We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find, worth the search”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Brick Path Guest Suites
Ranked #4 of 8 Berkeley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 December 2006

What a great, hidden bed and breakfast in Berkeley, CA. We went to visit our daughter, and were completely delighted with the room. We were in the Fireplace Room; it was completely private, cozy, WONDERFUL bed, and even a working piano and cello! The location is perfect, a very short walk to every type of store and restaurant you might need. You can have breakfast delivered in your room, and eat with the fireplace going, and the morning sun streaming in. There is coffee and tea in the room, along with a small refrigerator. Near enough to campus, but very quiet (a small amount of street noise, no problem). Wendy, the proprietor, seems to have thought of everything, and if there is anything you want, she will help you get it!

Overall, this felt like a real "find".

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TankT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for The Brick Path Guest Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 72 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2006

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Brick Path! The bed was super comfy and we loved lighting up the fireplace. Having tea and coffee in our room was such a treat. And we enjoyed having Solano Avenue so close, so we could indulge in our favorite morning buns from La Farine.

It was the perfect ending to our trip!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krallannicci's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2006

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the cottage. The bed was one of the most comfortable we had ever slept in. That, along with the quiet surroundings, made for three very restful nights. Although we didn’t cook while we were there, the kitchen was so well stocked with utensils, dishes, a stove, a microwave, a refrigerator, a toaster, and even a toaster oven that we could have easily prepared all of our own meals. The cottage is set up with all of the comforts of home. It has a futon to sit in while watching TV and a small table and chairs to sit in while eating home-cooked meals, writing letters, etc. There is also a private patio right outside the cottage that has a table and chairs right next to beautiful gardens. The location couldn’t be more perfect. A block away there is a market, restaurants, and all types of shopping opportunities. We were able to eat at a nearby restaurant, take a walk in the scenic Berkeley Hills, and end up in a beautiful oak-filled park tucked away among residences. Best of all was the friendly, helpful manner of the innkeeper, Wendy Sprague. She made us feel most welcome and was always available if we needed anything. We highly recommend the cottage or the other units that Wendy manages to anyone visiting the Berkeley area.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2006

A Wonderful Time
The Brick Path Bed and Breakfast
Berkeley, California
Our stay at The Brick Path was incredible. Wendy enthusiastically and immediately made us feel at home in the cottage. The cottage was delightful and contained everything we needed, from pans to dishes to silverware, so we made a wonderful dinner there. We enjoyed our own private patio, and each morning Wendy arrived promptly to bring our breakfast tray.
Of special interest were the gardens and we took many picutres there to help us with the design of our own gardens at home.
Another plus was the location-just a couple of blocks from wonderful Solano Avenue in Albany and the many shops, restaurants and theatres there.
We can't wait to go back and enjoy time there with Wendy and the gardens again very soon. We give the Brick Path our highest rating and endorsement. Elmer & Sandy Guderyon.

Stayed: October 2006
2  Thank facesplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, Texas
11
Reviewed 18 July 2006

My daughter lives in Berkeley and checked out the Brick Path for her family to stay there for her wedding. My mom and I stayed 6 nights in The Cottage and my son and his wife 3 nites in the Master Bedroom. Wendy Sprague, the owner, is wonderful and thoughtful and serves amazing breakfasts. We loved every second and also loved how close we were to everything we were doing with family in Berkeley. I recommend this place to anyone who wants quiet and a wonderful neighborhood. We will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
16
Reviewed 31 January 2006

Imagine spending 5 nights in a room with a fireplace and having breakfast served to you in your room. Imagine being able to choose what you have for breakfast from a prepared list and you just check the item and write the quantity, for instance I love scones, so I asked for 3 scones and I got 3 different types of scones, my favorite was the lemon flavored scone; was also served freshly cut fruit served in a bowl. The fixings for coffee and tea are in your room plus dishes, glasses, utensils and a small fridge. So if you want to invite friends or colleagues into your room for some wine and cheese, no sweat. You just walk one block to Solano Avenue where you'll find a variety of restaurants, a movie theater, specialty coffee shops, Andronico's grocery store, a pastry shop, gift shops, clothing stores and more. Wendy also has a very nice courtyard with tables and chairs placed here and there, so that one can just sit and ruminate... A magnificent magnolia tree was in full bloom just outside my window.

The bedroom is charmingly decorated, the bed is firm and very comfortable, you have cable tv, wireless internet and a phone for unlimited local calls. You also have a private bathroom with a great shower.

And your hostess, Wendy, so friendly and helpful. Wendy has prepared an sheet with some essential info, so useful for the stranger in town. If I come to Berkeley again, I'll definitely stay at The Berkeley Brick Path B&B. Personally, I believe this is an ideal room for a professional who comes to town on business, for a university professor who comes to UC Berkeley to lecture, or for anyone just wanting to visit Berkeley.

By the way, I have a B&B in Montreal, so I can appreciate a great B&B, and this place is superb.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
2.3 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
384 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,311 reviews
1.9 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
1.8 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#7 of 20 in Berkeley
263 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brick Path Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brick Path Guest Suites

Address: 1805 Marin Ave, Berkeley, CA 94707-2414
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley
Price Range: £114 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immaculate and welcoming, Berkeley Brick Path Guest Suites is located in North Berkeley, just around the corner from Solano Avenue, one of Berkeley's best neighborhood shopping areas, and approximately two miles from UC Berkeley. The Brick Path offers two attractive suites - The Tuscan Suite and The East-Meets-West Cottage - and beautiful yards and gardens. Both rooms have modern private baths, separate guest entrances, high-speed wireless Internet, and exceptionally comfortable queen-size beds. The Cottage has a full kitchen; The Tuscan Suite has a kitchenette. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing