We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable, convenient, and friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Brown Shingle Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Berkeley B&B and Inns
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, convenient, and friendly”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We rented two rooms, for ourselves and our son, and both were clean, comfortable, spacious, and had a great view. The location is excellent: far enough up in the hills to have the view, yet close to the Cal campus and downtown Berkeley. We were very satisfied and would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JIF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
8
9
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I stayed at Helen's house for two weeks, the place got good location, excellent rooms with the view of the bay, and the cherry on top of the cream was Helen the owner. She was very welcoming and help us when we need, even give us rides down to the BART station.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaAtia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We've stayed at the Brown Shingle every time we go to Berkeley and absolutely love it. We have our favorite room with an incredible view. Helen is a wonderful hostess and I now can consider her a friend. We're going back there later this month and can't wait!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bevjano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Sadly we couldn't recommend this establishment. We arrived to find a nice house which was not being cared for enough. On inspecting our bed there were dirty sheets with many insect parts. The pillows smelt badly. The general impression inside and out was of neglect. The place did not smell good. We had been asked to pay in advance and now I know why - people don't wish to stay here so they get out - that's what we did fortunately before parting with the cash requested.

Room Tip: Don't pay up front. Inspect for cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Highlanders2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

This is a comfortable, welcoming home rather than a motel, in a pleasant area that is full of good restaurants. The location of the house is wonderful, giving great views over the Bay. It is a good base for exploring San Francisco as the Bart station is only a mile away with good parking and rapid access into the city. The service that you get from Helen is extraordinary. For example she searched for maps and guides for what I wanted. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The dog was kept out of site. The fact that two of her other guests had stayed with her before is testimony that this is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

If you want air conditioning, flat screen TV and thermostatically controlled showers, this is not for you. If you want a real home, a great view and superb service, then pay a visit to Helen. She could not have been more helpful. For example I want to do some sightseeing so I followed her down in the car to the BART station and she showed me where to park. There was plenty of advice on what to see and where to eat. The house is from the 1920s set high on the hill overlooking the Bay. You can see the Golden Gate Bridge and watch the sun go down from the terrace. Though not en suite, the bathroom was next door and all mine. All in all, a great first few days in California. Don't be put off by some of the other reviews; they seem to have wanted something entirely impersonal and sterile.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jmcc150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Hostess was very friendly and helpful with suggestions for sights to see, maps etc.
She even stayed up late in the evening to greet us when our plane
was delayed three hours arriving after 11 pm.
Location is great for visiting the University; walk to the football stadium.
Always found street parking available.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6charles6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.9 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Shingle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Shingle Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Brown Shingle Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1514 La Loma At Cedar, Berkeley, CA 94708
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing