We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Back Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Back Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Baywood Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We traveled to the Central Coast for a visit with some high school friends on the weekend of a yearly music festival. We stayed two nights and dined in Morro Bay where there is an array of restaurants. The sunset view over the scenic bay is very tranquil and there is very little traffic for a restful night. The staff is gracious and welcoming. They have wi fi in this inn so it was a plus for an iPad user. We are looking forward to our next trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room, although with this location the bay is just steps from any of the rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnnB1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    54
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
141
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

I am so happy that we came across this wonderful property on Trip Advisor. We were looking for somewhere near San Simeon to stay during our honeymoon road trip on Highway 1 and the Back Bay Inn couldn't have been more perfect (the drive to Hearst Castle took just over 30 minutes). We chose room #2 but I can imagine every room has the same wonderful view of the bay. It was windy while we were there so we couldn't enjoy the patio as much as I hoped but it was still wonderful to look out at from inside. The staff were so friendly and personable and the cafe staff and food were great. We hated to leave!

Room Tip: Take some time and look through all the pictures on the hotel's website. They give you a perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank car3822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I cannot think of a better place on the central coast to go hide for a few days. This place is light years nicer than nearly anything you'll find in actual Morro Bay. There are few things better than staring out at the water from your comforable king size bed through the double doors to your private patio feet away from the beach. Considering the quality of the room, the location, the included breakfast at the coffee shop across the parking lot, and the generous wine reception, this place is an absolute deal. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet getaway.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a room with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThunderWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dana point
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

What's better than sitting on your king bed (where you had a great sleep), looking out at the bay (50' feet away) smelling fresh brewed coffee a short walk away (the walk is through an English garden of beautiful flowers) while catching the morning news. Then being lured back to the coffee house to have a home made frittata with a freshly made scone. OMG...this is the place!

Room Tip: I like the ground floor, smaller rooms but closer to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank realtorbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great Staff, Cozy place...as close to the water as you can get. Good breakfasts...get there early as the line gets long and local;s eat there too. Everyone was very friendly....We will be back for another vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyU-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the Back Bay Inn a few years ago, the gardens are even more beautiful now. The inn is a great stop while driving from Big Sur/Monterey to Santa Barbara. This time we went into San Luis Obispo, great little town for lunch. The Back Bay Inn now owns the adjoining coffee shop where we got our free breakfast there as guests of the inn. Quite a collection of locals were there.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a walk out patito viewing the back bay, nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepercarChicago_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

What a wonderful stay. Very peaceful and loved the room with front and rear entrance. The rear entrance faces out onto the bay and each little porch area is covered with flora to provide a sense of privacy. Love the little Back Bay Cafe on the premises where you get a great breakfast as part of your stay. The gals running that show are very industrious and you can have your breakfast right there al fresco or bring it back to your room. If you have a need to stay in this area Back Bay should be something for you to consider. We would definitely stay here again if we were back in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidandeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baywood Park
1.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sea Pines Golf Resort
Sea Pines Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Los Osos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
2.5 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Bay Inn

Property: Back Bay Inn
Address: 1391 2nd St, Baywood Park, CA 93402-1111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Baywood Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Baywood Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Back Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Back Bay Inn is located in great community of Baywood Park/Los Osos on the Central Coast of California in San Luis Obispo County. The Inn is the only waterfront hotel located right on the quiet waters of the Back Bay. The rooms in the main building overlook the gardens, the Back Bay waters and views towards the wonderful hills of the State Park, Montana de Oro. Complimentary breakfast is served at our popular Back Bay Cafe. Across the bay, a short stroll away, is the Audubon Sweet Springs Bird Sanctuary. Golf is available just 1.5 miles away. Morro Bay State Park & Bird Sanctuary and Morro Bay Golf Course are a 5 mile drive away and wineries can be found in San Luis Obispo and North County. Baywood Park/Los Osos is the perfect base camp for hiking, bird watching and biking adventures with numerous trails, particularly in Montana de Oro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Back Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel Baywood Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing