.
We spend one week at the island and another week on their live aboard the sunshine. Paradise on earth, extendng the dive area to lembeh and bunaken.
The crew is great and very helpful. My only comments are the sheets on the bed (feels like a rough blanket and is too small so take your own sheet if you like to sleepmwith something to cover yourself). Electricity is there most of the day until midnight, enough for us.
We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: The family bungalow with two rooms is very nice for a family but the rooms are slightly smaller than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WJF1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The resort is set on a stunning little private beach, on a private island. The bay has calm blue water lapping on the pristine white sand beach and hammocks swing lazily below the shady trees and palms at the edge of the beach. It really is postcard perfect.
Anke and Salman are great hosts and they have truly built a well run, inmate and rustic resort.
The staff will bend over backwards for you and with a smile and a song. The entire staff seems to be musically talented and at dinner time the Blue Bay Band really get their groove on.
The diving is great for soft corals and tiny things. Really good! Lembeh Sea dragon, hairy otco, boxer crab, juvenile zebra batfish, various pygmy seahorses, medusa nudi, flambouyant cuttlefish etc etc etc and a ton of other really interesting nudis, shrimps crabs and all the usual reef fish. Sahung their house reef is quite easily one of the best dives in North Sulawesi, the soft corals and big school of snapper are gorgeous. The dive boats are big and comfortable to dive off and our boat crew was just great. Japs our dive guide is Mr Eagle eyes and knows the reefs intimatly.
The only reasons I haven't given it 5 stars is firstly that it doesn't have 24hr electricity, this means it can get really warm in the bungalow when the fan turns off at night. And secondly (this is me being really petty) even though the food is really delicious and plentiful it is 99% local style cooking, a little more variety would be nice.
We took our 7 month baby and Anke and the staff were really helpful in organising anything that we needed. The only problem we had was the warm room at night which our son just could not get used to so he never slept very well.
We will definitely go back one day but only when our kid is a few years older, or we'll take a battery driven fan with us! ha ha

Room Tip: There are only 6 bugalows and they are all right on the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Just spent a week at Blue Bay in June... what a wonderful escape from Australia's winter! Accommodation, food, staff, beach, diving all excellent. Great to be able to float in the still blue water and not worry about being carried away by a current, like one does in Australia's beaches. The resort is in a secluded sheltered beach, pristine sand, warm clear water and six bungalows offer privacy and a relaxed comfort. The boats and diving equipment are all well maintained. Anke was a perfect hostess and made us feel welcome. Felt rejuvenated after the week stay. Most visitors are from Europe (Germany, Switzerland, Austria) although some regulars come from USA so often language spoken is in German but most staff can speak English.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We have just returned in April from a trip to our favorite dive destination, Blue Bay Divers in Northern Sulawesi. While we have been here before, it is always such a treat to turn the corner into the bay and see the beautiful setting again.
I have read the other reviews and I feel they give a good overview of the accommodations, very comfortable bungalows in a gorgeous setting. Enjoy sunsets from your own deck or at night step onto the beach for a view of the Southern Cross. We very much like the size and intimacy, which allows for the opportunity to interact with all the guests and staff. The staff is delightful. The food is wonderful and if an occasion presents itself and the weather behaves, the staff may move the whole dining room to the beach for a meal under the stars by torchlight.
As nice as it is above water, this is a dive resort, and the dive operation and underwater environment is even more impressive. In my opinion, this is the best location in Northern Sulawesi. Typical dives may encompass walls, pinnacles, patch reefs, or muck diving. The boats, crew and guides are top notch. The guides will always try to find your particular object of interest if you tell them, of course with no guarantees. While you frequently hear “we will see”, given enough time, they will frequently produce the object of interest. When a particularly unusual or rare critter is found you can feel the guides’ excitement. These guys are engaged, interested, and informed. Frequently, upon surfacing they will be telling you the Latin name and in the evening showing you the organism in one of the many reference books.
In addition, if enough divers are interested, you can enjoy a dive trip to either Bunaken or Lembeh and even mainland excursions.
This year we were fortunate to also have enjoyed a trip to the Halmahera island group aboard the KLM Sunshine. This is a purpose built wooden dive boat constructed in the traditional manner. It is very nicely appointed. We have only stayed in the upper cabins, which we prefer. The lower ones are air-conditioned, which is not our preference, but two things might cause you to favor those over the upper ones. If anchored and no breeze I would be changing my mind about air-conditioning, and in a rough crossing the lower cabins would have less motion. It is well constructed and a nice dive operation platform. We had only eight divers on board so suiting up and preparing for our dives was very easy. Most dives are staged in two groups and transportation is via a small skiff. This works quite well. The crew and guides are very accommodating and professional and everyone pitches in when needed. You may find yourself being helped into your wetsuit by Captain Wilhelm or Fendi, the wonderful chef (did I mention the food was incredible).
There was so much we saw but to give you a sense of the diving I will describe the first dive in the Halmahera Group on a small island in the middle of the Molucca Sea. You never know what to expect on a new site and are at the mercy of nature and fortune. However, in my experience, you find few or no Barracudas on a place named Barracuda Point. Up at 6 AM for the 7AM dive and nature and fortune were with us as we descended into a few thousand barracuda moving in a fantastic slow motion gyre looking like a shape morphing tornado. This was accompanied by a separate smaller school of mating jacks, plus squadrons of fusiliers making an audible rushing sound, as they were targeted by a persistent dog tooth tuna. Towards the end of the dive as we drifted along the top of the reef we encountered a school (herd) of grazing bumpheads. We kept expecting them to hurry off as they usually do but here they were unconcerned and we drifted within a couple of meters listening to them munch coral.
The reefs were in better shape than any I have seen. I had the feeling we were seeing them as they looked 100 years ago. If you have a chance, do not miss Northern Sulawesi and Halmahera. I would recommend Blue Bay and KLM Sunshine as the way to go. We thank Anke and Salmon and all the staff and crews for a remarkable trip. We are ready to go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We had a lovely time on peaceful beautiful Sahaung island. The Blue Bay Resort is extremely charming and welcoming, everyone works to make you feel happy and comfortable. The food is very tasty and fine, the diving is excellent, with all sorts of amazing creatures to discover. The bungalows are well-thought and just perfect, with a private pristine beach. The staff is extremely friendly, the small number of tourists preserves the calm atmosphere. We would love to come back, every year if we could ;-)
Thank you all again for your care and for the good diving.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

In October 2012 we visited Blue Bay Divers in Sahuang. We first spent a few days relaxing on the island. Bungalows are basic, no air conditioning and an Indonesian mandi instead of a shower but we did not missed it. The island is beautiful, the food delicious and beautiful dives. Boats are fine and the guides are very skilled. After a few days relaxing we boarded the Sunshine, a beautiful wooden ship and we went to Halmahera. Fantastic dives, lots of fish and beautiful reefs. The Sunshine is fully equipped. Spacious cabins, plenty of room for your gear and sure enough sockets for all the lamps, cameras and laptops to charge. The crew took very good care of us! Fendi is a very good cook. Maintenance of the ship is good but could be better. The maintenance sometimes caused delays but that was previously reported. It was an exploration trip and that was something to keep in mind.
We had a fantastic holiday. Halmahera is an area we definitely want to visit again in the future and if we do that, well then we go back to Blue Bay Divers! Thanks Anke and Salmon, Charles, Arman and all other crew members for the great vacation, good service, the jokes and your smiles!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Langkousonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangka Island
20.8 mi away
Lembeh Resort
Lembeh Resort
#1 of 2 in Pulau Lembeh
626 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coral Eye
Coral Eye
#1 of 4 in Bangka Island
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Murex Bangka Resort
Murex Bangka Resort
#2 of 4 in Bangka Island
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Gangga Island Resort & Spa
22.2 mi away
Cocotinos Manado
Cocotinos Manado
#1 of 2 in Wori
330 reviews
8.4 mi away
Kalinaun Resort - Lembeh & Bangka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Divers

Address: Sahaung Island, Lihunu Village | Pulau Sahaung, Desa Lihunu, Bangka Island 95000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bangka Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bangka Island
Price Range: £76 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Bay Divers Indonesia is a dreamlike Dive Resort situated on the paradisical island Sahaung at north peak of North Sulawesi, Indonesia. The small resort is facing a sky-blue bay and offers a long, white sandy beach, which is surrounded by palms and mangroves – a perfect place for a relaxed dive vacation in the middle of the fantastic dive areas and natural uniqueness of North Sulawesi. The island Sahaung is based in the Bangka/Gangga Archipel and offers a great starting point for the diving in the North Sulawesi areas : Bangka/Gangga Archipel, Bunaken National park and the famous Lembeh Strait. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing