We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Promenade Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Promenade Hostel
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We loved our stay at Promenade, so much so that we ended up spending an extra night in Playas. Josue and his whole family were welcoming, helpful, and so much fun (we ended up going out for drinks with Josue and his brother Tomas), and the facility is inviting and spotless. We would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

This was a super safe place gated night and day with cameras inside building and super clean. left everything in room with no worries. The owner and her son were informative, genuinely concerned for my safety and were prepared to call the local police when I didn't return as expected.i was there as a single female for a few nights so they kept a special eye out? I was fine though. they went out of their way even downloaded photos on computer so I could post them on Facebook! Arranged transportation answered many questions and there was nothing they would not do. Super clean and attractive place central to bus, beach , food and everything in playas. Communicating in English was simple. Narcissi and Her son Josue and their establishment is beyond compare. Come, stay and enjoy.

Room Tip: Oops no pool couldn't erase it don't need a pool ocean very close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genierogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We've stayed in the Promenade 3 times over the last year and a bit. It served as our base of operations as we were scouting out and eventually buying a beachfront property just outside of Playas. The Promenade is located one short block up from the beach and close to the main thoroughfare for shopping, etc. Rooms are functional and clean and the breakfasts are hearty American style. What really sets this place apart though are the owner - Narcissa Leon and her son Hosue. Both speak English and are very customer focused. They go out of their way to help in any way they can, even when the problem or issue doesn't relate to lodgings themselves.

Over the course of our stays in Playas, Narcissa's help has been invaluable in managing and upgrading the property we bought.

We consider ourselves fortunate to have discovered the Promenade and the Leon family

Room Tip: Ecuadorians are laid back and easy going generally and, they love their music and to party. During t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario, canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The Promenade is a great place in Playas, close to the beach and great restaurants. There are hot showers, never think its too hot out to appreciate a warm shower. Josue is an asset to the lodging he is a polite, incredibly helpfull young man who speaks good english. There is not much english in Playas so you had better know at least a little but where you can't communicate Josue is more than happy to help. The value and comfort and cleanliness are better than more expensive "hotels" in the area.

Room Tip: second floor has a lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curtisdaboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Clean, modern, great location, nice people. This place is much nicer than what I think of when I hear "Hostal". Centrally located one block from pretty much everything. Narcissa and her son Josue are very nice and helpful. I stayed a total of 7 nights during 2 different weeks in October 2013. Great price. Comfortable bed. The only thing which could be improved is the wifi, which did not reach my room, I had to go sit in the lobby. Otherwise everything was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJH3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peach Bottom,Pa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here three days in Aug 2013. The place is clean, quiet and affordable. Joshua is friendly and always willing to help. He has gone out of his way to help us get shoes fixed, laundry done and coffee after breakfast hours. He speaks English well and always meets you at the door with a smile. Maid service has been quick and efficient. We really can't say enough good things about this place. I would stay here anytime rather than try to save afew dollars elsewhere. The water is hot all day in the showers also. WiFi is working in our room at this time.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter but don't have outside windows. We are facing a nightclub toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I've stayed in many places in playas now and this place is decent for the price. Yes Hotel Arena caliente is nicer but it costs more (about $50) and there are other places for about $15-20 (hotel playas, etc) so this is somewhere in the middle.

What you get is a clean, basic private room in a nice part of town a block from the beach. They do have car parking as well and wi-fi only works in the lobby. The rooms have either fan only or fan/AC (have to pay more for AC $18/person, fan $15/person). Breakfast is $3.50 for your standard eggs, toast, juice and coffee. The rooms are comfortable enough but pretty basic, they do have a small TV with cable though.

One little detail that bugged me a little bit is with security at this place, too much in fact. They always locked the front gate so someone always had to let you in/out (but someone was always around). And they had a few dogs in the parking lot (which was very secure with a 12 foot wall) but I guess 1 of the dogs isn't too friendly so you had to ask them to put the dogs away to get to your car (but they were always quick and nice about it).

All in all, its a decent place for the price, nothing fancy but definitely clean and livable.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back as it can get a bit noisy on the weekends with local bars and discos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank el_cap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playas hotels
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Nevada
#2 of 2 in Playas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
6.9 mi away
El Jardin de Playas
El Jardin de Playas
#1 of 10 in Playas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
3.7 mi away
Playa Paraiso Gastronomia & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Taller Ramirez
Casa Taller Ramirez
#2 of 10 in Playas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel La Posada del Sueco
0.0 mi away
Hotel Romanos
Hotel Romanos
#3 of 14 in Playas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Hostel

Property: Promenade Hostel
Address: Av.Jaime Roldos y Callejon 337 | Diagonal del Municipio, Playas, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Playas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Playas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Promenade Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing