We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Big Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Arrived for a two night stay and at check-in changed to a one night stay. The front desk did this quickly and without any comment. We got a 2 Queen Suite which just means you get a sink, micro, fridge, and sleeper sofa in addition to the 2 queens. This made the room larger and the bathroom was good sized too. The beds were comfortable and the room seemed newly renovated. My only minor complaints are there are no complimentary shower caps and when my son asked the front desk for a complimentary razor, per their advertisement, we were told they were out. No sorry, just we're out.

The breakfast had a cool automatic pancake maker which was fun, but the eating area is small. The parking was free, but the area of town seemed a bit questionable, but maybe that's just Berkeley.

The exercise room was adequate. If I were to stay in Berkeley again, I would seriously consider returning, however, I'd more likely stay in one of the neighboring cities as I didn't feel safe walking around the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USTraveler0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here on 'points' earned through other stays. THe hotel has been remodeled and is very tastefully decorated. The rooms were lovely and had comfortable beds and updated baths. Internet was free as well as parking. They also give a free self serve breakfast which offered a lot of choices. It is located in a very ethnic part of town so it is convenient to Thai, Indian, and other restaurants. I would stay here again and find that you get good value for your money here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abudebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Great location, excellent service, very satisfied with staff and amenities.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I reserve this hotel twice a year for our 23-25 member Board of Directors when they come to Berkeley for their three day meeting. Vicky Chong and staff are outstanding in the service they provide. Our Board leaves happy and satisfied each visit. I will continue lodging our Board there twice yearly.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DVG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Check-in was great. Room was very good and clean. Breakfast was good.

All in all a wonderful experience.

It is a great place to stay.

All personnel were helpful and had a great attitude.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

My girlfriend and I were in town to see the Kevin Hart show in oakland, decided to stay up in Berkeley to avoid too much downtown oakland and booked this place through my IHG employee website. Finding the hotel was a bit of an adventure as its driveway is literally 10ft wide with buildings on both sides and it is situation on a one way street. once we finally negotiated our way into the parking lot we found the hotel a nice recently remoddeled building with very nice accomodations. The room we were in was great, spacious comfy king bed, 38inchish HD tv and a couch, table, kitchenette. The windows actually opened to let it some welcome ventilation and the bathroom was plenty spacious and stocked with toiletries. The following morning my girlfriend and I walked downstairs to find a wonderful breakfast bar with a really cool instant pancake machine. We enjoyed yogurt, pancakes, pastries, bacon and eggs. I suppose if I had any complaints there would be 2 and both would be considered very miniscule. 1) the elevator must be from 1960, it takes forever to go between floors, and calling it may take up to 10 minutes. My only other minor complaint would be the bathroom door closes automatically and the bathrooms lack a fan so after I took a shower my girlfriend found it to be a little bit of a wait before she could use the bathroom mirror for her make-up and hair. Other than those minor things the stay was exceptional and I look forward to staying there again when seeing a show in the Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mtfrazier89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Great for short business trips. Convienent to Berkeley. Reasonalble pricing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgtdjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,339 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#5 of 20 in Berkeley
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
1.9 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
791 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berkeley

Address: 1175 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: £114 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berkeley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Berkeley! We are located on University Avenue within walking distance of Downtown Berkeley and 1.7 Miles from Central UC Berkeley Campus. Enjoy performances & concerts at the Berkeley Greek Theater. Visit the Lawrence Hall of Science Center including the Idea Lab, NanoZone, and Real Astronomy Experience. Golden Gate Fields is where the Bay comes to play, offering live thoroughbred horse racing in a spectacular setting, just 2 short miles away. The University of California Botanical Garden features over 12,000 different kinds of plants from around the world on 34 acres. If you love chocolate as much as we do, don t miss touring Scharffen Berger Chocolate Makers, producers of the highest quality chocolate using vintage European equipment right here in Berkeley. For history buffs, don t miss the USS Hornet in Alameda. It s a one-of-a-kind experience you won t want to miss! Catch a Cal Golden Bears Game at Memorial Stadium. We are the most comfortable and convenient hotel headquarters to catch all the action! When it's time to relax, return to your spacious room at the Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel. Stay in touch while away from home with our complimentary high-speed Internet service. We also offer complimentary hot breakfast and free on-site parking. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Holiday Inn Berkeley
Berkeley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing