We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step up from basic, but air out the funk!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - San Francisco - Belmont
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Belmont
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Located about 10 miles south of SFO airport and firmly mid-Peninsula, this hotel is about halfway to everything in the Bay Area, although that can still mean long rides in traffic. It's also a 20-minute walk to the Caltrain station and several restaurants.

Depending on your preferences/needs, ESA Belmont has both pet- and smoker-friendly rooms. It is also priced less than many of its competitors and is a reasonable way to save some money in a very expensive area. WiFi, parking, and a very minimal snack for breakfast are included. We did not buy the WiFi upgrade as the normal creaked along at 3 Mbps. Housekeeping is once per week, although you can get as many towels and toiletries at the front desk as needed (and pay extra for daily housekeeping if you require it).

While I expected our room to smell like cigarettes (it was the last room available), it actually had this funk like smelly feet that even Febreze could not dispel! There was no comfortable public area in which to sit and work and escape the smell either. Too bad, because I've never before written a hotel review fussing about an odor! Another guest said she'd bought Febreze too.

We had neither a pot nor a pan in the kitchen, and I hope the housekeeper was just too short to see the sticky mess all inside the kitchen cabinet (and no paper towels with which to clean up). So the kitchen was a waste except for the fridge and microwave.

Ending on a positive note, I must say Victor at the front desk was amiable and helpful over a several-day stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with 2 double beds are crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you book online only A room is reserved, not the room you booked. So instead of a King-size non-smoking room, you can get a 2 full-size smoking room. Sheets/Bed were low quality, as was everything.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel is like all other extended stay hotels.
Pros:
- Cheap
- Near to offices in Redwood Shores
- Walk-able distance to Belmont downtown.
- Clean room
- Free Wifi, Parking, Coffee

Cons:
- No dishwasher
- Internet is not that great
- Service is Ok
- Breakfast, you better get your own.
- No Gym
- No Office facilities like printing etc, though they do help getting a printout but it is not very convenient.
- No Swimming Pool

Overall, ok for a day or two stay.
Not good for long term stay.

Room Tip: Very good location for offices in redwood shores and near all major stores and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArunPatyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I wasn't expecting too much in terms of facilities given the price, but some things were disappointing
- plumbing problems: backflow of garbage into the kitchen sink, bathroom sink draining very slowly
- paper thin walls: I could even hear the snoring of the person in the next room, and hear a conversation fairly clearly
- barebones breakfast: The only thing hot is coffee and water... I wish they offered something more (bread, eggs, danish, bagel...)... All they have is bars, fruit, muffins...
- the person at reception is gone most of the time.... have to call to get them there...

On the plus side, free wife, free parking, and clean room....

Overall, I'm not sure I'll come back to stay here...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The rooms are clean, although they do not clean it everyday.
The Kitchenette is very Handy and important as well as there are very little options to eat nearby.

It is a stones throw from Oracle HQ and some of the other firms in the Bay area.

The Best thing is it is value for money if you are on for a long stay and there are no issues/problems as such.

Room Tip: The rooms were quiet and clean and I did not face any problem as such
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savvyuec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for three nights (10/18/2013-10/21/2013) while visiting the San Francisco area. The hotel itself seems pretty isolated, though I'm not familiar with the area at all, but it didn't take too long to get to more civilized areas.

The front desk staff was really nice, especially Lisa - who helped us out with several random requests/inquiries.

Our room (# 516) was both spacious and clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable. It was nice having a recliner in the room. We had all of the necessities for basic cooking, which we took advantage of. We did need a couple of smaller items which were provided upon request (Thanks Lisa!).

There was no real noise transfer between rooms and no noticeable street noise, even though the hotel is right off of the highway; Our hallway smelled pretty strongly of cigarette smoke; however, our non-smoking room had no odors at all.

The breakfast was meager, but we weren't expecting anything at all so it was a bonus. The grab-n-go breakfast consisted of coffee, granola bars, muffins, apples and oranges.

All in all, this was a good experience and I would recommend this place for anyone without the need of staying in "The Big City".

Room Tip: I always recommend an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The rooms stink, the room is serviced only once a month, there is no place to eat nearby. You need to clean your own utensils. There are no other amenities, it is basically just a room, nothing else. even the TV channels are very limited.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmitKacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmont
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Carlos, CA
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Belmont
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Belmont Redwood Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
1,464 reviews
2.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos
2.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - San Francisco - Belmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Francisco - Belmont

Address: 120 Sem Ln, Belmont, CA 94002-4101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Belmont
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Belmont
Price Range: £81 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Francisco - Belmont 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Francisco - Belmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica San Francisco - Belmont Hotel Belmont
Extended Stay Belmont
Belmont Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing