We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johnny Russo's Italian Kitchen

Johnny Russo's Italian Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Banning
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
yucaipa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

It is always a pleasure to eat at this great restaurant. Their food is always delicious & it doesn't matter what you order, it's all great. We drive about 18 miles to get to this restaurant & it's well worth the drive & time to get there. Thoroughly enjoy their food. Pam F.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pam f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    44
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

After a busy day at the lake, it is always nice to have a restaurant where you can sit and relax while enjoying the delicious food with a wonderful staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

I have only been once I thought it was very good. If I get another chance I would go again. Not fancy, but large inside. Service was good. Food was good as well.

Helpful?
Thank countryfan289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banning, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Many Years/ Many Changes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

I have eaten at Russo's since 1994 and up until recently the food and service were always the best. I have to sadly say something has happened to all aspects of one of my favorite places to dine. The crowds are gone, the friendly staff were only a cook and one waitress at my visit and it still took a very long time to receive our food. The tea was old and musty; the pasta was unseasoned,overcooked and mushy and not as ordered; the sauce was salty and lacked its usual depth of flavor. We shared the space with one other table of three who had just walked in and sat down. I am very concerned because you don't want to see the type of food and service and reputation of a very fine establishment be tarnished. We have held MANY family parties and promoted this establishment over the years. We would love to see Mr. Russo back in charge - he kept things alive and so TASTY!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunlaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Rough Dining at Russo's”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Russo’s Restaurant’s maxim is “He who eats well lives well”. It’s painted on the wall next to the rows of plastic grapes and the one working light bulb at the entrance. The selection on the menu suggests otherwise at this faux Sicilian restaurant. Nowhere in Sicily would food of this quality be offered to diners without tables turned over in disgust. There were no fresh herbs, fresh vegetables, or freshly made breads or pasta on offer on the night we visited this Banning eatery. The owners were nowhere to be seen.

We ordered a very mediocre tasting Californian Cabernet from the small wine selection. No fresh vegetables or interesting salads, no fresh olives or olive oil – the garlic on my highly over-salted spinach came from a bottle – the dish was floating in viscous brown oil and quite inedible. The website claims that “Russo’s prides itself on the unique cuisine you will enjoy when you dine with us... All of our sauces, soups, dressings, pizzas, and breads are homemade.” Is this true? Unique cuisine it surely is. Diner-style fast-food American for sure. Home-made Sicilian it ain’t.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johnny Russo's Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Johnny Russo's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing