We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy Location Unless You're High Tech”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HYATT house Belmont/Redwood Shores
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Belmont
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Squeezed behind Oracle and near other high tech businesses, this hotel is fine if you have business with the dot.com industry. But it is so off the beaten path with no restaurants that unless you absolutely need to walk to Oracle, there are far better locations. Another problem is that there are no elevators. None. So if you have heavy suitcases and a third floor, tough toasties, and waiting for "help" requires patience. Their business center printers were not working the day I am here. Now on the up side, the front desk personnel are terrific. But if you are more of a vacation than business traveler, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: front floor because no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuaneSandul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaylorNintzel, General Manager at HYATT house Belmont/Redwood Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

I want to start by thanking you for commenting on the front desk! I love hearing that they are taking great care of our guests!

While our location does not have restaurants within short walking distance we do have many options for our travelers including food delivery, our grocery shopping program, and many great Belmont, San Mateo and Foster City restaurants just a quick drive away. Our location is situated close to the 101 for an easy commute to both San Francisco and San Jose and so close to the Cal Train station for great public transportation.

Thank you!

Taylor Nintzel (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I were in town for a friends wedding. We had made our reservations directly with Hyatt for our one night stay. We requested a non-smoking king room and were confirmed for exactly that type of room. When we arrived at the hotel at 9PM, we were greeted by Kyle. It was a warm and friendly greeting. Kyle is truly the most professional employee we have ever encountered. He single handedly was responsible for checking people in, answering the phones, offering assistance with luggage, responding politely and efficiently to the inquiries about the WiFi that was temporarily down and dealing with the fact that the hotel was sold out for the evening. The room we were offered first was a king bed, but the AC/Heater were not working, and the TV in the master was also not working (it was 51 degrees outside when we arrived). We asked if there might be another room possibility. The only other room was a very small, dark queen size bed ground floor handicap accessible with a broken living room light fixture next to the stairwell (there was a party bus out in front of the hotel when we arrived so we were concerned about possible noise later on when the party goers returned home). We decided that wasn't going to work for us, it wasn't what we reserved and we don't like ground floor rooms that open to parking lots. We talked to Kyle, expressed our concern and he genuinely wanted to see if he could help us find a room. We went to another room but it was actually booked with another family, so we returned to the lobby. Kyle worked again of trying to find a solution or another room. By now it was close to 10:30PM, all of the hotels in the area were booked due to a large concert, the SF Giants game, and a few other events in the city. Kyle and Vince (who now arrived and was helping in the search for a room) were constantly updating us, searching for a room but absolutely nothing in town anywhere was available. They searched a huge radius and at 11:50PM, we decided to take the room without the TV or ac/heater. We found Kyle and Vince completely supportive and both of them felt badly this was the only option available. They graciously tried their best, maintained an upbeat and professional attitude and were so kind that because of their attitude we will return. Hyatt is lucky to have such professional and experienced staff. The hotel did comp our room due to the hassle, and we appreciated the gesture after a long night in a less than comfortable room. The morning complimentary breakfast was quite nice, the staff in the dining room was pleasant and hardworking. Thank you Kyle and Vince, we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor looking at the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welovetravelsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaylorNintzel, General Manager at HYATT house Belmont/Redwood Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear welovetravelsf,

The level of service you have described in this review is just exceptional and makes me so happy to be a part of the team at the Hyatt House. I want to start off by apologizing that the A/C was not working in your room; I have spoken with our maintenance team to ensure that this is now operating correctly. I am so glad that Kai and Vince were able to take such good care of the situation and ensure that even when things may sometimes not go according to plan, sincere service can still make the experience memorable for our guests. We will use your review as training for the rest of our team and pass the story on for years to come. Thank you so much for noticing this and I look forward to sharing these comments with Kai and Vince.

Hope to see you again!

-Taylor (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

After a long day on the road we stayed here for the night. The staff was friendly give me quite a smile. The rooms we're really nice and really clean. The beds we're nice and firm like the one I have at home. I had a really great sleep. The breakfast was really good and tasty. Much better than the breakfast at the grand Hyatt in San Diego, California. I wished I could stay longer but I needed to hit the road. I would come back if I return to Belmont.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscar219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaylorNintzel, General Manager at HYATT house Belmont/Redwood Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

We love hearing that we are your favorite hotel, and we are so glad you enjoyed our great complimentary breakfast buffet. Thank you so much for giving us a fantastic review and we look forward to welcoming you back when you return to the area!

Sincerely,

Taylor Nintzel (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed in one of the two bedroom suites and had a great time using the pool and outdoor common areas. The rooms were large, clean and nicely appointed.

We have kids and asked for a room on the first floor to make moving in and out of the room easily.

Room Tip: If you kids, ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaylorNintzel, General Manager at HYATT house Belmont/Redwood Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Darryl Y,

Thank you for the 5 Star Review! I am delighted to hear you were able to use our pool and great outdoor area. It is always wonderful to read about a great stay, and I look forward to sharing your review with our team!

Thank you,

Taylor Nintzel (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

over the past two months, I have stayed here with my family for my relocation. Great customer service and quality of amenities.
Sandeep (asst. manager), makes one feel welcome and he is willing to assist with reasonable accommodations; Leneka (Front Desk) - great friendly face, who offers great insite regarding communities on both sides of the bay. The Hyatt House team has been an anchor for this relocation. Irecommend this place highly.
Thanks team.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaylorNintzel, General Manager at HYATT house Belmont/Redwood Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear tevela,

Thank you for the amazing review! I am so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Relocation is definitely a stressful process, and it is wonderful to hear that we were an anchor during this time. Sandeep and Laneka are tremendous for our team and I look forward to sharing this review with both of them!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write, and Welcome to the Bay Area!

Sincerely,

Taylor Nintzel (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The hotel actually feels like a resort. The rooms are well spaced and you do not get the feeling of a hotel.

Rooms are clean and big and well ventilated. Breakfast was decent and the staff is friendly too.

The only negative point is the location. There is nothing close by and without a car it is difficult to commute anywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrudulaSreekanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaylorNintzel, General Manager at HYATT house Belmont/Redwood Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of the rooms and friendliness of our staff. We take great pride in providing exceptional service! While our location may not have any restaurants within walking distance, we offer a complimentary shuttle that can take you anywhere within a 5 mile radius. We also have a guest market available 24/7!

Thank you for your time,

-Taylor Nintzel (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Hyatt house Belmont is a nice hotel situated at a convenient location for business travelers who are visiting companies in bay area. Staff is cooperative and rooms are in excellent condition. I stayed in 1BR suite on 3rd floor. Rooms have all required amenities and I really enjoyed staying at the hotel. Breakfast was really good and provided required boost at the start of the day.

One small issue is : Hotel does not have its own restaurant and there are not many options nearby. So if you are planning to stay here for a week or so, better get some groceries of your own so that you can cook by yourself. Kitchen is small but is well equipped so there shouldn't be any problem. Otherwise, be prepared to travel till Foster city or Hillsdale.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaylorNintzel, General Manager at HYATT house Belmont/Redwood Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Harin V,

Thank you for posting a great review! We always love hearing that our rooms are in great condition. While we do not currently have a restaurant on site, we offer a hospitality hour Monday-Thursday from 5:30-7:00 PM where you can drink complimentary beer and wine and enjoy a light dinner. Additionally, since we know our business travelers are busy; we have a great grocery shopping program. You can leave a grocery list with the Front Desk in the morning and come back from work in the evening with a stocked kitchen!

Thank you again for the feedback! We hope to see you soon!

-Taylor Nintzel (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmont
0.8 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
1,463 reviews
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Belmont Redwood Shores
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Belmont
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Belmont/Redwood Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Belmont/Redwood Shores

Address: 400 Concourse Dr, Belmont, CA 94002-4125
Region: United States > California > Belmont
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Belmont
Price Range: £110 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Belmont/Redwood Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your HYATT house Belmont/Redwood Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Belmont/Redwood Shores Hotel Belmont
Hyatt Belmont Redwood Shores
Summerfield Suites Belmont Ca
Belmont Hyatt
Belmont Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing