We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Dog Says It All” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Top Dog

Top Dog
Ranked #67 of 691 Restaurants in Berkeley
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Takeout
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
93 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Top Dog Says It All”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I went to Cal....on the way to the library was always a stop at TD for dinner. Bad habit, great dogs. Every time I'm back in Berkeley I always stop by for a couple of dogs for lunch. Great concept for a hot dog joint - fast, great variety, good buns, great dogs, and a list of good condiments. What else is there? A must do in Berkeley.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sfeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Always our first stop in Berkeley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have been around the world - and this is hands down the best veggie hot dog on the planet - the caveats being 1, you must like caraway seeds (this is very far from a plain, common soy dog) and 2, you can't be squeamish about the veggie dog being cooked on the same grill as the other hot dogs. I generally *do* have a problem with the latter - but considering I start thinking about Top Dog somewhere in the air halfway between NYC and OAK airport, I'm willing to overlook that point here. The space is no frills, but there are some stools for sitting and scarfing your hot dog. However, they are best on the go. My husband is an equally huge fan of the chicken-apple sausage, and recently tried the garlic dog and enjoyed it very much too. Bottom line - a must stop for cheap eats in Berkeley!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jlm2053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“step right up and get yer dogs...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

all KINDS...regular/ny style...kielbasa...chicken...etc...
you can add chili and they have troughs of mustard(two kinds, regular and spicy/hot), sauerkraut, onions, relish, etc that you can add to your heart's content...
reasonably priced and open late.
great little fast food place that's been there since before i lived there in '75...and it's STILL there...!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank isaac m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best dogs in California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Service was fantastic, the buns were incredible. A real icon. A musts top for those that travel to Berkeley.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top Doggie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Top Dog was a favorite of mine when I was a student back in the dark ages. During my stay at the Durant I was able to stop twice for a dog. Almost took me back to my college days and the dogs were as yummy as I remembered!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeoAZ85251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top Dog also viewed

 

Been to Top Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing