We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great diving location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Derawan Dive Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Derawan Dive Lodge
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Berau
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great diving location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Spent about 7days for diving on March 2014. Derawan dive lodge was great with comfortable and nice rooms, bean bags outside of the room were just relaxing. Food were above average, not the best but served it's purpose, after all the island is remotely located.

Stuffs were friendly and dive guides were extremely experienced , i enjoyed my divings , having said that i have about 650dives and being a fussy diver but i was happy with the dive crews. The diving around the archipelago was one of the best among my dives, loads of manta, school of barracuda, tonnes of turtle with viz of about 40m, Derawan itself was very good for Macro dives. It has much to offer from big fishes to small critters.

The only drawback was that Derawan is a bit far out from other islands, ~60-90minutes boat ride to get to maratua, or kakaban. But overall that will not be a reason holding me from staying with them!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sayhau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    25
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
18
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were lucky enough to bump into Dan (the owner) at Berau airport after a marathon journey, and since we were intending to stay at his place anyway (without arranging/researching any sort of transport to get there!) he let us tag along in his transport and took us door to door to the lodge.
In derawan, it is probably the most comfortable place you can stay, some of the losmen can be hit and miss. Breakfast was always different and enjoyable.
The diving was fantastic, let's hope it stays that way after the nearby airport opens.
Lunches were also delicious on the boat, dive masters knew their stuff, and we saw alot. Keep an eye out for the orangutan crab.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Derawan island sited off the coast of East Kalimantan in Indonesia. Its take abt 12hrs journey to reach the place from Signapore. Flying thru Silk Air (2.5hrs) in the morning and awaiting for the domestic flight (3hrs wait and 1hrs flight time) to reach Kalimantan Airport in late noon follow by 3.5hrs road journey and 45mins boat ride.

Despite the long hours of travel, we arrived in dinner time abt 8pm and have 1st dinner at the lodge immediate as direct by the Dive manage Christ and Noby. The lodge is a simple and comfortable. The staffs are always helpful and will try their best to assist us at all time. The dinning area is sited at the edge of the beach where you enjoy a simple and nice meal. When you are diving, the lunch is usually cater on the dive boat.

The dives usually organized to go 1 island per day and dive sites are good but my group did not see the manta ray. Other dive group saw a group of 8 - 10 mantas rays. The stingless jellyfish lake is interesting. 3 dives per day which end abt 4 - 5pm.

End of the day, you can take a slow walk to the village behind the dive lodge and see the villager past time. You may want to enjoy the nice BBQ seafood there. The peoples are friendly in the village and see the children enjoying their swim at the jetty.

Overall its a nice stay with a helpful staffs from the dive boat to the lodge staff which they their utmost to ensure you are comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

A remote location to get to but an overnight stay in Balikpapan helped to break the jet lag; followed by the usual internal flight to Berau, 2.5 hour car ride and half hour speedboat. The internal flight over Kalimantan and the road trip through the edge of the jungle are well worth for the visuals alone.

Let's start with the main reason for visiting - the diving. There are 4 main dive locations to visit.
1. Maratua - has the best dive in my opinion, Barracuda Point. A reef hook is required but the sheer number of Barracuda make this dive site with the hundreds of fish seen in the shoals on both our dives here
2. Kakaban - a good variety of wall dives and another location to see a shoal of Barracuda though not in the numbers of Maratua. The Jellyfish lake is worth the visit during a surface interval
3. Sangalaki - the place for Mantas and we were lucky enough to see a number on one dive but they are by no means guaranteed and we did not see any on the other 6 dives we did at this site, look elsewhere if Mantas are a must see.
4. Derawan - lots of interesting small stuff - frogfish, pygmy seahorses, sea dragons, blue ringed octopus - also seen on some of the other dive sites

Overall Derawan is a worthwhile dive location, other than the sheer number of Barracuda and Turtles there is not an abundance of any one fish life simply rather a huge variety of different things to see both large and small, even Dolphins from the dive boat.

All the 3 main islands are on average an hours boat ride from Derawan. Dive guides, boat operation, nitrox availability are all excellent.
Some of the coral reefs and walls are simply stunning with very large soft and hard corals, unfortunately the effects of the previous local practice of dynamiting can be seen in places but the reef is recovering and should not deter you visiting.

The Dive lodge is located on the beach and is simple, it's all about the diving. The rooms are clean and functional, there is plenty of background noise from the local Mosque to the numerous roosters but a nights sleep is usually confirmed as the diving ensures you are tired!

Food - Lunch and Dinner very basic and consisting of rice / rice and more rice accompanied usually 3 dishes (chicken pieces / diced beef and fish) which though tasty after a few days does get very repetitive,the soup starters were excellent. Breakfast is sticky rice, rice (occasionally noodles) with tinned frankfurters and fried tomatoes but there was always toast available though the measly 2 slice toaster ensured a wait as nearly every guest wanted toast.
The lack of a kettle (just a hot water function on the water dispenser) is a downside as hot drinks were never quite hot enough.
The cold drinks of beer, sprite and coke were reasonably priced though frustratingly they did run out now and then

7 days was about right for the length of stay and if you have time a 2/3 mainland bolt on side trip to experience the jungle, see the wildlife and orangutans would be prudent.

Overall highly recommended, it is a very cost effective location with a wide variety of underwater life and reefs to see.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grahamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

*** This review only covers the diving service I engaged. It does NOT cover my opinion on their accommodation as I did not stay at the lodge. Happy travels! ***

HIGHLIGHTS
+ Extremely helpful, friendly staff (we were very lucky to meet Yanis - he's the man)
+ Excellent dive guides
+ Well maintained rental dive gears
+ Must visit: Maratua (especially The Channel), Kakaban jellyfish lake
+ Hospitable service
+ Location is perfect: beach front
+ Lunch is covered if you're just diving with them. Basic meal but enough. Drinks included.
+ Quiet - ideal for getaway holidays
+ Nice room, nice shower, perfect for couples (although I did not stay, I had a peek inside one of the rooms)

COULD BE BETTER
Diving wise, I have nothing bad to write. However, those who stayed here generally had the same recurring feedback that the food served lacks variety especially when you are staying for an extended period of time. My suggestion is to explore the village and try some of the local restaurants there.

CONCLUSION
The staff at DDL is the gem. They always try their best to accommodate to your requests. Everything was great from airport pickup on our arrival to airport delivery on our departure. Service at its best. I really enjoyed my diving holidays with DDL and I would gladly return here in the future. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with your family/kids, get the family room. It's a double storey directly f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onefinesunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warmenhuizen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our expectation were very high about this place.
Very remote - fly to Berau, 2,5 hours with a car on a very bumpy road, on a speedboat for 45 min. It is on a very nice cosy island with a small village on there. The resort is nice, friendly staff, good dive guides and equipment.
In the village you can find some Warangs (restaurants) who are pretty good for dinner.

The food at the resort dissapoint us, we were before on a Klotok in the jungle, also very less resource to serve food, but it was excellent, this was very very basic.
You can ask for your breakfast for eggs if you don't want to go on bread with jam only.
Lunch and Dinner also basic, we were very lucky to have a BBQ served by the staff, with excellent fish and chicken this was very nice.

The village is nice, there is a even a pretty professional clinic with doctors who can speak good English - Go for a walk.
The cabin where you stay in is good,
We have been diving at Marautua, Kakaban and Sanglaki. Kakaban was the highlight especially the snorkling in the Jelly fish lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anneke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

It was a very long and tiring trip from South Africa to reach Derawan Island. The location of the Dive Lodge is magnificent - right on the beach. The accommodation was very nice and comfortable. The only bad side of our stay, was the food. They did not cater in any way for Western food which meant going diving on 1 or 2 slices of bread with smooth jam - if you were not prepared to eat the spicy noodles or rice for breakfast. Our request for eggs dit not materialise. The service in the dining room was not up to standard.
The highlight of our dives from Derawan was the barracuda dive at Maratua and the snorkeling with the non-stinging jellyfish at Kakaban. It is a different kind of diving than for instance the Red Sea or Maldives. There are not that many coral fish, but rather macros and critters (nudibrancs; frog fish etc.). The Dive Masters were excellent and tried their best to provide an excellent service.
The food and drinks that they take with on the boat for the day out diving, was very basic and again only spicy food and some fruit.
The trip to Derawan was an experience, but I believe not worh the cost and long hours of travelling unless they upgrade on their food and provide for the tastes of the Western public.

Room Tip: 10 Great double airconditioned rooms. Although the rooms at the waterfront have a fantastic view, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Summer444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berau
54.4 mi away
Hotel MILLENIUM
Hotel MILLENIUM
#6 of 9 in Berau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
52.2 mi away
Grand Parama Hotel
Grand Parama Hotel
#9 of 9 in Berau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fisheries Eco Villa
Fisheries Eco Villa
#2 of 4 in Derawan Islands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Noah Maratua Resort
Noah Maratua Resort
#2 of 2 in Maratua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
52.2 mi away
Palmy Hotel
Palmy Hotel
#1 of 4 in Berau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
53.2 mi away
Bumi Segah Hotel
Bumi Segah Hotel
#1 of 11 in Berau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derawan Dive Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derawan Dive Lodge

Property: Derawan Dive Lodge
Address: RT 3 Kepulauan Derawan | Tanjung Batu, Berau 12345, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Kalimantan > East Kalimantan > Berau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Berau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique dive destination for big fish, stingless jellyfish lake, Mantas, turtles and muck diving. Enjoy an adventure of a lifetime with Tasik Divers and stay with Derawan Dive Lodge. 10 room property with a good standard management. We offers PADI/NAUI and NITROX ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing