We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but needs work”
Review of Bancroft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bancroft Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed 27 September 2004

We were seeing a concert at the Greek Theatre and could walk from the hotel which was great! Staff was friendly but the hotel needs a major facelift. There is no air or screens on the windows. Our bathroom door kept getting stuck and the rooms were tiny. Overall it was fine, but a little too much $$ for what you get. We went to the Hotel Durant Bar one night which is only one block away and that hotel looked much more together. Next time I think we will stay there instead.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 119 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Monterey, CA
13
Reviewed 14 September 2004

A nice, historic hotel located just across the street from UC Berkeley and within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. We really enjoyed our stay there! The hotel has charming, nicely appointed rooms. Ours was nothing fancy but was clean, cute, and comfortable. There is no elevator so individuals who cannot walk up stairs should try somewhere else. The hotel serves a complimentary, continental breakfast in the morning. For the price, it was a really good value! We will definitely stay there again.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Folsom, CA
212
Reviewed 30 August 2004

The Bancroft Hotel is well-located if you want to be close to the UCB campus.

Unfortunately, this location can be a disadvantage, too. There was a lot of street noise and party noise in this neighborhood on the weekend we visited. It was difficult to sleep, no matter what the hour.

It was extremely warm during our visit. The building does not have air-conditioning. We opened the windows and turned on the fan, but it was hardly enough.

The rooms are very small...barely enough room for 2 people and a suitcase.

The shower had little to no water pressure and the water temperature fluctuated from cold to super hot with no warning.

The staff is pleasant and the rooms are clean.

If I had it to do all over again, probably would choose to stay somewhere else.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Stamford, CT
16
Reviewed 8 April 2004

There are few options in Berkeley, so we chose this for its location.
First impression: needs a good cleaning! Musty smells in the lobby, the room, and even a hint of pet urine in the hallway. Our room was on the third & top floor (no elevator) with a GREAT view of the bay and GG bridge in distance. Also, a small balcony overlooking the street (very European feeling). Nothing special about the room, everything in this place needs an facelift. Headboard kept banging bacm and forth, curtains & bedspead dusty/musty/oldy moldy. The bathroom is dreadfully small, decent shower, but the sink is tiny. We loved the location, near shops, Telegraph Ave, a great cafe right next door, UC Berkeley across the street. Its great if you want to be close to everything and don't mind some cons including a very poorly done continental breakfast. It's also very noisy since its on the street w/students walking by and the cafe next door but we actually slept from heavy jetlag. On the day of checkout, which was not busy, there were only a couple of other people in the hotel with us, the maid repeatedly knocked at the door even when we had permission from the front desk for an extended checkout. It was over the top rude, and the desk clerk pretended he had no idea what I was talking about. Berkeley is a great place to visit, but if you're looking for luxury try the Claremont.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2003

My husband is staying at the Bancroft now. He had been impressed by the attractive image on the website and its proximity to the UC Berkeley campus. Now that he's there, he says the rooms are quite small, don't have desks, and are in the down-at-heel, seen-better-days category (kind of "grungy"). However, he's staying because the price is good and the location is very good.

20  Thank Havanistim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le stanze sono tutte mediamente silenziose; se potete scegliete quelle con il terrazzino
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pasquale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enryraffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
793 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.4 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
270 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bancroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bancroft Hotel

Address: 2680 Bancroft Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1717
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: £126 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bancroft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bancroft Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing