We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”
Review of Berkeley Inn

Berkeley Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berkeley Inn
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The Berkeley Inn was moderately priced and in a great location- right off the interstate & minutes away from the University and cheap places to eat. The management wasn't super friendly, but we didn't have to interact with them except for checking in and out. The sheets were clean and the place was overall sanitary, but the walls & carpet looked pretty dingy. Having a microwave and fridge in the room was really convenient.
The wifi was password protected and we were unable to get ahold of the office to receive the log in information, even though they advertised having free wifi in all the rooms.

Room Tip: They openly inform customers that the building isn't safe in the case of an earthquake, so it wo...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mquinnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Berkeley Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

This place was terrible. The hotel clerk was RUDE not only to me and my friend, but even the customers in front of us. We spent at least 10 minutes arguing, before we reached an agreement. The hotel clerk was demanding, and he didn't understand our simple requests. I am willing to pay an extra $40-50 to spend a night somewhere else. I highly recommend staying somewhere else. Also, there were foreign stains on the bed sheets.

Room Tip: Don't do it!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sebastes711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Filthy, The Earthquake warning signs scared me and my family members. Unfortunately we did not have funds for any other place and we had already paid for this dump. I DO NOT recommend this place unless you don't mind scummy curtains and unstable buildings. Stay Away!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigFuknBrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Nice place to stay, run by an Indian family, good people.

Room Tip: Clean good room, mine was.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jano10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The room was relatively clean and quite. Good value for the cheapest available hotel that I found.

Room Tip: If you need Wifi - ask for a room next to the reception (first or second floor)
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoranHike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

we couldn't sleep the whole night due to the noises coming from the room next to ours.
towels were not very clean, but the room per se was not so bad; maybe there should be more sound-isolation from other rooms.
positve aspects: it's very cheap and there is free wifi.
negative aspects: sleep quality (due to the noises) and cleanliness.

Room Tip: maybe our room was the noisiest room of the hotel; try to ask a quieter one.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alcla417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We arrived at hotel a bit after check in time, however, we were told that our room was not ready, we were told to come back 2-3 hours later, however, we were allowed in the room just to use the restroom, but were warned the room was still not clean. The person at reception was a bit rude and I am not sure if this is the way he is or if indeed he was being rude, but over he gave the percetion of not caring about the fact that it was past check in time and that our room was not ready. I was able to see other people checking in and they were also told their room was not ready. We basically just used the room to sleep, we arrived late at night, and we found no parking, this place only has about 13 parking spaces and about 25 rooms, so we had to park in the street, and be warned that cars can only park in the street for one hour after 9:00AM, so we had to get up early to be sure to move car. Room it self looked old, as the furniture and TV, but over the room was okay to sleep, but definitely not a place where you want to stay to spend time.

Room Tip: Ask for room in 1st-2nd floor, no elevators
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BEstellaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
2.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
384 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#16 of 20 in Berkeley
81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
342 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Inn

Address: 1720 San Pablo Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1336
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: £78 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Berkeley Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Berkeley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing