We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I was looking for a more upscale hotel in Berkeley but everything was sold out, so I reluctantly booked this Holiday Inn. It was a nice surprise...not a lot of frills, but the room was very large, clean and comfortable. Convenient free parking was a plus. With tax, very expensive for this category of hotel (almost $500 for 2 nights), but that's Berkeley. While this wouldn't be my first choice in the area I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank luxurytraveler1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent one night at this hotel whilst in town dropping our son off for a summer program at UC Berkeley. Based on the reviews I'd read here, I had a pretty good idea of what to expect, and wasn't surprised: an older hotel, reasonably clean and definitely in need of some updating. The rooms were smaller and less nicely appointed than in other Holiday Inns I've stayed in, but with the basic amenities one expects in this chain: free wifi, breakfast, and reasonable service. As in most Holiday Inns, our room had a small kitchenette area ( micro, bar sink, coffee maker, refrigerator) and a small sofa as well as two queen beds. It was smaller than rooms we were used to on the East Coast, but adequate. The complimentary breakfast was typical and fairly ok, ( pancakes, coffee, juice, biscuits, pre-cooked 'cheese' omelette, yogurt, cereal) but the breakfast area was quite small and cramped, both for getting breakfast and seating. What convinced us to stay here was the free parking- rare in Berkeley - which most other hotels in the area do not provide - or provide for an additional $40-$60 or more per night. The neighborhood seemed a little iffy but after walking around, we determined that it was typical for that part of Berkeley and not really dangerous. Check-in and checkout were reasonable and efficient, and although the staff were not particularly outgoing or friendly, they were not rude, either. The price for one weeknight was about $200 after taxes, which is high for other parts of the country considering what you got, but is the norm for the area, so you won't get much better for the price. If you are looking for a basic, no-frills accommodation with breakfast, free wifi, and free parking, this is a clean, safe, budget- and family-friendly hotel in this cost bracket- but don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnBerkeley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Carolyne O,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your recent stay with us. Your valuable feedback will aid us in making future improvements to our guest's experience. I hope that we will see you again if your travels bring you back to UC Berkeley.

Regards,
Greg Liversedge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Honestly, given the excellent reviews that this hotel received we felt alright booking a stay at the Holiday Inn Express Berkeley. However, our stay was far from what I'd call excellent. To start, we ended up with a room near the elevator, which was exceptionally loud. We've been near elevators in other hotels before, but this one was just awful. Every time the elevator moved there was a loud thud, and the doors made a scraping noise every time they opened or closed.
The property itself is showing its (older) age. While stuff has been refreshed, the carpets are still worn and stained. Our restroom was in acceptable condition, but the rest of the room felt drab and old. The bed was ridiculously bad! Not only was it hard as a rock, but the springs were jamming into our backs. The beds are unacceptably bad, especially for a Holiday Inn Express which usually tends to have good quality beds throughout the chain (we've stayed at nearly 30 properties in various regions and none had beds this terrible). The window allowed a lot of street noise into the room, which was somewhat remedied by running the fan on the air conditioner to drown it out.
The staff seemed bored and unprofessional. Upon entering the lobby, they were usually sitting around the breakfast area or on their cell phones. When our smoke detector started chirping in the middle of the night, the front desk's solution was to give me a ladder and have me take the detector down and remove the battery, as the lady looked too overwhelmed to call someone or handle this herself (that's right, I was given a 6 foot ladder to take up to my room, where I was instructed to remove the battery to disable the detector for the night). I was told it would be fixed the next morning, but it sat there un-attended to for the remaining 3 days of our stay.
For the price they charge, I guess the hotel is adequate. East bay area hotels are expensive and most are in poor neighborhoods. This property fits the bill for being in a not so great neighborhood, but the price is right. I just wish they'd take care of that horrible elevator noise and replace those beds! A bit more professionalism wouldn't hurt either. We will be back in the area at least once more on business and we'll seek other accommodations in the future, even if it costs a bit more. This hotel just misses on too many easy-to-fix things.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JoshandIssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnBerkeley, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Joshandlssa,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I'm very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Although your comments are not of the variety that we enjoy hearing we will use them as an opportunity to make improvements and recognize areas of concern.

Once again thank you providing feedback.

Regards,
Greg Liversedge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We arrived much earlier than expected and although we were too early to check-in the receptionist was very helpful and gave us a lot of good local information and pointed us to the Bay Street shopping centre where we got ourselves a nice meal.
The breakfast's were very good and the donuts were especially popular with our sons.
With close access to the BART this was a good base for us the explore San Francisco and to catch a game of baseball at the Oakland A's

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnBerkeley, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Sam M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites, Berkeley. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our service and breakfast. We hope that when you return the Bay Area we will be your first choice for accommodations.

Regards,
Greg Liversedge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had to make the last minute reservation to stay at this hotel due to our kitchen remodel. We stayed there for three nights and were pleased with it. It is close to a coin laundry place, a decent Thai restaurant and a great burger joint. The room was pretty big, had a small kitchenette, and everything worked. Their breakfast was pretty good, and the dining area was kept clean.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank kimsusun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Hotel is about a mile from UCB. Room was large and clean and the beds were great. Has ample free parking and the standard free breakfast. We have stayed at other hotels in the Berkeley area and to date have found this to be the best for the price.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Larry192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for graduation because it is right on the bus line 51. We could park for free and ride the bus to campus. The rooms were comfortable and good size. Breakfast had a good assortment of foods. Hot and cold. Fruit and good coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ackart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnBerkeley, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear ackart,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to submit this review. We are always striving to be better here at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Berkeley. We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and found the room comfortable. Hopefully we will see you at the hotel again in the near future.

Raj Kaler
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.2 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#2 of 20 in Berkeley
1,423 reviews
1.9 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
1.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#5 of 20 in Berkeley
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berkeley

Address: 1175 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: £112 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berkeley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Berkeley! We are located on University Avenue within walking distance of Downtown Berkeley and 1.7 Miles from Central UC Berkeley Campus. Enjoy performances & concerts at the Berkeley Greek Theater. Visit the Lawrence Hall of Science Center including the Idea Lab, NanoZone, and Real Astronomy Experience. Golden Gate Fields is where the Bay comes to play, offering live thoroughbred horse racing in a spectacular setting, just 2 short miles away. The University of California Botanical Garden features over 12,000 different kinds of plants from around the world on 34 acres. If you love chocolate as much as we do, don t miss touring Scharffen Berger Chocolate Makers, producers of the highest quality chocolate using vintage European equipment right here in Berkeley. For history buffs, don t miss the USS Hornet in Alameda. It s a one-of-a-kind experience you won t want to miss! Catch a Cal Golden Bears Game at Memorial Stadium. We are the most comfortable and convenient hotel headquarters to catch all the action! When it's time to relax, return to your spacious room at the Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel. Stay in touch while away from home with our complimentary high-speed Internet service. We also offer complimentary hot breakfast and free on-site parking. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Holiday Inn Berkeley
Berkeley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing