We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, fun atmosphere”

Trattoria La Siciliana
Ranked #37 of 709 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fort Collins
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food, fun atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This place was recommended by the Italian Grocery in the same general area of Berkeley. Well worth a visit - really great food, with wonderful flavors and very good variety of available dishes, with amazingly good herbed olive oil for bread dip.
Noisy and authentic
Fun

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GardenJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    39
    17
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Trattoria La Siciliana”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This has been one of our favorite restaurants- we've gone there for our special occasions. . We went mid November on a Thurs night to celebrate my husbands birthday. However, it wasn't as good as usual. We requested a mushroom sauce on the gnocchi but it wasn't as tasty as before. The Panna Cota tasted like weak gelatin, not the creamy delish it has been . The cream on the tiramisu was too thick. The cooks in the kitchen were not the same. Not sure if it was just an off night, but I hope if we return things will get back to the normal delicious standard.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LawY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious food, italian atmosphere and friendly staff”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A short taxi drive from dowtown BART station you will find this nice restaurant. No pizza on the menu, but no worries, tha pasta i excellent! A lot of italians there, when we were there, and that is always a good sign. Recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BergersenO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Atmosphere, and Staff”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stumbled across this family owned restaurant in the trendy College Avenue area of Berkeley when going to the Rialto Theatre, practically across the street. It was a Tuesday evening and the place was buzzing -- a good sign. We were greeted like old friends. The waiter and assistant were professional, attentive, and friendly. Everyone seemed to be Italian. First came the basket of delicious Epi bread -- not baguette but denser and wonderful. And the dipping oil! They make their own and I've never tasted one so delicious. They sell it in bottles too, so I bought one in hopes of learning the ingredients so I could try making it myself, but they were not listed. :-(
We ordered from the "specials" menu. Both entrees were $16. My husband had a Ragu dish with different meats and a delicious tomato based sauce -- perfect balance of flavor without being too acidic. I had a pork loin imbedded with garlic, with sautéed potatoes. The meat was tender enough but could have been just a little more so. The potatoes could have been hotter/crispier. A pet peeve of mine is having food served on cold plates, as mine was here. So my food had started to get cold. We were in a hurry so did not have antipasti or dessert but will make a special trip to Berkeley just to enjoy a longer meal. I notice on their website it says Zagat rated them as one of America's top Italian restaurants. I can see why.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slowfoodslowfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay area
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have been going here for several years.....the owners are a warm welcoming Italian family. Yes, you may have to wait but the experience is totally worth it! Wonderful food. We were there last nite and brought another couple. We had a wonderful evening complete with a tasting of house made limoncello (sooo good). Our friends were not disappointed, they had a great time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Girlylai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria La Siciliana also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria La Siciliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing