We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$260
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$650
US$488
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$444
US$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$964
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort & Spa(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$797
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$60
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sandals Montego Bay(Montego Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (6,508)
Filter reviews
6,508 results
Traveller rating
1,922
2,272
1,377
557
380
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,922
2,272
1,377
557
380
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjerk chickenmontego bayswim up barasian restaurantevery other daymichael jackson showentertainment staffjerk hutbuffet styleclose to the airportrose hallmini barmain buffetpaddle boatsfood was greatplanes flyingdunns river
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,787 - 2,792 of 6,508 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Went with a group of 49 for a wedding. The resort was absolutely beautiful. Captain Chris and crew on the catamaran were awesome and was one of our highlights on the trip.
The food was great and the drinks were even better.
However at times it seemed like the level of organization amongst the staff was lacking.
Also the prices at the spa were not near worth the end results.
All in all I would give this resort a 7.5 out of 10.
The group I was with could have had fun anywhere.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Brody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was in Riu Montego Bay on 06/05 - 13/05. It was 5th time I was there. I like this place, good food, beach, staff. About entertainment shows, I, usually, do not watch it, but one time I got there by accident because of nice songs hearable from there in a lobby. To my surprise, it was so nice show with high level dance, awesome. My concern was sport, particularly, volleyball. First years I was there entertainment guys invited people to play screaming loudly; "Volleyball! Volleyball!" before lunch and after lunch according schedule. Previous year when I come 3 first days there wasn't volleyball at all because, I was told, volleyball ball was lost. Strange, a little bit, did they have only 1 ball? Also, entertainment guys did not call people to volleyball, people got self-organized, just went to entertainment booth about pool to get a ball themselves. This year it got more deteriorated - at the time I checked in I took a look at volleyball schedule - 10:30 AM and 15:30 PM. OK, next day morning no entertainment, guys no ball about the court. People gathered to play, waited for a while, and I went to entertainment booth and was given garbage ball with so weird look, but still hold air - so we played before lunch and after. Next day the garbage ball disappeared and no ball in the entertainment booth. I told nice entertainment guy Silvester about that, and he promised to get a ball. Actually, he brought another garbage ball, that didn't hold air, but, nevertheless, we played pumping it every 5 minutes. After lunch ball vanished, and so volleyball. One happy day it appeared 2 new balls at once. We were so happy to play with new ball, but in 2 day they disappeared somehow. When I went to ent. booth, I was told that balls were blown up, that somebody played volleyball after lunch and blew them up. Actually, there was not volleyball after lunch. I'd like to see such guy with so strong spike to blow up 2 new balls that is, actually, impossible. It looks like somebody breaking balls in purpose. Last day morning I went again to famous booth for a ball and was told again that there is no ball, but the good entertainment guy made me a favor, he gave me ball that was assigned to pool volleyball, and it appeared it was the same garbage ball that we played on first day. If it's written in the resort information that the resort has some activities, and those activities are in schedule, it must be conducted according schedule by entertainment guys with all equipment and accessories needed, but not with garbage.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yansha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What a beautiful place and hotel, from the moment I arrived with my partner and daughter I felt welcomed very friendly place lovley food a safe feeling around the place, everyone is smiling, the range of food is brilliant and tastes amazing, everything on the resort was to high standard, the jerk chicken hut on the beach is open threw the day and you can go up as many times as you like, I would go back every year as my only holiday and would enjoy it even more each time, the staff are so happy and there to help, when you go on tours it reminds you that the staff at the hotel live so poor and with little money but they are happier then you and you are on holiday, it's really an amazing country and resort, thanks for having us we will see you again soon

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Ruel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Nothing negative to say about this place. Friendly staff at both front desk and restaurants, entertainment crew was great too!! Megatron. Always something to do as they have activity calendars for the whole day planned out. Take advantage of the paddleboats and kayaks we had a blast on them. Except for the asian restaurant all others were good (ate at steakhouse 3 times). I woke up everyday thinkin about the jerk chicken hut on the beach, its amazing!! Have fun people

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank neilrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I were there May 23 - 30/14. The weather was excellent all week. The food was great, lots of choice. Loved the restaurant for lunch on the beach, jerk chicken on the beach all day. What can I say, there was nothing bad to say. Our room was in Block 2 so was close to everything. Entertainment staff is so talented. Unfortunately we were unable to see the Grease and MJ shows which were supposed to be Wednesday and Thursday. One of the main characters from the show could not perform, therefore they substituted with other entertainment which was great. Don't worry its a great place and you will have a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fanilow57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews