We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, conveniently located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Downtown Berkeley Inn
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed 22 October 2011

First of all, the beds are excellent - very large and comfortable, making for a good night's sleep. The modern decorations are nice, and we found the hotel staff to polite and helpful. The proximity to the Berkeley campus was great, and there are tons of restaurants only a block away on Shattuck. Parking was convenient, and the rates were absolutely the best in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

Located in a non-descript building on a quiet corner just one long block from the shops and restuarants of Shattuck Avenue in central Berkeley, the Downtown Berkeley Inn is the perfect place for anyone who wants comfort and quiet at a value price. My ground level room was quite large with a king-sized platform bed, large flat-screen TV, spacious bathrrom, makeup area and decent sized desk to work from. The location of the property is across from the Berkeley High School, which makes for quiet nights with little activity in the vacinity. There are any number of good places to eat within three or four easy blocks from the Inn and Berkeley's two largest cinemas are just a block and a half away. The Downtown Berkeley Inn is family-owned and managed which makes for a welcoming personal experience. The Inn also offers free parking for about ten cars, so if you drive in, get there early to secure a space. While not luxurious or even up-scale, I found the Downtown Berkeley Inn to be a perfect place to stay for a quiet, secluded get away without any hassle.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of the building face the Berkeley High School, which is busy during the schoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cadeltafoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

An overrated, used-to-be decent Inn, terribly managed.

By reading the comments on this place nobody would imagine how far are these from the truth. Apparently this hotel won a prize for the best boutique hotel in Berkeley, as the owners proudly show up the award in the reception, but in the last three years things must have changed a lot in negative.

First of all, in reality this is a well dressed motor-inn and definitely NOT a boutique inn... They should come to Europe and check what a real "boutique inn" (of the same price range) looks like. 

Let's start from the website: it's full of pompous descriptions on how good they are, how cool the rooms look like and how amazing are the amenities they promise, but at the end they simply suck on every topic listed on their homepage.

The stylish design forniture that they show in the very well photoshopped pics are actually shaky plywood boxes made in India or China.
The "hi-speed" wifi just works by keeping the door open or worse by dangerously leaning from the balcony towards the reception. The coffee machine in the room doesn't work (it takes half an hour to brew 1 ounce of coffee). The shuttle service to the airport is simply a phone number on a post-it that they quickly provide to you if you ask... No additional info on prices and timings.

The receptionists are never at the reception and if you ring the bell, they eventually appear (looking very annoyed by your call) trying to get rid of you in the quickest possible way. They simply do not look interested in helping you or making your stay any better.

Here it comes THE BIG PROBLEM... The carpet... I'll never understand why hotels have carpets: difficult to clean, therefore always dirt and smelly ... And let me tell you, the room smelled pretty bad. We had to stick eucaliptus oil in our nose. Tiles are just cleaner, nicer and cheaper... What's wrong with that? 

Oh! Blood stains on the bed sheets ... Yuck!

The walls need to be repainted and the windows of the ground floors are not very safe... Anybody could enter the room in few seconds and steal everything. Obviously in the disclaimer they say that they have a safe at the reception and that they don't take any responsibility on eventual theft, but c'mon, small safes in the rooms are not that expensive!!!

The only good point is the location, but forget taking a nap in the afternoon, since you will be waken up by the kids practicing the drums in the high school sports court located in front of the hotel. However is very noisy also at night due to the v8 SUVs or the drunk people that are passing-by very often.

Last but not least... The price is too high for what you get... You don't want a huge flat tv screen when your room is filthy and smelly... It's a question of priorities...

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ewurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The room is very nice--comparable to a nice room in a recently remodeled Holiday Inn Express class hotel. Flat Screen TV (with lots of channels of Direct TV), granite fixtures on countertop, wired fast internet connection.

The location is convenient to Shattuck Ave. which is one of the main commercial streets in Downtown Berkeley, with lots of good restaurants nearby, and also convenient to the Downtown Berkeley BART station (about 3-4 blocks.) Its about a 20 minute walk to the UC Berkeley campus.

Only downside---and its more of a "aesthetic" concern than a real concern (unless it is really windy/rainy) is that the corridors are all "outside" corridors. So, it looks a little underwhelming from the outside---sort of like a Travelodge or a Motel 6. So, I was worried a little when I saw the fact that there was no lobby--just a small counter, and that from the outside, it was not much to look at. But once I saw the inside of the room, I was reasonably pleased. And, given that a room here was around $100 (vs. $200 and up at other nearby hotels), I think I made the right choice. If/when I need to stay near UC Berkeley for another event, I will definitely consider this property.

There is no lobby to speak of---just a small 5x5 place you can stand while you transact business with the front desk. The

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

While I was expecting a little more amenities and service at the hotel, I found the location and the room to be just what I needed while in Berkeley. There is no lounge or lobby, but rather just a daytime staff person in a small office by the street. It is a small operation, but as a guest you can sense the focus on cleanliness and care by the staff. The rooms are nicely decorated with contemporary furnishings and a comfortable bed. It's just a block or so off of Shattuck, which is nice. I found it quiet and enough out of the way that it was relaxing to be headed back to the hotel after a full day and night of meetings. I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidenRoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I enjoyed my stay here very much. I stayed in two different rooms (because my family was with me for one of the nights, so I only needed a double for that one night), the staff was very helpful with the room transition and every other aspect of my stay. Both rooms were very clean, the beds were comfortable, there was copious hot water with lots of pressure, and the location and free parking were quite convenient. The only minuses were very minor: the rooms are a little small, the furnishing spartan (I actually like this), the heating system a little tricky to get right, and one night there were some hooligans shouting outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank innominate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

I was a little worried about what the rooms would be like because the price was so reasonable, especially compared to other hotels nearby. I spoke with the owner, who explained that she wants to provide a clean, nice room for people to stay in when they are in Berkeley. She has many repeat guests, especially people who are in town to work at Lawrence-Berkeley Labs, and parents of students.
The hotel was built by the owner 3 years ago and she and her family live on the premises, so they keep a close eye on the premises.
Will you find a refrigerator in the room? No. The owner explained that rooms stay cleaner when you don't have a refrigerator in the room, plus there are so many places to eat within walking distance that you don't need to camp out in your room for meals.
Will you find a huge HD flatscreen tv in the room? Yes. And a tub/shower. And Tempurpedic beds.
Overall, if you need a safe, clean place to stay, one block from Shattuck and BART, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Middle-aged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#2 of 20 in Berkeley
1,423 reviews
0.8 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
804 reviews
1.6 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Berkeley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Berkeley Inn

Address: 2001 Bancroft Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1419
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: £95 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Downtown Berkeley Inn is the newest lodging facility in Berkeley. Located just two blocks away from the University of California, Berkeley and a short five-minute walk from public transportation, our 27 rooms feature contemporary platform beds with TempurPedic-like foam mattresses, 42 inch High-Definition plasma TV with nearly 70 DirectTV channels, large desk and chair, in-room coffee machines and phone lines with data ports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Downtown Berkeley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Downtown Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing