We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“memorable romantic dining in historic building”

Julia's at the Berkeley City Club
Reserve with OpenTable
Julia's at the Berkeley City Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 697 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ellsworth Street
Transit: AC Transit, 1 mi. from Downtown berkeley BART
Description: Julia's at the Berkeley City Club is a French restaurant, led by Executive Chef, Alaun Grimaud. Our inspiration at Julia's begins with the bounty of seasonal produce and artisan products available to us in the Bay Area and highlighting those products with classic and modern techniques. Combined with our beautiful atmosphere and refined service, we look to create a memorable dining experience to all of our guests. Lunch: Tuesday - Friday, 11:30am - 2:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday, 5pm - 8:30pm Lounge Hours: Tuesday - Saturday, 4:30pm - 8pm
Concord, California
Level Contributor
277 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“memorable romantic dining in historic building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The experience at Julias was one we will remember for a long time. First, the ambiance in the dining room of the historic Julia Morgan designed building is exquisite. It is elegant and serene and very romantic. Then, the attentive service from Tony, ably assisted by Hunter, was absolutely top-notch; friendly but professional, with all questions answered and all dining needs met. Food and wine recommendations were spot on. From the five main courses, we chose the grilled pork chop with organic polenta and brussel sprouts, and the crispy chicken breast with creamy grits. Both were delicious, as were the sides of roasted organic beets and celery root soup. Other entrees included rack of lamb, petrale sole, and bavette steak. There is a very nice wine list, but selections by the glass are a bit limited. A full bar is also available. Prices are reasonable for this kind of experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dragonrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    34
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, California
Level Contributor
359 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Architecture Compliments a Nice Dining Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Recently three of us had a very pleasant dinner at Julia's at the Berkeley City Club before attending a Christmas concert on a Saturday evening. If you've ever been to Hearst Castle, you'll immediately see some similarities as Julia Morgan was the architect for both places. Situated a block South of the Berkeley campus on Durant, this is a very convenient location for visits around the campus as well as an interesting destination by itself. Architecture is a mixture of Spanish, Mission and Moorish influences seen in other designs by Ms. Morgan. As the restaurant opens at 5 (bar at 4:30), you can park on the street for about $2 (metering expires at 6) and stay put for the remainder of the evening. Just be there early so you don't have to hunt about.

Despite good reviews, we didn't have the very highest expectations as Julia's is a restaurant situated inside a club. These sometimes fall victim to budget constraints magnified by limited traffic. However, we were pleasantly surprised with the quality and presentation of the food. Their menu appears to change from time to time, but suffice to say they offer an interesting mix of California cuisine. We started off in the bar area enjoying bar appetizers and some bubbly. At the anointed time, we wandered into the adjacent dining room. Dinner appetizers consisted of beet salads and a small braised beef pasta plate. Our main courses included Sole, Tenderloin, and Duck. Everything was savory and nicely presented. Service was provided by three individuals who did not intrude, but were always there to help. Delivery of the food was timed nicely and reasonably quick. We shared a dessert with a mixture of chocolate offerings; it was very nicely presented and quite delicious. The wine list, while not huge, is priced lower than most restaurants and a good value so don't bring your own.

While you visit, take time to wander around the common areas of the club and enjoy the warm and engaging environment. Julia's presents a wonderful mixture of building design and very affordable food that should serve your dining experience quite well. Cheers!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WineEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had dinner on a thursday night and it was packed. After having tasted the food, we knew why. On top of that, the 2 waitresses that served us were really friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Had dinner here last Saturday. Beautiful setting in a historic hotel. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable, and prompt. Food was cooked to order perfectly, seasoned perfectly and presented well. Prices were very reasonable, especially for the ambience and quality of the food. Wine list was not huge, but great selection and reasonably priced. Highly recommended !! Please get a reservation as they run a busy catering service at the hotel and turned away many walk-ups the night we were there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OldRockKnucklehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Painfully slow service...GREAT RISOTTO & BREAD”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I was in Berkeley only for 2 nights, and made every attempt to make it to this place, and finally got in for lunch!

Parking was a PAIN - they have a lot, BUT not for the restaurant guests. Street parking took 25 extra minutes!

Nothing fancy about the ambiance; doesn't do much in day light! The service was PAINFULLY SLOW- a couple of guests openly complained about waiting for 15-20 min before the waitstaff even approached them. And, only 5 tables were occupied. My wine showed up 15 min AFTER the request was initially placed, and a simple order of risotto took over 50 min to come out!

The food was DELICIOUS!!! Loved the risotto with hot bread and Pinot!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawnee40_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Julia's at the Berkeley City Club also viewed

 

Been to Julia's at the Berkeley City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing