We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Benicia
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Benicia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The hotel was clean, and I have to say the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was average - nothing super special. Hotel itself was located just off the freeway, while convient you could hear some traffic noise and the hotel was kind of isolated by itself a few blocks from any restaurants, other hotels, etc. overall okay, just nothing super special for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisjor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

Room and bathroom was clean, beds fine. Liked having both soft and firm pillows on beds. Breakfast was typical of "express": coffee and orange juice ok, eggs icky and ham dry, pancake machine made pretty good pancakes. ran out of bananas and oranges by 9am. Parking in lower garage works out fine, can take elevator from garage.

Room Tip: Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank precani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benicia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear precani,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is nice to know that you found our rooms to be clean and the pillows were to your liking. However, I'd like to apologize that the breakfast served did not completely meet your expectations. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to stay with us at some future date.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here on 04/06/13 through 04/08/13. Easy access off highway, clean room and covered parking. However poor a/c (room was stifling) and noisy. A/c system not working so we just opened the window and put up with noise. On a busy street and poor soundproofing between rooms. Included breakfast not worth consideration after we saw the offering and we ate elsewhere. You get what you pay for at Holiday Express so don't expect much.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benicia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Tim1177,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the noise and the poor air conditioning. We will look into this point. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We've come to expect a certain level of quality from Holiday Inn Express and Benicia was no exception. We needed more bedding and it was promptly brought to the room. Nice and roomy - we had 2 queens and a pull-out couch.

Only hesitation in giving them 5 stars was the lack of personnel at the front desk. Every time we went down to the desk, we had to either 1) wait a significant amount of time, or 2) no one showed up.

If we hadn't needed to visit the front desk, it probably would have been 5 stars.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmjnmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I stayed in the Benicia holiday inn for one night and parked my car less than 10feet from the front door. That night there was an altercation between guests(?) that required the contact of the local law enforcement by the night front desk. During the altercation the mirror on my car was broken. We did not notice this until the next morning. When we asked the manager if there was anything that could be done she kept saying that they were not responsible for anything that happens to our car. We could file a police report nod the local police would review the tapes. This occurred less than 10feet from the front door! Filing a police report would delay our trip.

The manager had the opportunity to make a positive out of something that was out of her control. She could of offered a discounted next stay or free stay for our inconvenience or meal voucher. Something that would not cost her anything but please the customer. "The customer is always right" mentality is lost. Poor choice by the manager. I will never stay here again., this affected the entire stay, no matter what the quality of the room, swimming pool or services. Customer service is the most important part of any service facility.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benicia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Dear dgin,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Benicia.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights in this hotel while we were visiting family in Benicia. The room was very comfortable, and the staff at the front desk were consistently friendly and helpful. We'll stay here again when we travel to Benicia. The location makes it easy to walk through historic areas of the town or to get to several cafes and the Safeway that are nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travels4Fun3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

I stay here every year for business and have for the last 3 years. The rooms are always clean and have nice beds. The staff is great and they put out a decent spread for breakfast. For your buck the value doesn't get any better compared to the other hotels in the area this one is a ritz!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merchantsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benicia
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
9.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
6.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Concord
Crowne Plaza Concord
#4 of 8 in Concord
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western John Muir Inn
7.5 mi away
Hilton Concord
Hilton Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
1,027 reviews
4.1 mi away
Super 8 Martinez
Super 8 Martinez
#2 of 4 in Martinez
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Benicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Benicia

Address: 1375 E 5th St, Benicia, CA 94510-3530
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Benicia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Benicia
Price Range: £74 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Benicia 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Benicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Benicia Hotel Benicia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing