We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel. Great Value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed 6 November 2009

I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Rodeway Inn in Berkeley. The rooms were clean and quiet. The bathrooms were very nice. Nicer than some more expensive hotels. The service at the front desk was very good. Even the free breakfast included yogurt, English muffins, raisin toast, bananas. Something for everyone. I was with a group of 13 people and everyone was happy with their accommodations. There was one computer for public use and the staff person even printed out someone's boarding pass for free. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSCNewton_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2009

This is a no frills great value motel. It was clean very comfortable & although the rooms were a little small it met our our purposes very well. The continental breakfast buffett was good with some choices & good coffee. I would go back & be happy to send my friends & family there too.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LevinsonGedera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Rodeway Inns are not usually the first places I look to stay when traveling, but, choices in Berkeley are somewhat limited. I went by the reviews of other travelers, and must say that this little place is a pleasant find.

Set back from the street in a not-very-attractive part of town, the Rodeway Inn is a nicely updated, pretty little place. Our room had a king-sized bed, fridge and microwave, desk, comfy chair with ottoman, and, though a little small, was perfectly fine for our six-night stay while visiting family nearby. The bathroom was a little snug, but had a good shower, beautiful granite tiles, and excellent towels. Our bed was very comfortable. I wish there was an iron and ironing board, but you can borrow one from the front desk. Everything was completely spotless. The free wireless internet was a little spotty and worked best in one corner of our room. There is a small guest laundry room; the staff member at the front desk wouldn't let me pay for detergent!

The staff was always pleasant, and the breakfast adequate (frozen waffles and french toast, english muffins, cereal assortment, several juices, yogurt, granola bars, fruit) though the breakfast room itself is very small, with only three little tables for two. However, there are trays provided so that you can take your food back to the room.

There is a wonderful Thai restaurant directly in front of the motel, a good market across the street with a bank inside, a very popular little organic coffee/pastry shop next door, and - best of all - the North Berkley BART station just two blocks (5 minutes walk, max) north.

It's not in a great-looking neighborhood, but we felt perfectly safe at all times. It's an easy 15-20 minute walk to the Berkeley campus, and a good selection of wonderful restaurants near the University. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dixieagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Rodeway in Berkeley when visiting for a concert at the Greek Theater (2 miles from Rodeway). We took a cab to the theater for under 10 bucks and the bus back. The bus stop is right in front of the motel and goes to the marina, campus, and the fourth street shops, as well as everywhere else. Point is, it took me everywhere I wanted to go for $2/ride.

This Inn had a very friendly front desk person, and a very cold front desk person. The breakfast was frozen waffles and orange juice which was fine for us. Also cold cereal, but no fruit. They have a computer in the lobby you can use and wi-fi but only in the tiny lobby. I used it a bunch and did not see anybody else use it.

It is easy to get to from the highway and parking is plentiful. I walked around with my husband at 11pm and felt safe. The bathroom is updated, nothing else is. And the mattress sucks.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank witnilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Great place to stay. Very convenient to BART. Clean room, very nice. Room may be compact but it have everything you could need. Enjoyed breakfast and talking with other guests. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shar2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Great place- a little funky- but well maintained and landscaped. As a solo traveler, I felt very safe. They even have internet for you to use free in lobby. Sushil at the front desk was especially nice. DEFINITELY got my money's worth.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmen8151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I think the owners have not completed their updates, or else have their priorities screwed up. They installed granite in the bath area but the TV is old and the remote doesn't work. Go figure. A room is around $100/nite which is overpriced in my opinion.
The location is right on University, very noisy except if you have a room in the back.
On the positive side the motel is attractive and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slipit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,340 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
353 reviews
1.5 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
791 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Rodeway Inn

Address: 1461 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1508 (Formerly Berkeley Travel Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: £101 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Berkeley Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berkeley Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Berkeley
Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing