We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Weekend!”
Review of Back Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Back Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Baywood Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable Weekend!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

0 friends
2 reviews
Juli R.
Laguna Niguel, CA
10/27/2013
From the start of our weekend the Back Bay Inn was great! The customer service was friendly and accommodating especially since we arrived late in the evening. Our room was large and comfortable. We just loved the beautiful grounds and location.
It's a gem of a spot. Don't miss the cafe as the food was delicious. It's nice to know we've found a place we come back to time and time again!!! Just hope it's soon..:)))) love love love the Back Bay Inn.
Juli & Scott

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogagal12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    56
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
145
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed here recently while attending a wedding. It was the perfect location for daytime jaunts (15-30 minutes to Morro Bay, Cayucos beach, SLO) and quiet, peaceful nights in. Service was impeccable; the staff was friendly and welcoming and had chocolates and fruit at the front desk as we signed in. The upper room with the balcony facing the bay was clean and well-furnished (it even had an ample sitting area). I also had breakfast and lunch outside on the wood deck a couple of times and found it to be utterly peaceful. I used the certificates for breakfast at the diner and thought it was a good add on from the Inn. There is a good little Mexican restaurant (Maya) right in front of the Inn if you truly did not want to venture far from your room. I highly recommend this Inn and would definitely stay here again if I find myself in this area for some reason.

Room Tip: Upper room facing bay has balcony and beautiful scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stumbled across this great little inn several years ago when staying in Morro Bay.
This was our 2nd stay at the Back Bay Inn and I hate to recommend it for fear the
word will get out!! Baywood Park is a lovely hidden location on the coast.....we have fallen in
love with the area and are considering a move here to retire.
If you want luxury and a 5 star hotel, this is not the place for you. Clean, comfortable rooms with
a great location and a peaceful atmosphere is what you will find. The breakfast offered at the
cafe is perfect. The happy hour wine and appetizers is really nice when you arrive to just chill
from your drive. We will be back again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirlCA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The back bay inn is an understated pleasurable experience - the ground staff are so helpful and lovely.... the grounds are very clean and well kept- The cafe staff are amazing and a real plus to this establishment. I have found a few of the front desk staff to be a little slow- but otherwise everything is awesome. Can't beat the setting!

Room Tip: If a family- I would rent the cottage... heaps of room. all the rooms are very well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amygardiner1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Bar, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This was our third visit here and will not be our last! It is the perfect place to get away from it all and just enjoy the scenery. We were only here for one night, as we were on our way home from Northern California, and needed a "rest stop" about halfway. We were in a garden room - very spacious with an extremely comfortable king bed, a small attached room with a futon, microwave, fridge, and a large wardrobe. They give you a chit for breakfast at a very small restaurant on the grounds, where you can order some pre-determined items - made fresh and delicious. They also have a wine and nibbles reception every afternoon, and you can go out onto their raised deck and enjoy the company and views.

Room Tip: Any of their rooms facing the water would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Plains, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed in Los Osos Ca a second night at a different B&B since we were not happy with the first one. Not sure which was worse. The Bay Back Inn B&B also was not what we were use to. This room was just like renting a hotel room, nothing special. The Inn keeper was very pleasant not like the so called other B&B across the street. Again we received a voucher for breakfast. The place where we had breakfast had good food, but again not what we are use to. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leathatyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goleta, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

See the pictures - I cannot say enough about the Back Bay Inn. My friends love the Baywood which I am sure is lovely, but this place is RIGHT on the water! Sue & Larry (the Inn managers?). So over the top accommodating and nice. We honeymooned in Room #103. Yes it is the handicapped room. I am not graceful so it was funny, It has the straightest shot of the entire estuary because the bed faces the water. SO AWESOME! The food was fantastic at the Back Bay Cafe! The gals were cute, spunky, dollfaced pin up girls that added to the charm each morning. They know all the locals and serve delicious food and yummy pastries. (You get a free breakfast and coffee every day). If you are looking for quiet, peace, rest, kindness, funny locals, great puppies everywhere, walking trails, beautiful views and beautiful peaceful onsite gardens, GET THERE! (before we do)

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views but we stayed in #103 and loved it. Teenie, but each am, with that vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baywood Park
1.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
300 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sea Pines Golf Resort
Sea Pines Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Los Osos
106 reviews
2.5 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
453 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
675 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Bay Inn

Property: Back Bay Inn
Address: 1391 2nd St, Baywood Park, CA 93402-1111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Baywood Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Baywood Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Back Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Back Bay Inn is located in great community of Baywood Park/Los Osos on the Central Coast of California in San Luis Obispo County. The Inn is the only waterfront hotel located right on the quiet waters of the Back Bay. The rooms in the main building overlook the gardens, the Back Bay waters and views towards the wonderful hills of the State Park, Montana de Oro. Complimentary breakfast is served at our popular Back Bay Cafe. Across the bay, a short stroll away, is the Audubon Sweet Springs Bird Sanctuary. Golf is available just 1.5 miles away. Morro Bay State Park & Bird Sanctuary and Morro Bay Golf Course are a 5 mile drive away and wineries can be found in San Luis Obispo and North County. Baywood Park/Los Osos is the perfect base camp for hiking, bird watching and biking adventures with numerous trails, particularly in Montana de Oro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Back Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel Baywood Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing