We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divers Paradise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangka Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nomad Divers Bangka
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Divers Paradise!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

You know you've been somewhere special when all you can do is think back on your vacation, even 3 days later.

Nomad Divers managed to make our dream vacation a reality and then some.

Sophie and Simon are wonderful hosts; in fact the whole Nomad Divers team is outstanding.

We stayed with Nomad Divers for our full 17 days trip to North Sulawesi and would go back again in a heartbeat. Over the course of this period we logged 43 dives, all of which were exceptional.

Highlights:

- Beautiful, quiet and relaxed location. Rustic yet comfy bungalows that perfectly blend in the natural jungle environment.

- Very efficient dive operation. Our guide, Bol, was awesome and spotted many unbelievably hard to spot critters. Captain Bacho, boat staff Romi and Butra were equally helpful and certainly contributed to making our daily rides enjoyable.

- Ridiculously diverse dive sites with an overwhelming amount of fish, coral and invert species. Frogfish-o-rama.

- Top notch guests! Every single guest we had to chance to meet over our extended stay were a pleasure to dive and chat with.

If you are planning a trip to North Sulawesi, I would strongly recommend you spend your time on Bangka as it offers a perfect blend of what Bunaken and Lembeh propose. If you are set on this destination, stay with Nomad divers, you'll be guaranteed to have a blast!

It's cliché to say that we first met Sophie and Simon as guests and left Nomad with new friends at the other end of the globe (we're Canucks) but we sincerely believe it.

5 Green Balls for you Nomad, well deserved!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astralmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie240, Owner at Nomad Divers Bangka, responded to this review, 24 October 2014
Hello! Thanks for your review, we had an absolutely fab time with you guys, you were brilliant fun, and really appreciated the fish here! Do keep in touch and if we ever get to Montreal we will pay you a visit and maybe try some diving there....! Sophie and Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
25
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Arriving at Nomad divers I was welcomed by the smiling faces of Sophie and Simon, not to mention the other guests, after 10 minutes I felt relaxed at home. The diving is unbelievable and the experience enhanced by the knowledgable staff and dive leaders. Competing some of my dive master qualifications with Nomad was an absolute pleasure and every day brought a smile to my face. Their beautiful accommodation with outdoor bathrooms located in the jungle or on the beach. Plenty of day beds and hammocks dotted about for afternoon naps, not to mention the beautiful house reef located the other side of the sea grass beds out the front, easy access for snorkeling and seahorse spotting for lazy days or free afternoons :) I had literary one of the best experiences of my life with Nomad and made friends I'll never forget, plenty of laughs each day leaving my cheeks sore! I cannot recommend this resort highly enough, Sophie and Simon are amazing and tailor your experience to your needs and diving preferences. I'll most definitely be back, friends for life indeed! Big love to all at Nomad, your amazing!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MasterNinja2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie240, Owner at Nomad Divers Bangka, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello!
We had a great time with you and it was a pleasure to teach you part of your Divemaster course! Enjoy the rest of your trip!
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good points
- Owners Sophie and Simon were fantastic. Really friendly and great fun...as were all the staff.
- Small, personalised feel
- Secluded, with great atmosphere, can completely forget about normal life
- Food was great and a huge relief after the previous place we stayed. Particularly loved the fresh coconut and pig roast on the beach one night
- The wooden huts were perfect, they had everything you could need and a normal style bathroom!
- Beautiful quiet dive sites with crystal clear warm water. Would be a perfect base for diving Bunaken and Lembeh as well.
- Great value for money
- Beach Hammocks!

Bad points
- Didn't see the Dugong... will have to go back!
- Mosquito's were a pain, take lots of repellant

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xseahorsex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kESWICK CUMBRIA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Nomad Divers is a new resort on Bangka Island and it's something quite special,Sophie and Simon are brilliant hosts from the beginning to the end of our stay nothing was too much trouble. The diving and snorkelling was fantastic especially seeing the Dugong, the boat boys and captain are brilliant so helpful and excellent snorkelling companions.
The food was very good the sambal was excellent, location quiet and tranquil, would recommend the beach bungalow.
If you are travelling around Sulawesi/Indonesia Nomad Divers is a must .
Looking forward to going back!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the beach front bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TILLYCANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Dear Soph and Simon

Longfoot and I had a truly excellent time at your splendid and simple dive retreat.

The diving i cannot speak highly enough about. I have already convinced a friend to come and stay with you - he is british and likes tea. Sorry, back to the diving. The night dive at Batu Tiga was easily the best night dive i have done and was my equal favourite dive on the trip with the Batu Sahu (spelling?) dive. An abundance of reef fish, healthy coral and all manner of underwater oddities made it a spectacular place to dive. We basically couldn't get enough.

I'm glad we found Django - he was a delicious treat.

Hopefully Longfoot and I will sneak another trip in to Banka sometime.

Cheers.

Weightbelt (Dave)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djmor6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This small resort on the Island of Banka is well worth a visit. It is nestled between the mangroves and the Jungle and feels like you are a million miles from anywhere. The facilities are limited there with limited electric and no hot water but Sophie and Simon are upgrading things all the time.
The diving is fantastic and all the staff work very hard to make sure your diving is as good as it can possibly be.

Room Tip: The rooms can be noisy because of insects (you are in the Jungle) there is a room on the beach that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay at Nomad, a small resort tucked into the mangroves. We stayed in one of the forest bungalows, which was secluded, clean, and comfortable. We had a comfy bed (which is not always the case in SE Asia) complete with mosquito netting, enough shelves and hooks to stay organized, and a big garden bathroom. The cold shower was a bit unpleasant after the night dive, but we had expected that. Power isn't on all the time, but there was a battery-powered lantern in our room in case we had to get up in the night. Meals were flavorful and delicious, and they even roasted a pig our last evening on the island.

I can't say enough great things about the owners, Simon and Sophie. We had such a great time diving and hanging out with them. They're so much fun and sincerely care about their guests. Air China delayed my husband's bag for nine days when we first arrived in Manado, which had all his dive gear and most of his clothes. Simon and Sophie went out of their way to try to make sure he had all the essentials. Normally, being disconnected for a week would be nice, but it was a little tough not having phone or Internet so we could keep pestering the airline. Bring a Mi-Fi card if you want to stay connected.

Diving was fantastic. Nomad's boat was large and had plenty of storage space for guests. Their captain was knowledgable and the boat crew was friendly and helpful - and always quick to deliver a steaming cup of tea to you after a dive! Dive sites were healthy, and the pinnacles were especially spectacular. Simon had great eyes for spotting the macro critters and we rarely saw another dive boat.

We were going to Lembeh after Bangka, and Nomad made the transfer beyond easy. We dove on the way there and they delivered us right to our next resort's doorstep. We never even had to pack our gear.

The only thing that was a little tough for us was cleaning and managing our cameras. The rinse water seemed to have a lot of sediment in it and the rooms are not well lit. We appreciated that the owners started kicking on the generators before breakfast each morning after we mentioned that, which helped a great deal with assembling our cameras.

The resort is still a bit rustic, so if you're looking for something like Sandals this isn't for you. But if you like simple accommodation with fantastic diving, service, and company, you'll love it here. It sounded like the owners had some big plans for improvements over the next few years. We'll be excited to return and see what they do next!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdivemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie240, Owner at Nomad Divers Bangka, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Hello!
Thanks for the review, we had a really fun time with you guys! I'm glad you liked the rooms and resort and we look forward to seeing you next year hopefully! Thank you for the notes on the rinse tanks, we will make sure that they are kept sediment-free. Part of our future development plans include a camera room with lockable booths for photographers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangka Island
22.1 mi away
Lembeh Resort
Lembeh Resort
#1 of 2 in Pulau Lembeh
605 reviews
23.1 mi away
Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort
22.4 mi away
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Murex Bangka Resort
Murex Bangka Resort
#2 of 4 in Bangka Island
126 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gangga Island Resort & Spa
7.2 mi away
Casabaio Paradise Resort
Casabaio Paradise Resort
#34 of 45 in Manado
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomad Divers Bangka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomad Divers Bangka

Property: Nomad Divers Bangka
Address: Bangka Island, Bangka Island 95000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bangka Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Bangka Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small friendly scuba diving resort on Bangka Island, North Sulawesi. With daily trips to Lembeh and Bunaken you can enjoy a huge variety of diving with us. We have four bungalows with en-suite bathrooms and balcony and a beachside restaurant, bar and dive centre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing