We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berkeley Lab Guest House
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Very nice and clean guest house with excellent view of Berkeley and the bay. Yes it is farther up from Cal, so best if you have car, especially if you want to spend evening in the city. No tax and parking is free, great value! Also they stocked their shelf with food (for sale), such as salad, fruit, even ramen (we did not buy, though). My business related to UCB is bringing daughter for campus visit.

Room Tip: Room 300, one queen bed, corner room with the best view of the city and bay in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simpangratis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
5
Solo
0
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The rooms are nice, but smallish. Couples, mind you: two separate beds. No king/queen. The BLGH has 'the fastest wifi in the country'. Staff is extremely kind & helpful (our roomkey jammed). But, the place is remote. Up a very steep hill, 30 min walk from main UCB campus. Even longer from Clark Kerr. Too distant from downtown bars for a nightcap or catching up with colleagues. Shuttle bus to UCB does not run on weekends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jj3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
845 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 493 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was obviously designed as temporary housing for visitors to Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, but LBNL has decided to make it available to the general public as well. My wife and I stayed here while visiting the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute just up the hill from LBNL, and the lodging was comfortable, even if a bit basic (but not any more so than, say, your usual Super 8). The staff were friendly and helpful, and the views of the Bay from the second story common room were to die for.

The biggest catch: LBNL is a secure area, which means entrance and exit is controlled at guard houses. This is not a big problem if you are staying at the Guest House, since you will have the credentials to get by the guards, but it does mean that you'd really better have your own car, since it makes access to the grounds much simpler. There is a spacious free parking lot by the Guest House, so you'll have a place to put that auto when you do make it through a bit of a maze and get to your lodging. But if your business is down the hill in Berkeley proper, you are likely to find this arrangement somewhat inconvenient.

Incidentally, if you like wildlife, LBNL has some that is unusual. I'm including a photo of a line of wild turkeys marching by the place in the early morning. The Guest House staff swear that the turkeys have learned that it is safest to use the marked pedestrian walkways when crossing the road, and that drivers dutifully give them the right of way.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnArborMiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Located on the hills on the eastern end of the UC Berkely campus, the Berkeley Lab House is, UNFORTUNATELY, restricted by the Dept. of Energy to UCB students,faculty,alumni or visiting researchers (you are, afterall, part of several active,working energy research laboratories). We were greeted by turkeys (about 15 walked right past our car) upon our arrival! During our evening walk, two deer came within about 20 feet of the House. The views are spectacular! The location provides clear, unobstructed (unless fog!) scenes of the entire Berkeley campus, city of Berkeley, Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge. The beds and pillows are superior to the Ritz in our opinion (I know, really?.Yes, really.). The beds are extremely comfortable-but firm; and the pillows (four per bed) are smaller which surprisingly allow for easy manipulation lending to a very comfortable head rest. To top it all off, the staff are very polite and helpful.A very unique place to stay. Will absolutely stay again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Located *inside* the boundary of the Lab, and up a steep hill, you pass through a guarded security gate to reach the Guest House, which is a small modern three-story hotel on the side of a hill overlooking the bay. The stunning views, quiet setting, and clean air, above the traffic and noise of the city, outweigh the inconvenience of not being able to walk to restaurants or the main campus. (There is a shuttle bus, but it was not operating when I was there on a Sunday evening.)

Rooms and amenities were rather Spartan – it’s mainly intended for visiting scientists, after all -- but everything was clean and comfortable, and coffee and tea were available 24/7 at the kitchen at the end of the hallway. Snacks and breakfast food could be purchased in the lobby at reasonable prices. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Guests must have some sort of connection with the Lab or University to be able to stay here (but being a Cal alumnus/a or parent or interviewing as a potential student seem to count), and because it’s located in a secure area on Lab you can’t just wander in to ask about a vacancy. Overall, this is a terrific lodging choice for Berkeley and is my new favorite place to stay there.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Arcadia_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

First impressions are lasting impressions. This was my first business trip to the City of Berkeley and specifically, UC Berkeley. My stay at the Berkeley Lab Guest House was everything (and more) it was billed to be. Very nice, clean, well-appointed room; free coffee, tea, wi-fi, cable TV. However, I can't say enough about how absolutely comfortable the bed was -- two of the best night's sleep I've ever had!

It's location is ideal -- up in the hills -- and the view of bay will leave you in awe. Great value for money; All of the the staff (front desk and cleaning) were polite and helpful.

I highly recommend staying at the Berkeley Lab Guest House -- you won't be disappointed!

Clinton H.
San Diego, CA

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clinton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Berkeley Lab Guest House, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about the Berkeley Lab Guest House. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our beds are indeed very comfortable! In addition to the high quality Serta Concierge Suite mattresses with memory foam mattress toppers, we have upgraded linens including 350 thread count sheets and platinum grade towels.

The Peet's Coffee and Tea are brewed fresh and served 24 hours a day. On a clear day, the view of the Campanile on campus and the Golden Gate Bridge across the bay is spectacular. You won't want to miss the sun setting behind the hills of Marin from our patio or lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Previously, when visiting my daughter who is a student at UC Berkeley, we stayed at the big hotels in the Marina and Emeryville area. But when I heard about the Berkeley Lab Guest House, it sounded rather unique, so I thought I would give it a try. We were very pleased with our experience (this was about a year ago).
The location was fantastic, with an amazing panoramic view of the bay and surrounding area, right out front. And it is very close to the UC campus, with free shuttle service and parking. The reception desk staff were friendly and helpful. It is an immaculately clean, very modern and attractive facility.
The room was bit on the small side, but certainly adequate - we had to take two twin beds as all the queens in the standard range were booked. There is a communal snack room, bright and airy with view, where coffee is always served. It was more dorm like than hotel like - but a very luxurious and comfortable dorm!
We were lucky - we happened to be there on a weekend when the free once a month tour of the Berkeley Lab was given (needed to reserve in advance) and we thoroughly enjoyed this too.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Berkeley Lab Guest House, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
As you have discovered, The Berkeley Lab Guest House is in an ideal location and easily accessible for parents to visit their UC Bears on or near Campus. We offer breathtaking views from our public spaces, patio and most of our guest rooms. The Guest House opened in October of 2009 and it is very clean and modern. Our housekeeping staff is second to none!

I am sorry to hear that all of our lovely Queen Bedded rooms were already booked when you made your reservation. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay regardless. Our rooms are comfortably sized and all feature private baths, mini refrigerators and 32" flat screen TV's with 200 channels. Our Studio Suites are quite large, featuring a kitchenette and dining area.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Go Bears!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
771 reviews
0.9 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.4 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
1.3 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Lab Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Lab Guest House

Property: Berkeley Lab Guest House
Address: 1 Cyclotron Rd Bldg 23, University of California Berkeley, Berkeley, CA 94720-8099
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful Guest House is conveniently located on the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory campus and features 57 tastefully appointed guest rooms. You will find "a home away from home" at our Guest House. Many of the rooms offer spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay, skyline, and City of Berkeley. The Guest House is only a few minutes away from the University of California Berkeley campus and the dynamic Berkeley community. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing