We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super 8 Berkeley”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Berkeley
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super 8 Berkeley”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed for one night. The front desk is not open 24 hours just so you know. Due to a late California Zephyr(close to 6 hours late) I did not get to the hotel till after 10PM and just managed to check in. The guy was friendly but was like if you have any questions come back at 7am as I'm closed.Was given the handicapped accessible room as it was the only one left. When they say newly renovated rooms they must have missed this one as all they did was slap a flatscreen tv on the wall and call it good. WI-FI did not work at all I could connect but no internet access. The shower pan lip was coming off and had mold under it. Did not have time to try the free breakfast as I had to leave at like 8AM to get to the Emeryville train station to make my train back to chicago. Checkout was fine same guy who checked me in. I would stay here again as I'm not picky. But I would call ahead to makesure to left them know your arriving late.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank railfanMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiny1980, Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for staying in our motel sir. we were sold out and that's the room left as you booked at last. we did not was unfriendly with you sir. you said "you have a question but you forget so we said you to you can come back any time to ask or at 7 in morning so that we could answer you and you can have a breakfast too at same time. our breakfast time is between 7-10 so before you check our at 8 you could take an advantage of it too.
sorry for misunderstanding sir.
you welcome you to come back again and have super stay in our motel.

with much respect,

management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    125
    93
    44
    30
See reviews for
120
69
71
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Went for my daughters orientation at Berkeley. Had many choices of hotels. The rate was reasonable, the room was very clean, the continental breakfast was very nice. No complaints....I will be back when she moves in!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lddcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiny1980, Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
thank you for choosing our motel sir. we are happy to know that you liked our service and enjoyed your stay in our motel. our free breakfast is at 7am to 10am so between time you can enjoy our free breakfast and we are happy that you did enjoyed it. we are located just 5 block away from university and around our motel there are many good restaurants within the walking distances, which you can enjoy too if you want it.
we welcome you to come back and have a super stay in our motel.

with much respect,

management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We came in off a 2400 mile road trip to visit my son and his family. We were looking for a budget-minded stay. The room was great. Carpet and bathroom appeared to have been fairly recently upgraded. Staff was friendly. About the only downside was noise from upstairs one night, but event that was reasonable. Parking is tight, but seems secure. Location is convenient to the UC Berkeley Campus and surrounding area. There is a Trader Joe's a few blocks up and a McDonalds a couple of blocks walk beyond that. We'll be back to visit our new grandbaby next year. We'll be staying here again if they aren't booked up. We have family that will be staying here in a few months when they visit. Great stay at a reasonable price.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiny1980, Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your stay in our motel sir. we are recently opened and the rooms are recently re-designed. parking in out motel for our guest is free and safe as well and we always hear from our guest that they are mostly satisfied with our location and surrounding. we are just 5 block away from university and 10 min walking distance from Bart station so you will not be any problem for your tour around the city. we welcome you to come back and have a super stay in our motel.

with much respect,

management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.2 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#9 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
0.5 mi away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#13 of 20 in Berkeley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Berkeley

Property: Super 8 Berkeley
Address: 1619 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Berkeley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Berkeley Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing