We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the most beautiful hotel in its class!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Benicia
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Benicia
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably the most beautiful hotel in its class!”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Anything with the words "express" in it can leave one thinking this is NOT the place you'd want to stay, but for the Holiday Inn Express in Benicia, I can honestly say that it is definitely worth staying in. The price is awesome, the room we had was beautiful, the staff was wonderful, and the breakfast was great! Loved it! I loved the decor, the bed was fantastic, the bathroom was spectacularly clean (and very well appointed). You will not be disappointed here! Especially if you are on the bottom floor, the rooms have EXTREMELY high ceilings making it feel like a suite!

Room Tip: Choose the bottom floor for those high ceilings, and one at the end of the halls, combine the square...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXBenicia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benicia, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you, I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. We always strive to impress every guest that comes through our doors, and want you to be able to really enjoy your visit with us. We would love to have you visit us again next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    41
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
49
23
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I stayed with my family at this hotel and it was great starting with the service that we got from the staff.The complementary breakfast they offer is GOOD. Rooms are very comfortable and CLEAN overall my all experience there was good and Next year I will definetelly come back to this Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXBenicia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benicia, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for telling us about your visit. We would love to have you back next year when you are in the area. My staff and I are dedicated to ensuring that every guest has a wonderful experience here and I am so glad that we lived up to that with you and your family. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My wife and I recently spent two nights at this property. It has it all, a great road trip hotel.

Holiday Inn Express properties are not Westin's, or Ritz Carlton's. They are, and this hotel is an example of, affordable lodging available to the traveler that typically needs a hotel along their route of travel. I would categorize this property as being very clean, well run by attentive front staff, and convenient to the historic district in Benicia.

Our travels take us to this area a few times each year, and we've always stayed at this hotel. The fact that we come back is our endorsement of this establishment.

The only complaint we have, and this applies to almost all roadside hotel chains, is the terrible pillows. I say this knowing that decent pillows can be purchased at Costco for under $20.00 per set.
I want to emphasize that this is not a problem that is exclusive to this property or HIE.

R

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rapidrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
129 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Benicia is a great place to stay if you are investigating Sonoma and Napa wine country and don't mind driving a bit. It was a capital of California during Gold Rush times and is filled with historical sights.
The Holiday Inn Express is close to the freeway, yet we could walk downtown. Internet service was good, and it came with a free basic breakfast. The $109 price is with the AAA discount card and was for either two queens or a king bed. The hotel is only a year old and rooms are nice and housekeeping service was very good.
If you want to go into the city, there is Ferry service from Vallejo which is the next town over which would eliminate the drive and tolls over the bay bridges.
There are a lot of shops, cafes, and a harbor to walk around in downtown Benicia which is very family friendly but also a good deal if wine country hotels are booked up.

Room Tip: I would choose one away from where cars pull into the underground parking if put on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank claymaryjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I recently attended an all-day training at this facility. I found the property to be very clean, modern, and well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjdoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed a couple of nights in this reasonably priced inn. The inn is new so everything is clean and neat. The rooms are comfortable and a standard breakfast is provided. The main street of Benicia is just a short walk. The inn provides covered, monitored parking which is a plus. The only downside was that the walls of the room seemed awfully thin. I could hear snoring coming from the room next to us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank durangodawgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEMET
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The hoel was nice. Close by relatives in Benicia. The service was lousy(housekeeping).
Coudn't sleep in late because if you do your room won't be cleaned. If you go to breakfast early, had to wait for room to be cleaned.
The staff coudn't speak english very good. No one was friendly except for the desk clerk on the check in day.
The parking was good. I am handicapped and parked right outside the lobby under cover.
We asked for a first floor room. We were given a second floor room. Nothing to see outside except the patio. There is not a pool at all. The price is outrageous for what you get.

Overall I give this place a 3 not a five as it is listed

Room Tip: Stay someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralphhemetca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benicia, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Ralphhemetca,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benicia
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
7.6 mi away
Courtyard Vallejo Napa Valley
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 18 in Vallejo
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western John Muir Inn
10.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
8.0 mi away
Inn & Suites At Discovery Kingdom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Benicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Benicia

Property: Holiday Inn Express Benicia
Address: 1375 E 5th St, Benicia, CA 94510-3530
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Benicia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Benicia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Benicia 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Benicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Benicia Hotel Benicia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing