We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience”

Country Inn Banning
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn Banning
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Banning
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The couple running this place have no personality at all, plus they look like they just rolled out of bed. Piece of advice, If you are going to wear a T-shirt to work (which i don't recommend), at least make sure it doesn't look like you soaked up an spill with it.....I didn't have any soap and if i did it was to small to find. "No wash cloth", lucky i had my own.....also the county office and liquor store make for a really uncomfortable stay....i did not want to leave my belongings in the room...bottom line, " DON"T STAY HERE"...unless you have some protection...(and i don't mean a condom).....oh one more thing....they charge a deposit to hold your room but they won't apply the deposit to the room charge so be pre-pared to have them hold it for a couple of days....Continental breakfast?? they looked at me like that was a joke when i asked

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wace818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2009

We had a large group and no one got any sleep. The doors do not close completely so the semi trucks and trains were heard all night. We all had to ask for toilet paper.
The soap was the size of a quarter... The Hampton Inn 4 mi away is slightly more money but you do not hear any noise and they are just off the freeway also but
not blocks from the railroad crossing. The website is totally deceiving. The hotel is across from the welfare dept and next to a liquor store....not a great location by any means. Stay away from this hotel!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worms40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

A very unpleasant experience at the Country Inn in Banning, CA....
Other than being in an extremely noisy location, I have no complaints about the accommodations themselves. But...!

I bid for a room in Banning through Priceline. Got a room at the Country Inn.
When I arrived to check in, I was told that I had ordered a smoking room. I said that this was impossible, for two reasons - 1) I am a non-smoker. 2) Priceline does not allow people to choose smoking or non-smoking when they bid. The manager insisted that I had ordered a smoking room, and it would cost me $20 to up-grade to a non-smoking room.
I called Priceline's help line, and they very kindly called the hotel to back me up in the impossibility of my ordering a smoking room through them.
Then the manager changed his tune. I was told that they only release their less-desirable smoking rooms to low bids on Priceline. It would still cost me $20 to get a non-smoking room.

To me, this is classic bait-and-switch. I don't think Priceline, nor the people who use Priceline, would appreciate this sort of rigging the system.
To be blunt, I feel there was lying and cheating going on. I know that I was lied to about ordering a smoking room.

That same evening I called the hotel in Palm Springs where I would be staying the next night. They assured me that a non-smoking room would be available at no extra charge. I paid the same amount for a non-smoking room in Palm Springs, also bid for through Priceline, as I paid for the smoking room at the Country Inn in Banning.

This is a long story, but it was a very upsetting experience. At no time was there any apology for the inconvenience, or possible health consequences of sleeping in a smoking room. I could like it or lump it.
For these reasons - dishonesty, greed, and discourtesy - I would strongly recommend that people avoid the Country Inn in Banning, CA, and avoid bidding for rooms in Banning through Priceline, lest you go through what I did.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilgrim4Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countryinn-manager, Manager at Country Inn Banning, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2008

Hello Pilgrim4Art
Thank you for staying at the Country Inn and appreciate that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel room. We apologize for your unpleasant experience at the Country Inn; however we would like to respond to your complaints regarding your stay at the hotel.
As much as we would love to have the freeway moved, the hotel’s website does describe that the hotel is located directly off Interstate 10 and therefore guest may be able to hear the traffic noise. The hotel was completely renovated at the end of 2003 and during renovation; steps were taken to reduce noise heard in the rooms, from the I10 and train.
As for the misunderstanding with the room type, when a guest reserves a room with Priceline, they have 2 options of making their reservation.
Reserve a room that has a pre set rate, this means that the hotel has set a certain rate for a certain room type for a certain number of guests and this rate changes for different room types or changes based on the number of guest in the room. Example a room with a standard king bed smoking for 2 guest may cost $50 plus tax per a night, where as a room with 2 queen beds smoking for 2 guests may cost $70 plus tax per a night (if there were 4 guests in that same room, with 2 queen beds smoking, the price would now be $100 plus tax per a night). This way of reserving a room allows a guest to confirm the type of room he/she may need, based on personal preference such as smoking or non smoking – 1 bed or 2 beds. The hotel will guarantee the guest receives the room type that they reserved
OR 2- name your own price , this means that a guest bids for a room not knowing the type of room that he/she may be reserving. The only thing guaranteed by this way of reserving a room on Priceline is that the room will accommodate up to 2 adults only. The room may be smoking or non smoking – 1 bed or 2 beds (the room type varies by hotel and therefore Priceline advises the guest to call the hotel directly to guarantee personal preference such as smoking or non smoking – 1 bed or 2 beds). All Priceline’s polices are stated clearly on their website for a guest to read before a guest can confirm his/her reservation.
You mentioned in your review that you had bid for a room on Priceline and that you did not have the option of choosing your room type, hotel record show that we did not receive any enquires from you, regarding the room type or any special requests such as smoking or non smoking – 1 bed or 2 beds; had the hotel received any enquires, you would have been informed that the room reserved for you by Priceline, was a smoking room with 2queen beds. A staff member would have also informed you that there was an additional charge for a no smoking room.
At check in, the Priceline associate that spoke to you from Priceline’s help line should not have said that you were guaranteed a non smoking room, as in Priceline’s polices it states that there is no guarantee on the room type also as you stated in your review that Priceline does not give you the option of choosing your desired room type.
Country Inn has different room types like other hotels; the non smoking bedrooms are larger in size than the smoking bedrooms and are marketed at different a price, that is why you were asked to pay an additional fee. Country Inn has more smoking bedrooms and these are released to Priceline’s name your own price program at discounted rates. All the rooms at Country Inn have the same amenities and bedding so there are no such rooms as “less-desirable smoking rooms”
The hotel staff does not use “bait –and- switch “ tactics on guests. Our records show that the front desk staff explained the reason for the fee to you, as well as printed a copy of Priceline’s polices to show you that Priceline did not guarantee room type as well as apologized to you for the misunderstanding with your reservation. Also noted on our records was that, you were offered a non smoking at an additional cost, but you refused to pay the fee for this room.
Again, I apologize if there was a misunderstanding with the explanation with your reservation; however the staff at Country Inn tried to help you as best they could.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2007

We stayed here for one night on a road trip.Read the reviews,which sounded ok. However the trains seemed to be about every 30 minutes and the freeway sounded like it went right through the room.

The room is very adequate for a one night stay, but I would never stay here again just because of the noise factor

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank janekVancouverIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countryinn-manager, Manager at Country Inn Banning, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2008

Hello jekekVancouverIsand

Thank you for staying at Country Inn and we are happy to hear that you appreciate that all our rooms have microwaves and fridge in them. We would like to apologize for the train and freeway noise.

Our hotel website does state that the hotel is located directly off the freeway and although the hotel has taken precautions to reduce the noise, guests may sometimes hear this noise when the freeway is very busy.

As for the train noise, under the 1994 law of the Federal Railroad Administration, train engineers are required to sound each train’s horn while approaching and entering upon any public highway-rail grade crossing. The sounding of locomotive horns or whistles trains approach highway-rail grade crossings has been used as a safety precaution by railroads since the late 1800’s.

Unfortunately, the silencing of locomotive horns greatly increases the safety
Hazard to vehicles and pedestrians at grade crossings. Therefore, all trains driving
through Banning’s many intersections have been mandated to comply with this
Law. The front desk now provides complimentary earplugs upon request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2007

We stayed at this hotel because we were going to Morongo Casino and needed a room for one night. The lady at the front desk was nice and accomodated room requests from us and another couple that went with us. The room was a good size, nice, clean, and served our needs. It had one Queen sized bed, a fridge, and microwave. No complaints here about anything. There is a train somewhere near by that you may hear go by now and then, but if you sleep with the TV on you don't even notice.
We called a cab to get to Morongo which was about 5 miles away and cost $15.
The hotel offered a complimentary continental breakfast and is located next to a liquor store. It was interesting to see people riding on horseback to the store. : ) Amusing. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel. Instead we drove a few miles opposite Morongo on Ramsey Street to Gramma's Country Kitchen restaurant. Awesome breakfast! I will go back some day.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravelingRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countryinn-manager, Manager at Country Inn Banning, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2008

Hello TravelingRN

It was wonderful to hear back from you and thank you for staying at Country Inn.
The hotel now provides free wireless internet and are in the process of renovations. We hope you will like and enjoy our improvements on your next visit, as much as you enjoyed your last stay.

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2007

We arrived a few minutes after 4:00p the check in time given when reservations were made. there was 1 man ahead of us but the woman in the window was on the phone and didn't acknowledge him. He ended up leaving. We waited a good while to check in apparently the credit card machine wasn't working properly. so the entire time we were trying to check in she was on the phone .In the mean time 2 more people were standing in line to check in. this is a tiny little room it's tight with 2 people but 4? I went outside while my husband checked in. When we went to out room there was masking tape on the dead bolt and the door way.peep hole etc were taped off the same. It was as though painting had just been completed. When we looked up and down the row of rooms the majority of them also had masking tape on them. the couple we were traveling with booked a non smoking room but the room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke.
when we asked about the on line coupon they have on their website. which states:
Save 10%
Off Your First Stay
At Country Inn

NOT VALID WITH OTHER DISCOUNTS, SPECIAL EVENT OR HOLIDAYS. PLEASE PRINT COUPON AND PRESENT AT HOTEL AT CHECK IN TO RECEIVE DISCOUNT.

we were told because we'd reserved on line we were already given a discount and they would not honor this coupon.
when we returned in the evening there wasn't enough parking in the lot. some people had parked in areas marked no parking.
this was close to the freeway, outlet malls and casinos if you plan only to sleep this is ok.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank javasante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countryinn-manager, Manager at Country Inn Banning, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2008

Hello javasante

Thank you for staying with us at the Country Inn. We were sorry to hear that your visit was less than satisfactory, however we would like respond to the problems that you experienced during your stay.

The staff at Country Inn is trained to make sure the guest check in and stay is as problem free as possible. After reading your review, the management evaluated the behavior of this clerk and she was replaced. The management would like to apologize for her behavior at your check in.

As for the tape on the doors, our maintenance staff had just completed painting these doors and was waiting for the drying process to complete before removing the tape. We had a notice at the front office asking guest to understand and forgive the hotel while renovation was ongoing.

Rates booked online are discounted and therefore the 10% off first stay does not apply to these rates. These rules are stated on the coupon.

As we are located so close to Casino Morongo, many of the hotel guest have more than 2 or 3 cars and sometimes the hotel runs out of parking space. Again we apologize for any problems during your stay with us, and we do hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2006

The check in was quick and simple, no long waits, The room was an unexpected surprise. We paid $55 for a cal king bedroom, that had a fridge, microwave, hair dryer, and free high speed internet. They had irons and boards available at the office. staff wasfriendly and helpful. The room was clean and had new furniture and bedding.

Countryinn is less than 5 minutes from the outlet stores and the casino morongo and 20 minutes from palm springs

We check in for 1 day ended up staying 4 days because hotels in palm springs and at the casino morongo were all $89 and more for one day.

To all travelers looking for a great stay affordable prices, this is the hotel you are looking for

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gyver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countryinn-manager, Manager at Country Inn Banning, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2008

Hello gyver1

Thank you for staying with us. We always like to hear that we surpassed our guest expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banning
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Banning-Beaumont
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel  & Suites Banning
2 mi away
Days Inn Banning Casino/Outlet Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Morongo Casino, Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Banning Casino and Outlet Mall
6.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn/Beaumont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn Banning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Banning

Address: 932 E Ramsey St, Banning, CA 92220-5922
Region: United States > California > Banning
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Banning
Price Range: £54 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn Banning 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn in Banning offers spacious and affordable lodging just 20 minutes from Palm Springs. Located near the beautiful San Gorgonio and San Jacinto Mountains, The Country Inn is found near several area attractions. Enjoy recreation at Morongo Casino or discount shopping at Desert Hills Premium Outlets, Cabazon Outlets. If you are interested in a shopping excursion, please visit our front desk for more information on Desert Hills Premium Outlets which offers savings 25% to 65% everyday at 130 designers and name-brand outlet stores including, Nine West, Guess, Coach, Gap, Calvin Klein, Carter's, DKNY, Hugo Boss, Levi's and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn Banning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Banning
Banning Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing