We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Brown Shingle Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 7 Berkeley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Brown Shingle B&B. The view is truly spectacular. We loved watching the city lights as we fell asleep, and waking up to see the sunlight on the Golden Gate Bridge. There is a homey atmosphere and we felt welcomed by our host, Helen (who also kindly sent us our phone and computer chargers, which we forgot in the room). The breakfasts are simple, and we usually ate in our room. Overall, our visit felt like a stay in an old house in the Berkeley Hills with a distant relative that I always wish I had.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophieshoreham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Helen was gracious, thorough, and accommodating to the point of guiding a choice of mystery novels from her huge collection. The B&B is clean, charming, and quintessential mid-century Berkeley Hills. We stayed in the large room with a view from the Oakland hills to Richmond -- the Bay and San Francisco were fascinating at any time of day, and the hit was watching the early morning sun progress over the city. A gem.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank ken g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Every once in a while, if you're lucky enough, you stumble across an unexpected little treasure. That perfectly describes The Brown Shingle and it's amazing owner, Helen. My son and I had come to Berkeley for the Cal-Ohio State football game with reservations at another B and B, only to discover that the owner had double booked our rooms, leaving us without any place to stay at 9:30 Friday night. I got on my phone, searched Google, and the Brown Shingle's name popped up, so I took a chance and called. Fortunately for us, Helen had just had two cancellations, and she welcomed us with open arms. Her home, where she's lived for fifty years, was warm and inviting. Our rooms were large and lovely, with breathtaking views of the bay, and each morning she had coffee ready and a delicious breakfast prepared. Everything was perfect, and Helen was a delight. We miss her already, and definitely will stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tmurpht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I suppose on the map it looks a little remote, but was actually very close to the UCB campus. It was a little tricky the first time I drove, because I had never driven in Berkeley, or on hills. But after the first time I was fine! The host could not have been more gracious and was an excellent cook, too. The views were indescribable and these photos do not do it justice. I almost did not want to leave the room to see the sights!

Room Tip: There are "3 rooms with private and shared baths." My room had a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Brown Shingle B&B. Like staying at your favorite relative's house. Helen is a great host, providing lots of advice for local to-dos. Don't miss the Botanical Gardens. Comfortable bed. Super views. Convenient location in Berkeley.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dmencarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We rented two rooms, for ourselves and our son, and both were clean, comfortable, spacious, and had a great view. The location is excellent: far enough up in the hills to have the view, yet close to the Cal campus and downtown Berkeley. We were very satisfied and would visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JIF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I stayed at Helen's house for two weeks, the place got good location, excellent rooms with the view of the bay, and the cherry on top of the cream was Helen the owner. She was very welcoming and help us when we need, even give us rides down to the BART station.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaAtia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.8 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
798 reviews
1.7 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
2.3 mi away
Channing Guest House
Channing Guest House
#3 of 7 in Berkeley
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#2 of 20 in Berkeley
1,401 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Shingle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Shingle Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1514 La Loma At Cedar, Berkeley, CA 94708
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley
Price Range: £65 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing