We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So smart”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berkeley Lab Guest House
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Feel so smart just being around the Science buildings of UC Berkeley. Great view of San Francisco Bay and sunsets over the city and bridges. Door noises a little loud but rest of buildings new tidy and has a calm feeling.

Room Tip: Over the Bay west side, but draw curtains to block afternoon sun.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Berkeley Lab Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Out of the way location but perfect if your trip takes you to the Berkeley Lab area. The views of the bay and San Francisco are outstanding and the weekday lab buses run every 10 minutes down to the center of Berkeley. The staff are friendly and low key and the rooms are serviceable.

Room Tip: Ask for bay side room and queen beds
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NGuilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Very nice and clean guest house with excellent view of Berkeley and the bay. Yes it is farther up from Cal, so best if you have car, especially if you want to spend evening in the city. No tax and parking is free, great value! Also they stocked their shelf with food (for sale), such as salad, fruit, even ramen (we did not buy, though). My business related to UCB is bringing daughter for campus visit.

Room Tip: Room 300, one queen bed, corner room with the best view of the city and bay in the house.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simpangratis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The rooms are nice, but smallish. Couples, mind you: two separate beds. No king/queen. The BLGH has 'the fastest wifi in the country'. Staff is extremely kind & helpful (our roomkey jammed). But, the place is remote. Up a very steep hill, 30 min walk from main UCB campus. Even longer from Clark Kerr. Too distant from downtown bars for a nightcap or catching up with colleagues. Shuttle bus to UCB does not run on weekends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jj3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was obviously designed as temporary housing for visitors to Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, but LBNL has decided to make it available to the general public as well. My wife and I stayed here while visiting the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute just up the hill from LBNL, and the lodging was comfortable, even if a bit basic (but not any more so than, say, your usual Super 8). The staff were friendly and helpful, and the views of the Bay from the second story common room were to die for.

The biggest catch: LBNL is a secure area, which means entrance and exit is controlled at guard houses. This is not a big problem if you are staying at the Guest House, since you will have the credentials to get by the guards, but it does mean that you'd really better have your own car, since it makes access to the grounds much simpler. There is a spacious free parking lot by the Guest House, so you'll have a place to put that auto when you do make it through a bit of a maze and get to your lodging. But if your business is down the hill in Berkeley proper, you are likely to find this arrangement somewhat inconvenient.

Incidentally, if you like wildlife, LBNL has some that is unusual. I'm including a photo of a line of wild turkeys marching by the place in the early morning. The Guest House staff swear that the turkeys have learned that it is safest to use the marked pedestrian walkways when crossing the road, and that drivers dutifully give them the right of way.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnArborMiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Located on the hills on the eastern end of the UC Berkely campus, the Berkeley Lab House is, UNFORTUNATELY, restricted by the Dept. of Energy to UCB students,faculty,alumni or visiting researchers (you are, afterall, part of several active,working energy research laboratories). We were greeted by turkeys (about 15 walked right past our car) upon our arrival! During our evening walk, two deer came within about 20 feet of the House. The views are spectacular! The location provides clear, unobstructed (unless fog!) scenes of the entire Berkeley campus, city of Berkeley, Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge. The beds and pillows are superior to the Ritz in our opinion (I know, really?.Yes, really.). The beds are extremely comfortable-but firm; and the pillows (four per bed) are smaller which surprisingly allow for easy manipulation lending to a very comfortable head rest. To top it all off, the staff are very polite and helpful.A very unique place to stay. Will absolutely stay again!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Located *inside* the boundary of the Lab, and up a steep hill, you pass through a guarded security gate to reach the Guest House, which is a small modern three-story hotel on the side of a hill overlooking the bay. The stunning views, quiet setting, and clean air, above the traffic and noise of the city, outweigh the inconvenience of not being able to walk to restaurants or the main campus. (There is a shuttle bus, but it was not operating when I was there on a Sunday evening.)

Rooms and amenities were rather Spartan – it’s mainly intended for visiting scientists, after all -- but everything was clean and comfortable, and coffee and tea were available 24/7 at the kitchen at the end of the hallway. Snacks and breakfast food could be purchased in the lobby at reasonable prices. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Guests must have some sort of connection with the Lab or University to be able to stay here (but being a Cal alumnus/a or parent or interviewing as a potential student seem to count), and because it’s located in a secure area on Lab you can’t just wander in to ask about a vacancy. Overall, this is a terrific lodging choice for Berkeley and is my new favorite place to stay there.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank Arcadia_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,309 reviews
1.3 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
1.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
785 reviews
0.8 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#7 of 20 in Berkeley
262 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Lab Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Lab Guest House

Address: 1 Cyclotron Rd Bldg 23, University of California Berkeley, Berkeley, CA 94720-8099
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Berkeley
Price Range: £73 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful Guest House is conveniently located on the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory campus and features 57 tastefully appointed guest rooms. You will find "a home away from home" at our Guest House. Many of the rooms offer spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay, skyline, and City of Berkeley. The Guest House is only a few minutes away from the University of California Berkeley campus and the dynamic Berkeley community. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing