We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rip-off in Berkeley”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bancroft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bancroft Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rip-off in Berkeley”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

The Bancroft is a rip-off! I recently paid $180 for a room with no amenities - bed was hard, towels were like sandpaper. They leverage their location (near UC Berkeley) to rip-off travelers. Room was also noisy - street noise was a real nuisance, both mornings I was awakened at 6am. I recommend trying another Berkeley hotel or stay in Emmerville.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    38
    25
    13
    10
See reviews for
22
29
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Checked in on Friday for a visit with my daughter. Close to her sorority. After checking in my daughter and i left to go shopping and go to dinner. Returned at around 10:30 pm. Retired to bed and were eaten alive by bed bugs!!!!! They were everywhere. Absolutely disgusting! We checked out and went to the Claremont hotel which is where we normally stay. I have called the owner of the hotel and he will not return my phone call!!!!! Next call to better buisness bureau! Horrible!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lmcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2680BancroftHotel, Manager at Bancroft Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for informing us of this. We did have a thorough inspection of the hotel by EcoLab, and they found no traces of bed bugs.

Thank you for choosing the Bancroft Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berkeley hotels

San Miguel de Alllende, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

The Bancroft hotel was designed by a noted architect of the 1920's arts and crafts era with Asian and Mediterranean influences. The elegant facade of this historic place is embellished with numerous columns. The hotel's interior has been refurbished; it is charming and done in good taste in keeping with the original period. It is also "the greenest hotel in Berkeley with all organic cotton bedding and towels and carpets made from recycled content, along with eco-friendly bathroom products.

The Bancroft has a great location across from the U.C. Berkeley campus which is a beautiful park-like campus for a morning stroll or jog. Several stories high, the rooms facing west will have unimpeded bay views; a number have spectacular views. We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast with lovely jams and breads. Very pleasant service.

Although our room was facing the residential side with a cafe next door, it was fairly quiet, cozy, attractive with a very interesting display of artwork, a most comfortable queen bed, great comforter, well-designed bathroom, and flatscreen cable TV.

As we frequently visit the East Bay, we would be happy to return to the Bancroft Hotel again. It will not disappoint. If you are with a car, there is convenient next-door parking available.

Room Tip: Get a San Francisco bay view room facing west for the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dellsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We had not been to San Francisco or Berkeley before. We spent the first two nights of our 16-day stay in the Clift Hotel in Geary St, SF. This was a mistake! We then moved to the Bancroft and found our home in Berkeley. It was easy and cheap to get into SF by AC Transit (bus) from outside the hotel door or by BART. The location on the south east edge of the campus meant we could easily stroll through (or relax in) the university grounds. There were many excellent value coffee shops and snack bars in the local area as well as all kinds of shops - food, liquor, book, music, clothes. The hotel was a ten-minute walk from downtown Berkeley and 'gourmet ghetto' with many restaurants offering cuisine from all over the world. Fifteen minutes along College Ave led to more upmarket Elmwood, with yet more fabulous restaurants and shops.
The hotel was formerly a University Women's Club and has been recently given a makeover which has not removed the charm of the place. The hotel is quiet and the guests we met were very well-behaved! The reception staff were unfailingly helpful and cheerful; Brenna (one of the managers) is wonderful. The staff could not have done more for us. Continental breakfast is complimentary and ample; sitting in the second floor window of the breakfast room looking down over the Bay and the GG Bridge is unforgettable. Beds are comfortable; there's a choice of pillows; towels and face cloths are provided. The rooms were warm and the heating works. Have we any criticisms? The housekeeping staff maybe needed a little more supervision; and maybe if you're a very light sleeper the lack of tight-fitting windows and/or double glazing might be troublesome. But really we cannot find fault and will certainly stay there again if/when we return to SF.
If you want night life, a bar, piped music, trendiness then this is not your sort of place; if you value the things that really matter - peace, relaxation, kindness, time and space for reflection, the family feel - then this is your spot!

Room Tip: rooms on the west side (facing the bay) are sunny but you may be woken at 7 by the kitchen staff thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed in the Bancroft on two separate nights in the past 2 weeks, while visiting my daughter in Berkeley.
The first room was on the 1st floor (2nd floor in the US) and had a balcony overlooking the back of a cafe, with a large oak allowing privacy. It was quiet and very cozy with good bedding and pillows.
The second room was on the 2nd floor (3rd floor US) and was a corner room with a shared balcony with a view of the university and double windows on the side, where we could see the Golden Gate bridge. Again, the bed was comfy and the room lovely.
Breakfast is included and was in a large, airy room with a view of San Francisco Bay and the Golden Gate bridge.
I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Berkeley.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan_in_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

The effort at being eco-friendly and making good use of green design is an important feature of this hotel, along with the pleasure of staying in a beautifully restored old place with wavy glass and stained glass and wood. However, it really wasn't too comfortable - thin walls, street noise, small bath with not much space to put anything, bath and closet doors in conflict, et cetera... There were, oddly, some eco touches missing, i.e., plastic disposable cups (while, at the same time, a compostable shower cap) and lovely EO shampoo, conditioner and lotion, but in little bottles, which, while recyclable, would have been more ecologically-friendlyl if contained in compostable bottles or a dispenser was used. Some between-room soundproofing would be a welcome addition. Enjoyed the continental breakfast - good oatmeal and granola and a nice selection of pastries. There's no in-room coffee or tea, and you must ask for things like hairdryers. Young staff were very helpful - got free use of the huge University fitness center, a free trip to the Botanical Gardens, several discount slips for the cafe next door. Great location for Berkeley campus.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 205 - very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alcaldeellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma WA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

I parked my family here for two days so we could attend my niece's wedding in downtown Berkeley. So, the location of this little hotel is great for university access, but it is not really walking distance to Berkeley's downtown and Shattuck Avenue (the location of the wedding). It is a sweet, older hotel with very small rooms, no elevator, thin walls. If we were staying in a similar-style hotel in Paris or Rome, we would find it charming and part of the European culture. Still, it offers nice amenities as it tries to take care of its guests - continental breakfast, free coffee coupons at the coffee house next door, parking for a small fee. Don't expect upscale, boutique, or Best Western basic. You can appreciate the charm and the effort made.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arlenejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.1 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.7 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bancroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bancroft Hotel

Property: Bancroft Hotel
Address: 2680 Bancroft Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1717
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bancroft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bancroft Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing