We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“campus close”
Review of Bancroft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bancroft Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“campus close”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I've stayed at the Bancroft twice now. It's a good option for one or two people. Give them a call, great rates can be had! It's a good location, next to the art museum, central to campus; but don't assume parking. Note there is no elevator, that's part of the quaint. The staff are helpful. There is a basic continental spread in the morning; I like their creative oatmeal. And I make good use of the free beverage coupons for the Cafe Strata next door. The rooms have been clean and comfortable. This last stay though I noticed the tub needed a good Comet scrub; not that I would sit in a hotel tub, eeewwww.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtmze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    39
    26
    13
    10
See reviews for
23
30
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
winterwonderland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Recently returned to the Bancroft while attending a conference at UC Berkeley. Once again, the staff was friendly and helpful. The accommodations remain comfortable and cozy. Love that the hotel is centrally located. No complaints and will return.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationkrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I wanted to love this hotel in its charming old building and perfect location across the street from the University. Sadly it fails on most points.

Room - So there is a cute bed and balcony, framed photos above the bed, all wonderful ... then you look down at the mix of tile and very old stained carpet.

Bathroom - tiny, but more importantly, dirty. There was dark stains in the shower tile (mold? maybe maybe not but in need of major cleaning. The sink area had previously been wallpapered or covered and that was removed but had not been repainted so you had just discolored wall to look at.

Elevator - there is none, which really is fine, except lugging your stuff up the stairs you notice all the stains and grime on the hallway carpet.

Breakfast - Average, there was a good mix of muffins, juice, oatmeal. It would have been nice to have something warm or some hard-boiled eggs but it was good enough.

No fitness center or restaurant onsite (there is a banquet facility and catering business on site but nowhere to grab a drink or dinner for yourself)

Would I stay again? No, I would stay at the Durant around the corner for $20 more and enjoy a full warm breakfast, cleaner room and elevator.

Room Tip: Second floor is less walking upstairs than the third
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopherkoontz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berkeley hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Old vintage hotel so do not expect great amenities. Service is average as well. The big advantage is that it is close to the campus so there is ease of access. There are a lot of food places in a one block radius so if you use the hotel for sleeping then it is ok.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank alsgdfkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is a smaller, older hotel, but we found the location to be excellent. The rooms are on the small side, but the property was very clean and well kept. You CAN walk to downtown Berkeley from here (10 mins - walk through campus if you want a more peaceful alternative to Bancroft street). Parking is $15, but street parking is free from 6PM to 9AM, so we went that route. In my mind, the decision to stay here again would depend on the rate. We paid about $100 + tax. I wouldn't pay more than $120 unless there was an especially compelling reason to be in that location. Overall, for the rate we got, we feel it was a good value for the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I visited this hotel since is one of the best located in Berkeley, near the main schools such as Haas, Law, etc. The hotel is definetely old, with no elevator, but in good shape, with clean facilities, including the bathroom, bedroom. Very good quality of linens, and ammenities too! The bad thing here, maybe is the location itself, near all the fraternity houses, it was summer time so i didn´t have problems to sleep, however the rooms are not well insonorized, so in other time of the year could be nosisy. All in all, is a good option in Berkeley with good value.

Room Tip: If you can choose, pick the rooms with mountain view, since this aren´t as warmer as the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velezmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The first night of our stay we were kept up until 1:30am by a frat party. Second night the hotel had a wedding with base blaring through the floor of the room. Unusable for sleeping, management should not have rented out the room above a wedding reception.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ems98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
770 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.7 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
374 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bancroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bancroft Hotel

Property: Bancroft Hotel
Address: 2680 Bancroft Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1717
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bancroft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bancroft Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing