We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local landmark”

Top Dog Berkeley Southside
Ranked #25 of 709 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Berkeley, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A local landmark”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I had my first Top Dog in 19721, and have had a few since. The 'chain' (never more than four outlets in Berkeley at one time, I don't think) was a pioneer in offering its customers half a dozen or more interesting sausage types, including many, like linguica, that were unfamiliar back in the day (bockwurst? what's a bockwurst?). Just as crucially, this location, and another on the other side of campus, are still wallpapered with libertarian/anarchist screeds and cartoons from the '60s, the vintage clips and typescripts slightly yellower than when, during the first Nixon administration, I first scanned them while waiting for my order to come up (they grill to order here), but still intact and ponderable, mounted to the walls as they are with sturdy, American-made vintage scotch tape.

Helpful?
Thank jonking1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    19
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Tasty Dog”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This place is very small no place to seat, only one guy working there, once you placed an order he grilled both bun and hot dog that add a little bit texture to the bun and the standard dog only cost $3 each, very affordable in Berkeley!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank purpletravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not a "Dog"; Best dog in town.”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Thirty years ago when I moved here, my first meal was at Top Dog; its still the best ever. The grill marks, the toasted bun, a regular dog or hot link or brat-there all amazing. Juicy, with the juices running down your chin. Amazing, with a great choice of condiments.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raphael823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hot Dog!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

This was the best dog I've ever had, better than going to the ballpark!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalBear67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Still serving great dogs after all these years!”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I went to this little hole in the wall dog stand in 1973. Akmost 40 years later, its still there and the dogs are great! They are not your ordinary hot dog. The owner is gruff and is more focused on grilling the perfect dog and bun than winning any popularity prize. Nice selection of sausages and nothing but. A Berkeley landmark, albeit very small. Don't want to get into a competition about where the best dog is, but from my travels, this is about as good as it gets!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top Dog Berkeley Southside also viewed

 

Been to Top Dog Berkeley Southside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing