We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish!”
Review of Matsuri - Benicia

Matsuri - Benicia
Ranked #10 of 73 Restaurants in Benicia
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
Restaurant details
Benicia, CA.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Delish!”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The pink lady roll is my fave!! Miso soup is great too! Tiny inside, but fast and very friendly service. Food is always consistent. Between the two sushi places in town, I will always choose here... I'd even come here from out of town.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good sushi.”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We have been here a number of times, me for the sushi and my wife for the dinner combos. Both are always good. They have a couple of tables outside if you have your dog with you. They also do take-out. The prices are good too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Try it.”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I have ordered food to go and it was wonderful. And well presented. Have also taken family and friends there and enjoyed the quality and and selection of food they offer. Will go back again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 11ginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benicia, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try the Bento Lunch Special”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Downtown Benicia during lunch hour is going to be busy if you want to eat something good. As a matter of fact I have watched the restaurants on First street become sequentially busy with the best restaurants first, with people walking over to the second, third best and so on. (I live three blocks away and spend way too much time down there...) With that said Matsuri is worth the wait. I have had the Bento lunch it is always perfect: six California rolls, a dish of your choice, rice, green salad and pickled veggies for $8.50. We went a few days ago and my Mom had the Sukiyaki - the broth had an excellent flavor. The food and fish has always been fresh when I have come. I don't know if JBGregory caught it on a bad day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeamArnwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, CA
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“I would like to review this place ..BUT ......”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Try as I might to get in, a " sure come on down" turned into the most god awful wait until finally we left in disgust. In the meantime we observed the following.

I called to find out if they had outdoor seating because I was travelling with my dogs. They said sure come on down.

When we got there, I had to put my name on a wait board. So "sure come on down" didn't really mean anything. I was seventh on the list. I was told it would be about 15 minutes. ooookk.

I noticed many people inside and outside waiting, and thought well maybe the food is that good. I had hopes for this place. The dishes I saw at the other outside table were good looking and the people seemed to be enjoying them. I also noticed that there was one outside table not in use .

I asked the host about it and said " If no one else before us wants the outside table why don't we just take it?" His non sequitor was " Ohh the chef is backed up - let me check". Another 20 minutes go by and people come and pick up their take out and leave and more people come and stand in line and others just leave. This is a tuesday evening mind you. I can only imagine the hell this place is on the weekend.

I go an bug him one more time and say look the outside table is not being requested except for my party, why not seat us. "Ohh he says the chef is backed up" ...... like adding one person inside or outside is going to make a difference- meanwhile he continues seating people inside.

Really if the chef is that backed up maybe a case of ex-lax would help.

The food here may be good- who knows only the lucky few that get a seat or don't travel with dogs but the complete idiocy of not seating us outside when it was an available table and no one else wanted it escapes me. Especially since he continued seating people inside.

This place is ripe for a makeover ala one of those television reality shows.

At the hour wait mark after we were told " sure come on down" we left and had dinner elsewhere - which i will also write about.

Their myriad not working web sites etc advise- "good for groups" they aren't. The place is tiny and not visible from first street- look for the building next to the antique mall. A group of 5 had been waiting since before we got there, and finally one of the guys went in and basically said the same thing- you have this table for 5 that is not being used seat us now . IT really appeared to be the only table big enough for 5 that I could see. - A few minutes later we left and ate across the street. Half way through our meal; we saw the group of five walking down the opposite side of the street with not too happy looks on their faces.

I don't know what happened but if they ate anything in that time it must have been the paper napkins. We watched one couple being seated and they were served 25 minutes later so a group of 5 did not eat in the time it took us to get through the antipasto across the street.

They do not take reservations so why he even invited us to come on down is beyond me.

I will try to visit this place one more time on maybe a Wednesday evening early ( hell i thought 6 pm was early) and let you know what the food is like but the ordeal in even getting to the table is like trying to kill and gut your own mastodon before chopping it up and putting it on the barbecue yourself - then asking the chef to watch it for you while you clean up.

In this instance even if the quality of the food were such that it put the viagra company out of business, it still couldn't make up for the terrible terrible public relations disaster of getting a table in the first place. THe horrible experience of trying to get seated would have soured any food i ate there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mithra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matsuri - Benicia also viewed

 

Been to Matsuri - Benicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing