We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”
Review of Super 8 Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Berkeley
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed 2 April 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tiny1980, Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Berkeley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel is a great value - wonderful location and great price. You're walking distance to UC Berkeley, 5 minutes from the freeway exit, and within a short walk of great coffee shops, pubs and restaurants, and BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit) that can get you to San Francisco in 20 minutes.

Plus: Plenty of off-street parking, close to Interstate 580, walk to everything, tidy room. Furniture is dated, but the room is very clean, flat screen, microwave and fridge. Bathroom recently remodeled, very nice. I did not take advantage of the free breakfast, but friendly staff lets you know about it.

Minus: nothing - this is a very expensive and busy area, so $115 for a weeknight is a huge bargain. If you're like me and you are here for business or a short visit with friends/family, this is a great value. You will pay 2x the price for the Marriott in Oakland or Emeryville, but unless you're on your honeymoon, try the Super 8 instead.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leotheleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiny1980, Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for your awesome response. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back again. We are very delighted and would be happy to welcome you here again.
We are centrally located in Berkeley few blocks to downtown and UCB. We have free parking, internet and continental breakfast in the morning. We are also close to interstate 80, 580. We have newly renovated rooms with microwave, refrigerator, coffee with plasma tv, iron, iron board and safe inside the room. We would also like you to offer 15% discount on your next stay with us. Please come back again.
Thank you.
With much respect.
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This place is horrendous. The customer service is beyond terrible, because it's nonexistent. Tony, one of the employees, has got to be pretty much the worst person I have ever met. Extremely rude, unprofessional, and unhelpful. Don't stay here, unless you want to feel uncomfortable and entirely regretful about your stay. It's not worth a cheap price, stay somewhere else. When you ask the management questions, they feel like they're going above and beyond and doing you a favor. I would give zero stars if that were an option.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiny1980, Owner at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear guest,
First and foremost we do not find you in our system. If you were the person who was overbooked and we had to relocate you somewhere else then we are truly sorry for the inconvenience. However, we also apologized at the moment and refunded the whole amount for the relocation. If you are upset about that then we are sorry for the inconvenience but please do not write something which was not true. We were nice and treated your nicely and refunded you whole amount including the relocation fees when you were OVERBOOKED. If you did not stay with us you can not write a review.
Sorry for the inconvenience.
With much respect.
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

student life is defined by study and by school of thought of the economy best defined by a class in micro and macro economic s the department of economics study

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 009borg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiny1980, General Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the super 8. im happy you enjoyed the breakfast and the internet. please come back soon. have a super duper day

much respect,

managemeny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Carey R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tiny1980, Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My daughter was having surgery at Oakland Children's Hospital so we came the night before to avoid getting stuck in traffic. This hotel is ok, but wouldn't stay there again. The room was clean, bathroom clean and part of it remodeled which looked nice. But also had a hole in the wall.... Could very easily hear the cars on the road. Then, around 5am could hear what sounded like a cart being pushed around outside, maybe housekeeping, but not sure. Got ready to leave around 7:30 and opened the door to find a homeless man asleep on the ground in front of the door. I shut the door and called the front desk and someone came out and asked him to move. He did apologize and stood there until the homeless man left while I loaded our things in my car. But it really kind of scared me and won't stay there again.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any tips that would help anyone who chooses to stay there. Maybe ask for...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiny1980, Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

We are very sorry and apologize for the inconvenience during your stay with us. When you checked in I remember you told me about your doctor visit to the hospital and I personally apologize on the behalf of our team and motel management. However, we want you to come back again and stay with us. I can remember a gentlemen walked-in into the motel and asked for a shelter. I told him we are private property and its a motel and he was escorted out. However, when I noticed him right after that he went to hallway I received your call and went there immediately and told him to leave. I can understand you finding him in hallway but I was keeping eye on him and made him leave the property right away. I apologize for the inconvenience. We can not tell anybody not to come inside the property unless they are trespassing. He asked for a shelter, we explained him the situation and he left, however, it was inconvenient for you to face such situation, we apologize for that. Also, our maids' shift start at 7:30 AM so I don't remember anybody dragging the cart at 5:00 AM. We want you to come back again and stay with us. We will give you 20% discount on your next stay. Please come back again and enjoy our free internet, continental breakfast, parking, and other full of amenities inside the room.
We are sorry for the inconvenience.
With much respect.
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank manm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tiny1980, Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
331 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
785 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Berkeley

Address: 1619 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703-1424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: £97 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Berkeley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Berkeley Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing