We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine dining and excellent view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HS Lordships

HS Lordships
Reserve with OpenTable
HS Lordships is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #126 of 690 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: University Avenue
Transit: AC Transit Bus Line 9 & 51B
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fine dining and excellent view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Value for money, good brunch buffet spread, caters to all ages. fresh waffles made as ordered for kids and kids at heart, try the bread pudding. Cozy little restaurant. Recommended: reserve early and request a table by the window-- the picture windows offer excellent views of the Bay and the famed bridges. Clean surroundings make for an inviting stroll. There may be a bee line to the ladies' room, about 3 cubicles.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MayetRomero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    31
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“The view is better than the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The beef was tough, the turkey was dry. It isn't that cheap that the quality should be so below average. Not enough staff manning the carvery and there was a dirty cloth involved. Seafood dishes had some imitation crab.
On the bright side the view of SF is distant but very wide. From the city to the Golden Gate bridge.
Don't be fooled by the many customers, some of whom look like they go to a lot of buffets. This restaurant isn't up to scratch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Total dissapointment, location does not make up for it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Really unpleasant place, the stench is unberable, we could not even read the menu! I felt disgusted by the smell and the ambiance,
This was probably a nice restaurant 30 years ago.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ianineska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Champagne Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Sunday buffet is fabulous.
Sherry was our hostess. She gave us 1st class service. She made us feel so welcome!
Adela and Amolia are two special ladies that just made me smile with their great personalities .
If you love seafood.. Sushi.. This is the best fresh buffet.
There were many large families eating here.
We had a especially great table by the window.. Once again., thank you, Sherry.
You can tell these special ladies love their jobs.
Once again, the only thing I can say is that the building is in need of renovations. It is stuck in the 70's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hopeful9195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, ca
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy Date Day on 5 September 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

we had the day off together and decided to go to the bay area for a date day. a friend at work recommended his lordships for the food and a nice view. we had the good fortuned of both. we were seated in at an area where we had a beautiful view of the bay bridge, golden gate and on the water entertainment with the various windsurfers. we started our meal with a tasty jumbo shrimp cocktail. my husband had the filet mignon with garlic mash potatoes, mixed vegetables and a garden salad and I had the prime rib with garlic mash potatoes and mixed vegetables from the sunset dinner menu. to top off our delightful day, basking in the setting sun we had tiramisu for dessert that was rich and sweet. a memorable day to spend together.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Undie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to HS Lordships? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing