We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This is a great little hotel. Got to town exhausted and was happy to have a hot shower in a very clean bathroom. It was really cold when I got to town and I was revlied that the heating system was easy to use (flip the cover on the vent and hit the up and down arrows). My room heated up quickly. A cool thing about this place is that you can't really see it from the street. The driveway is all that you see until you turn onto it, and there is the hotel. Continental breakfast was great. Coffee, juice (both really good), had English muffins but they also had cold cereal, frozen waffles, fruit and yogurt. They also accomodated me when I needed to stay an extra night. Everyone I spoke with was very nice. Would gladly recommend this place and visit again.

Room Tip: Call a week ahead. The place was booked on Saturday night. I was close to the Office, which I think...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiran T, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

It is great to hear your room was "very clean", you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, and found your room heated up "quickly". Thank you for the wonderful review and recommending the Berkeley Rodeway Inn. We will be looking forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Berkeley Rodeway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

First, I must declare that I used mileage points at booking, so I didn't "pay" in the traditional sense (we all pay in some form even when utilizing awarded miles, right?). The place is definitely a 'budget category", but having said that, i can strongly recommend it due to its clean rooms, super clean bathrooms and convenience of decent sized refrigerator, microwave and breakfast served at the lobby. The extra touch? The flowers and landscaping with a bubbling fountain make it above average in my book. Easy in and out for exploring the area, good parking. WiFi was up and down, but that didn't bother me, i wasn't there to play online games!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms away from the street, they will be more quiet. There is a Trader Joe's about 4...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pvblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiran T, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for letting us know you found your room clean and bathroom "super clean", the landscaping "above average" and the 'good parking" while staying at the Berkeley Rodeway Inn. Come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We booked here because my wife was attending a workshop at Berkeley. This placed offered all we needed: comfortable bed, refrigerator, free wifi, a microwave for heating tea water, a small but adequate bathroom, and hanging space for clothes. It was very well priced and was exceptionally clean. It was a 30 minute walk to downtown Berkeley, but a bus also drove down the road. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, and their small office was the inclusive breakfast area, where 3 tables were set up, and juice, yoghurt, pre-packed cereals, toast, pastries, coffee and tea were provided. All utensils were disposable to keep costs low, but the breakfast was more than adequate. Even though the motel faced the main street, we did not hear a thing. It more than suited our purpose.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiran T, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

We are happy to hear that you found the Berkeley Rodeway Inn "very well priced", your bed comfortable, our complimentary breakfast "more than adequate", and the front desk staff "very friendly and helpful." Thank you for the wonderful review and for staying with us while in Berkeley. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This is a good value motel in a very pricey San Francisco area.
- 10 minute distance on foot from North Berkeley BART station.
- about 20-30 minutes to downtown Berkeley if you walk.
- hygienic supplies were better than what may be expected at a rodeway inn.
- wifi was okay.
- breakfast was minimal, no hot food other than a toaster.
- asked for a razor and was turned away.
- i did not hear much street noise in the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiran T, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

We are happy to hear you found the Berkeley Rodeway Inn a "good value", the toiletries "better than expected" and did not hear much street noise. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

The Bay Area in general is pricey for hotels, and Berkeley is no exception. We were visiting family in immediately adjacent Oakland for a 3-day weekend at the end of January 2013. My searches of affordable lodging was pretty bleak -- beware the extra charges for parking at most places, including valet-only parking at some. I was pleased to find Rodeway conveniently close and with free parking. Some of the reviews were dodgey, so we had some reservations prior to arriving. We needen't have worried. Although an old facility, it is very well maintained, allegedly remodeled about 5 years ago. It's a traditional 50's motel, one story, with all rooms arranged in a square "U" facing the parking courtyard. The parking spaces were generously sized, so no fears of door dings. The rooms use keycard access and all have a window that faces the courtyard. The window is screened and can be opened if you wish. A combo through-the-wall heater/AC unit resides below the window. Ours was an effective heater and reasonably quiet. Didn't try the AC as the temps were in the 50's. We had 3 adults in our party so we got a room with two beds. The rooms are adequate, but small, so the beds were doubles, not queens. The mattress was adequate, but nothing to write home about. I have to say, the amenities were better than many higher-end facilities we have stayed in, including the Hyatt Regency in S.F. For example, the 32" flat-screen actually was hooked up to a high-definition cable feed. The Hyatt offered only an analog feed, which put a lousy stretched picture on view. Rodeway's also offered five HBO channels in addition to a full lineup of local and cable programs. The WIFi is free and worked. No blazing speed, but certainly adequate to check emails or Google up a map or two. In addition to the 2 beds, there was a stuffed chair to sit in, and a good-sized desk. The toilet and tub are in a separate room, with the sink outside it in an anteroom. This space is shared by a good-sized refrigerator which is topped by a microwave. Lighting in the room was exceptionally good, with twin lights by the beds, another on the wall, another on the desk. Hot water was almost instantaneous and never flagged. However, the water pressure at the shower head was pretty meager. No jolting spray here, more like a soft rain shower. Still, it did the job. There's the usual assortment of soaps, shampoos, and conditioners. Either we had quiet neighbors or the walls are well-insulated, as things were quiet all night. The room was spotlessly clean. I tried to find some fault in the bathroom, as that is often dicey in budget accommodations, but couldn't find anything to criticize. They are doing a fine job in this regard. Complementary breakfast is offered each morning in the office. There are only 3 small 2-person tables, so you have to eat in shifts, standing up, or back in your room. That said, this didn't seem to be a problem for the guests. They offer five varieties of cold cereals, orange and cranberry juices, bread and Thomas Bros. english muffins for toasting, cellophane-wrapped pastries, waffles (frozen) in the fridge, and regular/decaf coffee. No fruits. We took advantage of this two mornings, and were quite pleased. We had a lively discussion with some other guests, who were multiple-repeat visitors and voiced the opinion that this was the best deal around. We stayed Fri-Sat-Sun, and paid, with taxes, $291 for the three nights. That's about half the price of what we found elsewhere when we were looking online. Given the great location and the ease of parking, we highly recommend the Rodeway Inn. Just don't expect anything fancy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Houn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiran T, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

It is a pleasure to hear you found the Berkeley Rodeway Inn amenities "better than higher-end" hotels, quite, great location, your room "spotlessly" clean and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. Thank you for the wonderful review and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I was very satisfied with this Rodeway Inn and I'm picky when comes to where I stay. Good price, room had minor wear & tear, but clean, no funny smells, good wi-fi, liked that property was off street a bit, parking is in middle, rooms surround parking lot. Property is well maintained. Guy checking us in was nice and helpful. Area was nice, lots of different types of eateries and coffee shops, easy access to freeways to get into SF. Some local restaurants have been on Diner-Drive Ins-Dives, check out Rudys Cant Fail cafe in Emmeryville great food! BART is easy to use and close by.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirilo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
presidioinn, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

It is great to hear you were "very satisfied" with the Berkeley Rodeway Inn. Thank you for letting us know your room was clean, had good Wi-Fi, and the area "nice". We will be sure to pass your nice comment about the person that checked you in on to the front desk manager. Thank you for staying with us while visiting Berkeley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This motel is clean and the service is wonderful. Some of the furniture is older, and some in need of repair, but the staff is terrific and will help with any problem you have. There are steps involved to get the the tier of rooms, but they have installed a small wheel-chair elevator to solve any mobility problems. The free breakfast is cold cereal, health bars and coffee. All rooms face a center court, which, although it is the parking lot, is quite lovely. There is a small area with picnic tables and palm plantings with a fountain in the center of the lot. Flowers are in planters attached to the white-wood rails in front of the rooms. They plant roses, hibiscus and petunias. There are also palm plantings at various places as well as two palm and fountain area on either side of the entrance. Additionally, there is a terrific Thai restaurant right next door which delivers to the rooms. We have stayed here multiple times and always enjoyed the experience. The price is also right!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
presidioinn, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

We are happy to hear you found the Berkeley Rodeway Inn "clean", the service "wonderful", and our grounds "lovely". Thank you for staying with us again, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,311 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
785 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
342 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Rodeway Inn

Address: 1461 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1508 (Formerly Berkeley Travel Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: £111 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Berkeley Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Berkeley Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Berkeley
Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing