We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't walk in for a good deal.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We needed a room unexpected and walk in we were told $189.00 and it was the last room. On a Tuesday night are you kidding me! Staff was
pleasant. And it was also a handicap room. That part was nice. Room was fine but not for almost $200.00.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BitbyBourbonSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear BitbyBourbonSt,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I am pleased to know that you found our staff pleasant. I appreciate your comments as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. As for the rates, we strive to provide a competitive rate in the area. It is not our intent to inconvenient our guests instead provide rate options that make sense. Nevertheless, we appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention as this is our best resource in providing guest satisfaction.

Thank you for sharing your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

We love the value of Holiday Inn Express and try to book this hotel chain whenever we get a chance. This particular hotel was not as well maintained as the other Holiday Inns we have stayed in. The location to UC Berkeley was not as close as I thought it would be. It is still quite a drive to get to the main campus. The sidewalk outside the hotel had some construction going on so you had to walk on the busy street to get around it. A 99 Cents store is next door where we got some drinks and snacks. Although it is still a good value for your money, I would try other hotels on the main campus before staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We decided to see some friends in Oakland during our month long vacation to America. We booked this hotel a few days before our stay in the middle of August and paid over the odds for a room at a Holiday Inn Express. However I cannot fault the cleanliness of the rooms, the efficient receptionist, free and plentiful parking and an adequate buffet breakfast. The location worked really well for us. If you are visiting Berkeley I would recommend staying here but just book in advance!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tina01_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

It is indeed clean, and the decor is tasteful. The bed was comfortable. It's nothing special, though. The breakfast food is average to below average, the pre-made "omelettes" inedible. It's primary sales point is its price, which, for what one gets, is a good value. Perhaps also its location, which is in between UC Berkeley and the marina. The neighborhood is not inviting but doesn't feel unsafe. It is not close to a BART station. There was some construction going on next door when we were there.. Overall, for the price, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

It's clean, it's comfortable, and the rooms are updated. Tasteful décor (no awful floral bedspreads!) with granite countertops, large flatscreen TV, good-sized mini fridge and microwave. Breakfast choices are cereal, bagels, toast, muffins, cinnamon buns, pre-made omelettes, sausage, biscuits w/sausage gravy, pancakes, bananas, oatmeal, three kinds of juice, coffee, milk, yogurt and hard-boiled eggs. There's plenty of seating and food was replenished and freshened attentively. All of the staff over our weeklong visit were friendly and helpful in a quiet way.
I'm used to a very soft bed (sleep number 45) so this bed seemed hard to me, but it's of good quality and has good padding. Comes with a down comforter encased in sheets and a blanket, with four pillows of varying firmness (marked soft, medium, firm). There is a moderate amount of footstep noise if you're on one of the two lower floors, I'm a light sleeper and didn't find it bothersome. Saw plenty of kids when we went down to breakfast, but didn't hear them at all when in our room.
The neighborhood is a little gritty and has pan-Asian shops and restaurants (Indian, Thai, Afghan) all within the block but doesn't feel unsafe. If you prefer the disneyfied tourist-sanitized version you'll find it at the far end of the street near the bay, but I'll take a real neighborhood any day.

Room Tip: As at any hotel, book the top floor if you will mind footstep noise.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveNPs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The room was clean and quiet (but the carpet was stained, including a large stain near the nightstand). A short drive to the marina or CAL. Breakfast was not very good, but it's free. The woman at the desk was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sierra8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I recently travelled to Berkeley with my 12 year old son to attend a concert at the Greek Theater. Not knowing anything about the area, we picked this hotel based on reviews and price. It was a very nice hotel right in the downtown area. The surrounding area looked a little shady, but that is just the way it goes in any downtown. Check in was prompt and courteous. Lobby is very welcoming. We found the room to be bright, which we liked. That is very different from the other Holiday Inn Express locations that I have stayed at. Most of them look like a dungeon. This was a nice suprise. Room was clean, beds were very comfortable. They had Dish network which offered a great number of channels to choose from. Free Wifi was available as well. The hotel looked like it was full, but we heard no noise at all. Had a very peaceful nights rest. Breakfast the next morning was not the best, but there were certainly many choices to choose from, so neither of us went hungry.

I would definitely recommend this to family & friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3farmboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,311 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
785 reviews
2.7 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
1.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berkeley

Address: 1175 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: £128 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berkeley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Berkeley! We are located on University Avenue within walking distance of Downtown Berkeley and 1.7 Miles from Central UC Berkeley Campus. Enjoy performances & concerts at the Berkeley Greek Theater. Visit the Lawrence Hall of Science Center including the Idea Lab, NanoZone, and Real Astronomy Experience. Golden Gate Fields is where the Bay comes to play, offering live thoroughbred horse racing in a spectacular setting, just 2 short miles away. The University of California Botanical Garden features over 12,000 different kinds of plants from around the world on 34 acres. If you love chocolate as much as we do, don t miss touring Scharffen Berger Chocolate Makers, producers of the highest quality chocolate using vintage European equipment right here in Berkeley. For history buffs, don t miss the USS Hornet in Alameda. It s a one-of-a-kind experience you won t want to miss! Catch a Cal Golden Bears Game at Memorial Stadium. We are the most comfortable and convenient hotel headquarters to catch all the action! When it's time to relax, return to your spacious room at the Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel. Stay in touch while away from home with our complimentary high-speed Internet service. We also offer complimentary hot breakfast and free on-site parking. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Holiday Inn Berkeley
Berkeley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing