We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yikes!”
Review of Berkeley Inn

Berkeley Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berkeley Inn
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I need to start reading reviews. This place literally scared me. The most haunting part is that their was no elevator and my knee was bothering me. There was this door under the stairs, very strange place to put a door. I had all these creepy thoughts about the door. I'm sure I would have been unaffected in most cases but the hotel was seemingly god forsaken. I told my husband if I see a roach, we're outta there.

Got in there and there was some sort of trick to make the refrigerator work. The chairs near the table didn't match. Come on! Couldnt get matching chairs?

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Femi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

The website somehow double booked us for this hotel and wen we got here he wanted to charge us a $80 fee to cancel!!!thats more than our stay!! Awful awful service. Rude beyond words. No respect for clients. This place might be cheaper than other places but ur getting treated horribly to stay here. DO NOT go here unless u want to be treated badly and deal with shady ppl.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lmyle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The Berkeley Inn was moderately priced and in a great location- right off the interstate & minutes away from the University and cheap places to eat. The management wasn't super friendly, but we didn't have to interact with them except for checking in and out. The sheets were clean and the place was overall sanitary, but the walls & carpet looked pretty dingy. Having a microwave and fridge in the room was really convenient.
The wifi was password protected and we were unable to get ahold of the office to receive the log in information, even though they advertised having free wifi in all the rooms.

Room Tip: They openly inform customers that the building isn't safe in the case of an earthquake, so it wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mquinnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This place was terrible. The hotel clerk was RUDE not only to me and my friend, but even the customers in front of us. We spent at least 10 minutes arguing, before we reached an agreement. The hotel clerk was demanding, and he didn't understand our simple requests. I am willing to pay an extra $40-50 to spend a night somewhere else. I highly recommend staying somewhere else. Also, there were foreign stains on the bed sheets.

Room Tip: Don't do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sebastes711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Filthy, The Earthquake warning signs scared me and my family members. Unfortunately we did not have funds for any other place and we had already paid for this dump. I DO NOT recommend this place unless you don't mind scummy curtains and unstable buildings. Stay Away!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigFuknBrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Nice place to stay, run by an Indian family, good people.

Room Tip: Clean good room, mine was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jano10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The room was relatively clean and quite. Good value for the cheapest available hotel that I found.

Room Tip: If you need Wifi - ask for a room next to the reception (first or second floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoranHike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
2.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
391 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#16 of 20 in Berkeley
81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,358 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#5 of 20 in Berkeley
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Inn

Address: 1720 San Pablo Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1336
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: £79 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Berkeley Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Berkeley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing