We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dencet Stay in Berkley, CA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed 24 September 2008

Just stayed at the Rodeway Inn in Berkley, CA. Had a late flight into Oakland from the East Coast and only needed a place to crash for the night before heading to Napa area. The check in process was easy. Our room was clean and comfy and that is all that we really needed.

The Inn is set up like a motel with the rooms being directly accessible from the parking lot. This was not a saftey concern for us, but if you are a light sleeper you may hear cars coming and going during the night.

In the morning they have a "continental" breakfast starting at 630am with juice (orange, cranberry), milk, bananas, and some danish. We took a cup of juice and some bananas for sustanance later on. They also had free copies of USAToday at the desk.

This hotel is VERY close to the UC Berkley campus.

There we a lot of restaurants in the area. We didn't check in until around 10pm and the Mexican restaurant across the street was still open.

Lastly we booked through Expedia and had no issues with our reservation being received. All went smoothly.

Over all we had a very positive experience here.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hubbyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2008

I live in South Africa and had to find a place to stay for 6 days in the San Francisco area, so I decided to go with this hotel based on the number of positive reviews. Fortunately, all the positive reviews turned out to be true:
a) Location: Only 2 blocks from the BART, so you can easily catch the train into San Francisco. There are also many restaurants in the area to choose from.(lots of chinese, thai, italian type of restaurants)
b) Room: Very clean and is geared towards self catering, which means that you can save quite a bit of money if you buy your food(and beer) from a supermarket instead of going to one of the restaurants.
c) Area: Berkeley is areally nice area due to it being a 'university town'. There are lots of small shops and restaurants to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic_du_Plessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

Stayed for 8 nights here and every day was pleasant indeed, especially so for my last night there.

Was there for my daughter's enrolment to UC Berkeley and even though she has a comfortable room at the dorm she stayed with us every night for she too loves it,

Not only are the staffs there friendly and polite, I too noticed that the guests are always smilling and often greets each other especially during the morning breakfast at the lobby. Seems everybody is happy and had a good sleep.

No need to mention the room and bathroom, they are excellent.
The spacious carpark compound facing all rooms is clean and uncluttered. This place is definitely well maintained.

I wish to complement on the two persons I often meet at the reception - excellent work attitude, always trying to make your stay comfortable.

And lastly, many thanks to Mr. Desai, general manager (and owner?), for helping my daughter to have a comfortable sleep at her university dormitory. It seems there was a delay in her order for the pillows, bedsheets, etc from the uni, and Mr. Desai gladly loans her 2 bedsheets. This was during my last night stay. I am truly touched by his good nature to help his guests. I have met him only once.

Thanks again for a pleasant and cosy stay indeed.

with regards,
Sim Thiam Kwee & Neo Lay Khim
( from Singapore )

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

We just returned from a trip that started in Jackson Hole, Wyoming and ended in Los Angeles, we stayed at many different motels/hotels.. everything from a Motel 6 to a Four Seasons. We stayed at the Rodeway Inn in Berekely for four nights, and it was our favorite place of all the places we stayed. The location was excellent; our son is student at UC Berkeley and it is right down the street. The rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable with refrigerators and microwaves. There was a free breakfast with far more than the coffee and donuts other places offer-- cereals, waffles, english muffins, yogurt, etc. The service was excellent, the front desk people were more than willing to help you with directions or any other questions you might have. There is free parking and a computer at the front desk available for guests to use. I would definitely reccomend this for anyone visisting students in Berekeley. It was also close to the BART which gets you into San Francisco in about twenty minutes. On weekends, anyhow, there is plenty of free parking at the station, although it is a very short walk to the motel. This is a reasonably priced find and we hightly reccomend it!

Stayed: August 2008
Thank ctg280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2008

This was a great alternative to the high priced hotels in San Francisco. The BART station is a 5 minute walk. Its a 1/2 hour trip to Embarcadero Station in SF. The room was a bit small but was very clean. No noise at night. The front desk was very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was perfect for us (a little coffee, a little cereal and a toasted bagel). Parking was no problem. I'd come back for sure!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BSouliere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2008

This is the best budgeted hotel I've stayed in throughout my roadtrip across California! It exceeded my expectations in every way. It was obvious it had been newly remodeled, and I think they did a pretty good job! Free parking (we never had any trouble finding a space), free breakfast and juices, free wireless internet, and a new flatscreen TV to top it off! The room was a little small but that's no big problem...At least the bed was very comfy! There was also a very good size refrigerator and a microwave in each room.

It was difficult for us to find a decent place near the Berkeley campus at a reasonable price, so I'm glad we found the Rodeway Inn. It's right on University so there is easy access to the UC campus. There's a grocery store right across the street, and several restaurants within walking distance. Great place when you're on a budget!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rachelvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2008

Located walking distance to CAL. Computer and breakfast room in the lobby. Clean, free parking, recently remodeled.
I would stay here again as my 1st choice in Berkeley.
This motel that exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ready29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,378 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#5 of 20 in Berkeley
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.5 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Rodeway Inn

Address: 1461 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1508 (Formerly Berkeley Travel Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: £70 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Berkeley Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Berkeley Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Berkeley
Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing