We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean modern and fairly cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Rooms have been recently refurbished and offered good working facilities. Bed was comfortable and clean. The lift is unbelievably slow. Breakfast was the normal HI Express one which is fine. There are a couple of good bars and restaurants in the area. Overall a good stay for a business trip.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Convenient location in Berkeley, albeit on very busy stretch of University Av. About 1 1/2 miles from downtown. Above average breakfast. Comfortable room and bed. Very clean. Friendly staff. And free parking. Some fast food and small restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The staff was very friendly. The room was immaculate. The furnishings were all modern and updated. Breakfast was very good, with plenty of space to eat. There was free parking. We will use this hotel again when we are back in town!

Room Tip: We were too close to the elevator, and the ice machine was located right outside our room. Next tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Albequerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hotel was clean, friendly staff, good breakfast, and had a comfortable bed! The front desk was nice enough to hold our luggage for a full day since we had to head to San Francisco early in the morning after arrival, so it was a relief that they went above and beyond to do that for us.

The bathroom, however, was miserable. There is no vent in there, and since the door does not stay open on its own and you would have to prop it open, it got very steamy after a shower. The sink did not drain right, and they couldn't seem to fix it, so we had to use water sparingly or otherwise have it filling up quickly. There is no towel bar, just two tiny hooks on the back of the door. And after we came back one day, there was no towels, and we were rushing to each take showers and head back out. I had to go to the front desk, and they said the maid "has her own way of doing things" where she collects all the towels from the floor, then goes back and puts fresh towels in there when she's done cleaning. Sounds like she needs to find a new way of doing things, it was quite an annoyance for us, and surely we're not the only ones who've had that happen...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 914RachelH914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear 914RachelH914,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at our property. It is good to know that the breakfast served suited your liking as well as the service received. However, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused by the condition of the bathroom facility. Your comments are important to us as this will continuously help us improve to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Again, we appreciate your review and hope you can give us another opportunity to host you again and make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This cosy hotel was very sufficient for a nighttime base for our California vacation. The room was clean and the front desk staff was courteous and helpful. The breakfast was always good with a variety of hot items and pastries and cereal. The parking was in front of the inn and was free. Free parking is a rare thing in California.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 156lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We needed a room unexpected and walk in we were told $189.00 and it was the last room. On a Tuesday night are you kidding me! Staff was
pleasant. And it was also a handicap room. That part was nice. Room was fine but not for almost $200.00.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BitbyBourbonSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear BitbyBourbonSt,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I am pleased to know that you found our staff pleasant. I appreciate your comments as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. As for the rates, we strive to provide a competitive rate in the area. It is not our intent to inconvenient our guests instead provide rate options that make sense. Nevertheless, we appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention as this is our best resource in providing guest satisfaction.

Thank you for sharing your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We love the value of Holiday Inn Express and try to book this hotel chain whenever we get a chance. This particular hotel was not as well maintained as the other Holiday Inns we have stayed in. The location to UC Berkeley was not as close as I thought it would be. It is still quite a drive to get to the main campus. The sidewalk outside the hotel had some construction going on so you had to walk on the busy street to get around it. A 99 Cents store is next door where we got some drinks and snacks. Although it is still a good value for your money, I would try other hotels on the main campus before staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.2 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#2 of 20 in Berkeley
1,423 reviews
1.9 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
1.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#5 of 20 in Berkeley
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berkeley

Address: 1175 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: £112 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berkeley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Berkeley! We are located on University Avenue within walking distance of Downtown Berkeley and 1.7 Miles from Central UC Berkeley Campus. Enjoy performances & concerts at the Berkeley Greek Theater. Visit the Lawrence Hall of Science Center including the Idea Lab, NanoZone, and Real Astronomy Experience. Golden Gate Fields is where the Bay comes to play, offering live thoroughbred horse racing in a spectacular setting, just 2 short miles away. The University of California Botanical Garden features over 12,000 different kinds of plants from around the world on 34 acres. If you love chocolate as much as we do, don t miss touring Scharffen Berger Chocolate Makers, producers of the highest quality chocolate using vintage European equipment right here in Berkeley. For history buffs, don t miss the USS Hornet in Alameda. It s a one-of-a-kind experience you won t want to miss! Catch a Cal Golden Bears Game at Memorial Stadium. We are the most comfortable and convenient hotel headquarters to catch all the action! When it's time to relax, return to your spacious room at the Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel. Stay in touch while away from home with our complimentary high-speed Internet service. We also offer complimentary hot breakfast and free on-site parking. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Holiday Inn Berkeley
Berkeley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing