We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of FIVE

FIVE
Reserve with OpenTable
FIVE is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 691 Restaurants in Berkeley
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Shattuck
Transit: Bart: Downtown Berkeley stop
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Being that FIVE is close to Berkeley Rep, we decided to have dinner here before a performance. The decor is eye catching and the restaurant has a pleasant, airy ambiance. The tables have plenty of space between them so we weren’t hearing other people’s conversations as we dined, a rarity these days. Food presentation was very nice and everything was quite tasty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BandJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    64
    27
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice spot for pre-theatre brunch/lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

A good place to dine before a matinee performance at the Berkeley Rep. The room is airy and pleasant; the food and service are good+. The menu features classic dishes such as eggs Benedict, French toast, and pancakes - which we enjoyed, and it also has more creative dishes to choose from which we might try in the future. When we attend a matinee a the Berkeley Rep again, we'll be back for brunch and we hope to come for dinner also in the future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Conflicted Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The appearance of this restaurant, and first impression is good. However, it is misleading. The restaurant is located in the Hotel Shattuck in the center of Berkeley. Great location. On a recent visit, I sat at the bar, had breakfast, and also lunch. The bar was okay. The bartender seemed distracted, so service was not impressive. Breakfast was actually very good. It was early, and the restaurant was not crowded. Therefore, service was attentive and prompt. Lunch was a different story. At breakfast, we inquired if we would need a reservation for six to eight people for lunch. We were told no, to just show up. We were were unsure of the exact time we would arrive. Upon arrival, we were initially told there was no room for us if we did not have a reservation. However, the restaurant was less than three quarters full. We mentioned to the hostess that we were told no reservation was necessary because they were serving lunch all day long. Once she remembered us from breakfast, we were told a table would be set up, which it was. After being seated, and taking our orders, it took one hour to receive our food. The staff apologized, but what happens in the kitchen is out of their control. It is interesting to note that while they were serving lunch all day, there was a limited menu. Nothing complicated. Mostly burgers and salad. For some reason the kitchen was overwhelmed. Not sure what they would have done if the restaurant had been completely full. My point to all of this is Five attempts to be a big time restaurant, but is not. It looks good, but that is about it. The menu selection is minimal, nothing special, and the food is mediocre. Service is spotty.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"Five?" More like "Two!"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Mediocre food. Mediocre drinks. Mediocre service (at best). What is there to like?
Actually to like is the elegant design of the beautiful room in which this restaurant is installed. At first what a treat it seemed, finally to have a place in downtown Berkeley that is actually stylish.
Over time though “5” has not lived up to its look. The main problem is lack of consistency.
There seems to be a frequent turnover of staff, particularly at the bar and particularly at happy hour. Go one time and a given drink is made like this. Next time it is made like that. Just depends on who's there that day. And if you should complain about it or ask for a drink to be made in a particular way? Be prepared for a response somewhere between indifference and condescension, again depending on who’s on duty. The rules change all the time. You can’t know in advance.
What is consistent is that the people who work there are not very professional and don’t seem to have much experience, including the so-called managers. Instead expect a lot of youthful posturing and gesturing but not much real service.
Oh, and then there are the unannounced closures for private parties which foil everyone’s dinner plans. Loud people, loud music and the public is not welcome. No way to do business.
Food itself is ok, not great. We won’t go there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
382 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Mediocre but convenient to Berkeley Rep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

None of the entrees the four of us ordered were impressive. Food was bland but acceptable. Atmosphere is nice and the service was helpful. I would not recommend unless you have to be in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed FIVE also viewed

 

Been to FIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing