We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Day”
Review of Golden Gate Fields

Golden Gate Fields
Ranked #13 of 84 things to do in Berkeley
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Golden Gate Fields is Northern California’s premier destination for horse racing. Located right along the San Francisco Bay in Berkeley, fans are treated to some of the best sights and sounds in the world. Come experience the heart and hoof pounding action of live horse racing today.
Ukiah, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun Day”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Golden Gates Fields was a fun filled day. Great view of the beautiful track from all seats. Friendly staff. We paid the admission fee for the turf club and it was well worth it. They offer a great buffet or a lunch menu, we had the buffet and it was great, salads, salmon,roasted turkey, roast beef,yummy sides and a variety of sweets. The tables have a TV for viewing other races going on as well as their race but the views from this very clean facility were fantastic!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank betsy9814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    29
    8
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I wish they would tear it down”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I have never been to Golden Gate Fields. But while walking along the bay I an continually exposed to the loudspeaker thundering away. Often there are no horses on the track on the days this noise is emanating from the race track. I assume they most just like destroying the peace and quiet of San Francisco Bay.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Golden Gate Fields is a great place to enjoy an excellent lunch while experiencing the beauty of thoroughbred racing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dollar Days”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We've been to Golden Gate Fields many times, and it is a great way to spend a lazy Sunday. I had never been to the races before going here, and I didn't realize how exciting it can be. Easy to get to. Not expensive - especially when they have dollar days specials.

Helpful?
Thank Alessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun and horses”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

What do you want besides a nice track, some fun betting and hopefully some winning... This is easy to get to and a nice club house too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Gate Fields also viewed

 

Been to Golden Gate Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing