We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 3 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent 3 star hotel”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

As long as you know what type of place you are staying at, you will not be disappointed. The Rodeway inn is what I would consider as the typical US motel where you park your car in front of your room. However, the rooms are clean, the bed is comfortable, the shower and the heating work well. It is a 5 minute walk from the North Berkeley BART station and a 20 minute walk to downtown Berkeley. Also, the breakfast is quite nice (cereal, good coffee, good orange juice, apples, frozen french toast and waffles, toasts). It is not luxurious, but for it is great value. The guy at the front desk was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank luimart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Lumiart,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rodeway Inn while traveling to Berkeley. We are pleased that you found our accommodations comfortable and clean and enjoyed our continental breakfast. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    131
    67
    19
    17
See reviews for
91
63
55
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The first time I stayed at the Rodeway Inn was wonderful. The room was clean and I really enjoyed my stay. Fast forward 6 months and I grabbed the last room available. What a disappointment! The room was on the street side and had not been renovated. It smelled of mildew and some sort of noxious plastic. It was so bad I couldn't sleep but there were no other rooms.

Room Tip: My suggestion is to book early and ask for a room near the office and away from the street. Once the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear A.O,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Berkeley Rodeway Inn on a second visit. We are displeased that you were unhappy with your accommodations on this stay. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Not many frills here, but a solid, affordable, clean motel with a very helpful and courteous staff. The breakfast bar was adequate, and the coffee was excellent! I was impressed how quiet the room was, given the fact that the motel is sited on University Ave., a major Berkeley street. The flowers and planting in the parking lot were a nice touch, and well-maintained. The parking lot itself was ultra-clean, as well. A nice bonus---just next door was an excellent Thai restaurant, and within 2-3 blocks were equally wonderful Indian, Italian, and other restaurants. Finally, I happened to lodge here on the weekend of Cal/Berkeley homecoming---I was braced for extra-high rates then; they were a bit higher, but certainly not outrageous.

Hal H.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerryama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Jerryama,

Thank you for choosing the Berkeley Rodeway Inn for your stay. We are pleased that you were comfortable with your room and amenities and that you enjoyed the various options for dining surrounding our Motel. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your 5 star review! We hope to welcome you back on a future trip to Berkeley.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vashon Island, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a visit to Berkeley and to see family. We were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and pleasant area surrounding the parking lot with hanging baskets and roses still growing in November. (We're from Seattle) The bed was very comfortable, the room was a good size for two and we were not walking into each other or climbing over each other to get to the rest room. The Manager? Owner? was friendly and helpful in every way. The breakfast was much more than is usual in a motel atmosphere. Healthy bread, yogurt, cereal, English muffins, and more and great coffee. (Again, we're from Seattle.) We stayed for three days and have zero complaints. We're thrilled to have found this jewel and plan to stay for our next visit to Berkeley. Thank you Rodeway Inn management for giving us a perfect experience. AND FREE PARKING

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vashonbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear vashonbarb,

Thank you choosing to stay at the Rodeway Inn during your recent visit to Berkeley. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, amenities and breakfast selection
Thank you for your comments and 5 star review. We welcome your feedback and look forward to your next visit from Seattle!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I have been in this hotel before during previous vacations. Nothing really changed. It's not the most luxury accomodation but it's at a good price. The rooms are quite clean and have everything you need if you're just staying for the night and discovering Berkeley and SF during the day. I love the fact that there is a bART station a few blocks away so you can get into SF without any problem. Service is friendly and check-in and check-out were efficient.

If you want to have a good coffee and breakfast with some fresh pastry or other delicious treats I can recommend Fellini just around the corner of the hotel.

Room Tip: Have a room away from the street in the middle of the property which is more quiet and not close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerhardvN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear GerhardvN,

Welcome back and thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rodeway Inn for your visit to the Bay Area. We are glad your stay was clean, convenient and everything you needed. We hope to welcome you back on a future visit to Berkeley.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is a little surprise! An ultra clean, well-run property, conveniently located to the centre of Berkeley, and quiet. Flower baskets hang from verandah posts and are well tended - yet another sign that the managements takes presentation seriously. One of the day managers, Mr Raj, a quiet but efficient man has his finger on the pulse of his charge. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom beyond reproach, the audio-visuals excellent with HBO, free wifi, and modest breakfast facilities were a boon. The North Berkeley BART station is a short walk away. After a two night stay, I recommend this property as a great place for reasonable value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meath_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Meath_C,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rodeway Inn during your business trip. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the Inn to be “Clean, convenient, quiet”. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Rodeway Inn on you next trip to Berkeley.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at Rodeway for two nights in early October. We were there to see our son who attends university there and take in a college football game. I've stayed at other area hotels previously but they were all booked up this weekend. So our first stay at this motel.

The grounds and staff are pleasant enough. I've been to Berkeley enough times now to know that hotel prices are ridiculous on football weekends. This was no exception. This motel is in the old motor court fashion. The motel surrounds a parking area. One nice feature of this hotel is it is all one story. So no one is keeping you awake from above. The room is quiet.

Problem areas:
Breakfast area - It's in a small area located within the lobby. Simple enough. Problem is that people hover over their toast and God knows what else and thereby it doesn't allow others to get their grub and go. Must wait. An annoyance.
Beds - Our beds had noticeable craters at their centers. Really bad. The beds, at least in our room, must be replaced. More than annoying.
Smell - The owners must have their living quarters behind our room. The smell of curry and oil emanating into our room was quite strong. Unbelievable.

Unless I know for certain that these things have been cleaned up, I won't be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Steve U,

Thank you staying with us at the Rodeway Inn in Berkeley and taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay. It is disappointing to hear that you were not completely comfortable with your accommodations. We are reviewing your comments about your stay so that we may better serve our guests. We hope that if you are in the Berkeley area in the future you will give us another chance.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,247 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
374 reviews
1.5 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#16 of 20 in Berkeley
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Rodeway Inn

Property: Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Address: 1461 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1508 (Formerly Berkeley Travel Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Berkeley Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Berkeley Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Berkeley
Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing