We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Refuge in the Heart of North Berkeley”

North Berkeley Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Berkeley Cottage
Ranked #1 of 8 Berkeley B&B and Inns
Morton, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Refuge in the Heart of North Berkeley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed in this cottage for a week while visiting my son and daughter-in-law and my 3-year-old grandtwins. It provides a delightful and elegant respite from the people I love the most. It renews my spirit and engages my heart. The gardens are lovely, and the cottage provides everything one might need. I look forward to going again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was one of the most comfortable and well-equipped places I've ever stayed. The cottage is a spacious one-bedroom with eat-in kitchen and charming details everywhere. Surrounded by a lush garden, it's very private and peaceful.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Me and my family visit the East Bay Area a couple of times a year and we have now found the place we want to stay for all our visits.

From the moment we stepped into the cottage, we felt very much at home and relaxed. Our 2-1/2 year old son Jack, loved playing outside in the beautiful garden, and also loved playing with the toys that were already at the cottage. Bonus!

And me and my wife loved the location as we were able to walk to all the wonderful shops & restaurants in the Gourmet Ghetto area. The cottage itself is nice and cozy yet large enough for our family of 4.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank pete619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I was visiting the archives at the nearby Berkeley University for a few days, and stayed at the cottage with my wife and 1 year-old. Although I did find the initial email communication a bit awkward (very short emails in block letters), the owner is very kind and helpful, so don't let that turn you away. The cottage is extremely beautiful, very well equipped, including for infants, and surrounded by a beautiful garden. There is a lot of attention to detail, and everything seems to be in place to make you enjoy your stay. The location is superb – quiet neighborhood, two supermarkets and many restaurants and cafés within short walking distance, and accessible to the university and other Berkeley locations. Would definitely stay there again (or rent the place long term if ever I was to relocate to Berkeley...)

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank davidbarak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

We just spent three days at the cottage. It is absolutely wonderful. Comfortable, clean, quiet and close to a great coffee and pastry shop (the Cheeseboard). Beautifully maintained garden. We did not mee the host but everything was ready for. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Costa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

For over six years, I have made a week-long stay at the cottage part of an annual pilgrimage to Berkeley for a yoga workshop. Each year, approaching the cottage along the meandering garden path brings a sense of wonder and delight at the layers of green foliage, fiery blooms, and hovering hummingbirds. The cottage is and feels completely private; there are also two quiet, intimate places to sit in the garden. The cottage has a huge bathtub, great shower, large windows, and the kitchen is, as others have said, well-appointed. Convenience to a variety of wonderful food and wine shops, along with great restaurants, make the location alone a big draw. But this gem of a retreat is worth a trip on its own. The hosts have a perfect sense of friendliness and helpfulness without ever seeming to hover; each interaction I have had with them has been delightful.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atdg588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2009

This is just a lovely place to stay. Quiet, incredibly convenient, and very pretty. The garden is a delight, the cottage is very clean and well appointed, and the kitchen very well equipped, and a very nice place to cook and enjoy a glass of wine. The sleeping arrangements are both comfortable and flexible. I have stayed here several times, both alone and with my young adult daughter. My only regrets are that it is not always available when I visit, and that I always eat too many of the good things that are so nearby in Gourmet Ghetto!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank migratoryme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
1.1 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.5 mi away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#13 of 20 in Berkeley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Berkeley Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Berkeley Cottage

Property: North Berkeley Cottage
Address: 1517 Milvia St, Berkeley, CA 94709-2009
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
North Berkeley Bed And Breakfast Cottage
North Berkeley Bed & Breakfast Cottage Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing