We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff not helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Berkeley CA
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Madrid
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Staff not helpful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel is ok for the price, but it is not what they advertise. The room didn't have the queen california bed they said. The rooms don't have closet. Nice tv.
We had a problem with the staff at the lobby, we needed to cancel a few nights and the woman said that it was imposible to do it. So we called Booking and they helped us with the cancelation. The woman at the hotel was rude and disrespectful. It seemed that she only cared about the money. We changed to another hotel cheaper, more confortable and with nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank candela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    20
    8
    7
    12
See reviews for
15
12
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

great place for our family to stay while visiting our son at cal. rates were lower than comparable hotels in the area and this hotel has free parking and a light breakfast. will definitely come back and stay here to see him graduate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpatel799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Knights Inn Berkeley is located in a perfect location on University Ave. The hotel itself is really clean and well maintained. Parking is free which is a plus. The staff helped planned my day and things to do in Berkeley. I would definitely stay here again. I found the lowest rates on their site so I recommend booking through there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFGUEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed there for two days. The receptionists were really nice, the room was clean and the bed really comfortable. I would totally recommend this hotel if you are planning on staying close to the university without paying much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonardoNeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

At the moment I booked the Knights Inn was the only location below the 300$/night limit.
It is a little distant from downtown San Francisco but when you are not afraid of walking you just take the BART after a 10 minutes walk and without traffic jams you will join the main places within 30-60 minutes, depending on where you want to go. Depending on where you stay in the city this won't be different.
The vicinity is not particularly spoiled, a lot of homeless people hang around or just try to find shelter wherever it is less windy or wet.
The motel itself can only be described as very clean - the rooms have a decent size and bathroom is clean and comfortable.
I suppose the bathroom is cleaned with bleach leaving a pertinent smell of Hypo chloric acid - the most serious drawback.
Well you can overcome that by ventilating the room abundantly and helping with some better smelling chemicals.
The beds are very nice and comfortable. The amenities are ok - my fridge did not work but since the weather was not hot I did not need it.
The Wifi is free and of a really excellent quality.
The surroundings are quite except for the train you can hear whistling from time to time.
The advertised breakfast is a joke, you can get a packed cookie at the reception together with a coffee.
An overall ok-good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Within this price range, this is one of the most pleasant stays I've had. From tthe outside with the unexpected landscaping to the fresh, clean grounds you have a very cozy feeling. Inside the rooms are large, clean and very attractive. Amenties are up-to-date including the large screen TV, upgrade refrig and micro, nice hair dryer and good quality personal supplies. Really a pleasant experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumpup67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I'd never ever go back to this place ever! Worse customer service I've ever experienced and the rooms smelled very bad The furniture is scratched up like it's from a junk yard! Very rude front desk person and the deposit is $150.00 to hold on your credit card for 3 days minimum.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Famous14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berkeley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.1 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#9 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#13 of 20 in Berkeley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Berkeley CA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Berkeley CA

Property: Knights Inn Berkeley CA
Address: 1512 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703-1423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Berkeley CA 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Berkeley CA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Capri Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing