We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It all clicks”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rivoli Restaurant

Rivoli Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Rivoli Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 697 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Neilson
Transit: North Berkeley BART
Description: Rivoli strives to be a hands on, moderately priced restaurant with simple and creative food, carefully selected wines and comfortable service in a warm and lively atmosphere. Rivoli’s distinction comes from the heart and soul of its owners and staff. The menu relies on what is seasonal, local and fresh, using mostly organic produce, sustainably caught fish and naturally raised meats and poultry. The wines are selected for their affinity with the food, and offer the best values from the cooler regions of California and the Old World. The dining room staff provides friendly and attentive service and the chefs and cooks are skilled artisans of their craft.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It all clicks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Four old friends on a Sunday evening and everyone went away very happy. Swordfish, lamb, and "Chicken Two Ways," all terrific. Delightful, relaxed atmosphere with great service. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    54
    19
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Wows from START to FINISH!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

A must-do when in the area!!!

From EXCEPTIONAL service to a GREAT menu and OUTSTANDING food preparation, everything is just PERFECT!

Experience Rivoli ASAP!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawnee40_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Graduation Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We ate at Rivoli to celebrate my son's graduation from UC Berkeley. It was a great way to top off the day. Everyone's meals were fabulous and the prices were fair. No complaints at all. Beautiful atmosphere too. I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlynnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Top-of-the-line meal at a modest cost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

As the Michelin guides explain, even in a 1-star restaurant, you’d be best off ordering the dishes they suggest. Other choices may not be up to the highest standard. By contrast, at a superior place you can expect whatever you order to be wonderful – and so it was at the Rivoli. Three of us went. Because the menu changes biweekly, recommendations of what to try would not have been helpful. So, we just ordered, and were delighted with the results.

The room space is envy-inducing. One wall is entirely glass facing out onto a lush, forest-like garden. No bugs, just beauty. Would love to have a living room like that!

On what we ate – bearing in mind that the menu may never be the same:

Appetizer – Portobello sticks fried crisp with Romano shavings, arugula and a crème fraiche dipping sauce. The 3 of us shared it.

Mains – I had grilled shrimp with fabulous heirloom tomatoes, avocado, greens and a savory bread pudding. Wonderfully flavored. The wife had Yellowtail with a “summer ratatouille.“ The fish melded into the accompaniments. I tried it and thought it was excellent. Our son, something of a finicky eater, had veal brochettes with prosciutto – also, it turned out, a happy choice.

Dessert – we shared a nectarine/berry crisp, ala mode. Yum!

Wine – The least costly Pinot Noir on the wine list, a Calera (@$45) was crisp, delicious and had a wonderful bouquet.

We hope to return to this great place soon again!

FYI, the space is not large. Reserve well in advance if you want to be seated earlyish. We were lucky to get an 8:15 table on a Saturday night, only calling that afternoon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TerribleIvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
236 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“As good as everyone says”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This restaurant is highly rated, both on Trip Advisor and Yelp. For good reason. The ambience is excellent, with a wall-to-ceiling window facing a beautiful garden area. The service is friendly and highly efficient, and the food was uniformly excellent. If is on the menu, try the mushroom soup!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nippnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rivoli Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rivoli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing